We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful and well-located”
Review of Hotel Das Tyrol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Das Tyrol
Ranked #4 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We found Das Tyrol on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. It is a small hotel, but don’t be fooled by its diminutive size. The room was well-furnished, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was nicely sized and well-equipped. Breakfast is part of the room rate and is served in a stylish dining room on the first floor. Eggs are cooked to order any way you like, and there is an abundance of juices, fruit, rolls, pastries, meat, yogurt, cereal- nearly anything that anyone could want for a morning meal. Coffee, espresso and cappuccino are made to order and champagne is on ice for the taking as well. The staff manning the desk was friendly and very helpful. The hotel is well-situated. There are plenty of cafes, restaurants and coffee houses in the immediate vicinity. The Kunsthistoriches Museum is a short 10-minute walk away and the Alte Berg (the Hapsburg imperial palace is five minutes further afield.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MFBSpringCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

799 - 805 of 1,565 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in July and loved our stay here. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast we amazing and the breakfast lady was so nice. Rooms were great, very clean and comfortable. The water was so clean and surprisingly cold straight from the tap - it was the best drinking water I have ever had. Was in a good part of the city as well, close to the Museum Quarter and also to lots of great shopping. Though we didn't use the sauna (was just too hot, we were there in a heat wave) it looked amazing and I can imagine would be a great place to relax after a day of site seeing in winter. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snnysks13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Das Tyrol for two nights on our first visit to Vienna. The location is just outside the Ring, on the side where most of the tourist attractions are (Opera, Hapsburg complex, Kunsthistorisches Museum). It is 1 block to Museumquartier subway stop, which is on the Ring road, and most attractions are just across the street from there. It is also very easy to take a subway from here to visit Schoenbrunn Palace. The staff was very helpful answering our questions and everyone was able to speak very good English. Our room was not big, but the size was adequate and the furnishings were very nice. The bathroom was especially attractive, and everything appeared to be new. Breakfast was included in our room rate, and it was outstanding, with breads, meats, cheeses, and eggs cooked to order on request. We also enjoyed the fun art objects that are scattered throughout the hotel, even in the stairwells. There is a small glass-enclosed elevator, surrounded by a pretty spiral staircase with wrought iron railings. My only complaint is that the air conditioning did not keep the room cool enough, but it was over 90 degrees Fahrenheit outside, so with normal weather this would probably not be a problem.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank independent_ones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed the hotel greatly. Upon arriving the staff were courteous and helpful giving us some tips on where to go for dinner as well as local attractions.
The accommodation is fairly standard for a hotel with not much space in the rooms but the bed was very comfortable and there was nominal outside noise to disturb us.
The hotel is in the Museum district and within walking distance to most attractions, we found the best places to eat being in the night market which was only a short stroll to the end of our street.
If returning to Vienna I would not hesitate in coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

While Das Tyrol is a very nice hotel with a top notch breakfast and location, there were several surprises that left a bad taste in my mouth. The most significant was when the confirmed room I had booked was not available for my first night and I was sent to another hotel. Other surprises like smoking in the lobby and inaccurate advice about restaurants disappointed me further. Still, the hotel is very nice and just beware that Das Tyrol may overlook a confirmed reservation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazzitup10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Ramsbacher, Manager at Hotel Das Tyrol, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear jazzitup10,

thank you for taking the time to commend on our hotel and its services.
We are glad that you liked our breakfast and the excellent location.

We are awfully sorry for the problem with the confirmed twin room for your kids. Unfortunately we did not have enough twin rooms this day and therefore we offered a double room. Understandably you insisted on the confirmed twin room. So we offered you to book a room in a befriended hotel and the next day your children came back to us having breakfast.

Please accept our apology for this inconveniences and also for the inaccurate advice about restaurants. To keep a high standard we have hand out a Hotel Tyrol Restaurant Guide with my recommandations for good eating in Vienna.

Nevertheless we really hope to see you again in our Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol.

Best regards,
Helena Ramsbacher & her Tyrol-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The hotel was in a great location, the rooms small but well appointed, and the staff was extremely friendly. Staying there was a pleasure. Unfortunately the first night they could not honor our two room request, despite written confirmation. When we arrived we did not realize how many hotels were close by, so we were disappointed that they chose another hotel for my grown children, a taxi cab ride away, and in a less nice hotel. Das Tyrol paid for the taxi fare between the hotels but the set up it was still a major disappointment .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlief99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our stay in Das Tyrol was one of the most enjoyable stays in our travels around Europe. Our room was pleasant but the bathroom was exceptional. The staff were friendly, knowledgeable and welcoming. We would go back at the drop of a hat!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lunchisbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
#3 of 359 in Vienna
1,962 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#12 of 359 in Vienna
1,435 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#7 of 359 in Vienna
2,592 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage Design & Boutique Hotel
Josefstadt
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Das Tyrol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Das Tyrol

Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 15, Vienna 1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#10 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $126 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Das Tyrol 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our exclusive boutique and art hotel in the heart of Vienna!Make yourself right at home, enjoy the lavish amenities in our rooms and the excellent service of our staff. Fine design combined with contemporary modern art creates a charming blend of tradition and modernity. We renovated our hotel during the summer of 2009: guest rooms, the breakfast lounge and wellness center, with its private sauna, steam bath and light-therapy shower, now exude a brand-new radiance for your delectation!Our hotel is in Vienna, in an outstanding, central location on the longest shopping street in the entire city, the Mariahilfer Strasse! Our always-helpful and very friendly service staff, along with that famous Viennese charm, guarantee that you will be captivated by our establishment. It is our foremost goal to make you feel right at home. We look forward to seeing you here soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Das Tyrol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Das Tyrol Small Luxury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing