We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, highly recommend it!”
Review of Hotel Das Tyrol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Das Tyrol
Ranked #4 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2011

my mom and i stayed there last wk and i have nothing but good things to say about it.
here are the top reasons to stay in this hotel:
1. location: right in the museum quartier. very convenient to u bahn (3 min to museumquartier stop). right on mariahilfer st which is just lined with food and shops if you like shopping

2. staff professional, friendly, helpful. BIG attention to detail in the rooms. chocolate on pillow, beautiful bathrooms, wonderful smelling soap, free tea and coffee in room, fridge with minibar which my mom and i used to store food we had bought from outside :)
3. quiet, 30 or so rooms. separate smoking and non rooms, airconditioned!, elevator
4. excellent breakfast buffet every morning including made to order eggs. my mom and i ate like pigs. yogurt, selection of breads, cold cuts, cheeses to die for, tea and coffee, fresh fruit selection, pastries, cereal, juices....amazing.
5. free wifi which worked just fine for me (had ipad). good connection, not slow.

i highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for all the modern comforts of a hotel in a smaller boutique scale of housing. it has the great features of a bed and breakfast in a small art conscious hotel.

of note: definitely worthwhile to go downstairs to the bathroom and take a look at the womens bathroom. the decor is great! red snakeskin, sink which lights up when you use it. so interesting and fun !

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milkthistleseed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,020 - 1,026 of 1,515 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2011

Situated at the bottom of one of Vienna's main shopping streets, Mariahilfer Strasse, you could easily walk past this hotel without noticing it. There is only a small reception area and breakfast room, but the bedrooms are quite large, modern and very well appointed.

Breakfasts are good and well presented and the hotel is spotlessly clean and welcoming. Ideal for a two or three night stay to see the sights of Vienna City Centre.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilDuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

This is a perfect hotel in a great location in a beautiful city! The breakfasts are the best I've ever had in a European hotel and the decor is delightful. The rooms and baths are lovely. If I traveled to Vienna regularly, I wouldn't tell TripAdvisor about Das Tyrol because I would want to keep it all to myself! The Museumquarter location is terrific, on a great shopping street, by the museums and within an easy walk of most other Vienna attractions. Great value too!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bviwmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

As the other reviews have noted this hotel is ideal. Located in the Museum Quarter, it is within an easy walk to the historic city centre/ring and the metro station. While the rooms are small - as per usual in Europe - they were very comfortable, modern, well appointed and quiet!! Most importantly my 21 year daughter and I managed not to get into each other's way. Free wireless internet access was appreciated (and worked!) allowing us to stay in touch with home via my ipad. I arrived in the morning after a transatlantic flight so was especially delighted to find my room was ready and I could check in before 10 am. Service was great, breakfast extensive and fresh. The front desk staff were very helpful providing us with suggestions on where to dine (lots of great restaurants and bars close by). I would definitely return here should my travels bring me back to beautiful Vienna.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Toronto_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Like so many of the other reviewers, I really appreciated the decor, the friendly staff, and the location. But I also appreciated the quiet. Unlike so many chain hotels, this place is solidly built. There was minimal noise from the hall, and none from the street or adjoining rooms. I slept great and thoroughly enjoyed the excellent breakfast buffet.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank CNH_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We have booked a trip to Vienna and had to add an extra night at the start of the trip due to strike action in the UK. The hotel which we have booked for the rest of the trip was full and we booked a night at Das Tyrol. This was a mistake because we loved this hotel so much that the second hotel, although higher in the Tripadvisor rankings, could never compare to this one.
Wonderful and helpful staff, lovely rooms, interesting art, one of the best breakfasts we've had in continental Europe and the great Nespresso machine in your room.
We also liked the area which was quite vibrant with great places for drinks etc in the Museum Quarter which is yards away from the hotel. Also some great home stores in the vicinity. It definitely felt more like being part of a city than the very touristy Stephansdom area.
We enjoyed our trip to Vienna very much and stayed in two very nice hotels but for my money Das Tyrol is a hands down winner and when we return, this is where I would stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shakyjowls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We booked this hotel based upon the good reviews on tripadvsisor and were Not disappointed on any account.
Very courteous, friendly and helpful service was provided by all staff - housekeeping, breakfast and reception, all of whom spoke English at least reasonably well.
Room was tastefully furnished and very comfortable, well appointed with many amenities, naspresso machine with tea and coffee and a safe, and thoughtful details such as bath robes and slippers as well as liquid soap, mouthwash, shower cap, emory board, sewing kit etc. Note: iron was not provided in room..
Location is excellent, just across from the "happening" Museum Quartier, and very close to most of the palaces, museums and malls - we walked everywhere, and only took the underground once to go to Schonbrunn Palace Museum (see separate review). Underground access is just half a block away from the hotel, and quite simple to figure out.
Best feature for us was the Free Wi-fi in room. easy internet access was a boon!
we would definitely like to stay here, if ever in vienna again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vss2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 358 in Vienna
1,537 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#8 of 358 in Vienna
2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#13 of 358 in Vienna
1,388 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#3 of 358 in Vienna
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Das Tyrol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Das Tyrol

Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 15, Vienna 1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#6 Family Hotel in Vienna
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#10 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $126 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Das Tyrol 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our exclusive boutique and art hotel in the heart of Vienna!Make yourself right at home, enjoy the lavish amenities in our rooms and the excellent service of our staff. Fine design combined with contemporary modern art creates a charming blend of tradition and modernity. We renovated our hotel during the summer of 2009: guest rooms, the breakfast lounge and wellness center, with its private sauna, steam bath and light-therapy shower, now exude a brand-new radiance for your delectation!Our hotel is in Vienna, in an outstanding, central location on the longest shopping street in the entire city, the Mariahilfer Strasse! Our always-helpful and very friendly service staff, along with that famous Viennese charm, guarantee that you will be captivated by our establishment. It is our foremost goal to make you feel right at home. We look forward to seeing you here soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Splitty, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Das Tyrol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Das Tyrol Small Luxury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing