We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent B&B”
Review of Hotel Geblergasse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Geblergasse
Ranked #215 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed May 22, 2014

stayed just for 2 nights while visiting Vienna. The rooms are quite tiny....but for £33 a night over Christmas I didn’t expect much. Breakfast was ok...but on the last day we paid for breakfast but the breakfast lady was late to work...so ended up missing breakfast as we had to catch a train to Innsbruck. Vienna is a beautiful city...but didn’t like the people much. They looked at us as if we had just landed from space....may be because we were tanned skinned. Also went to a Viennese restaurants recommended by the B&B for dinner on Christmas eve and we were treated really badly. Even on their metro we received so much of stares...grrrrr! However in Innsbruck there were no stares or gazes on the roads which I was very happy with. Made it much more combatable spending my hard earned cash in Austria!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prashan3253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 539 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed in a double room for 2 nights.

The room was clean, bed comfortable and bathroom nice and clean. The heating was excellent. Sometimes you could hear the guests from the other rooms talking through the wall which was the only downside.

The staff is just average hotel staff. They give you the information you need, but not very enthusiastic.

The location is OK, near the metro station, though it takes some time to come to the center cause you need to change lines.

It's a good place to stay and very good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dzuvejnica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

It is always difficult to find a place for a family of four to stay. Hotel Geblergasse is a few blocks from a metro station and had plenty of room for us without having anyone sleeping on a couch. Accomodations were a bit basic, but that suits us just fine. Beds were comfortable and room was clean. Breakfast was basic and not worth the money, but is convenient.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swiss_Zirks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. Hotel is 10 minutes walking from underground, connection to the center is very good and you can even walk to the city centre. Around hotel you have many restaurants and supermarkets.
Rooms are simple, but clean and bathroom looks new.
Breakfast cost extra 5 €, but really worth it. You can choose from some cold cuts, yoghurts, breads, nutella, jams and so on...we left always satisfied.
Personal was nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alle_alle_alle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Its a nice little hotel where 10 of us stayed for 2 nights. The 5-person rooms were very spacious and quite comfortable. The breakfast for €5 is very good and there is a wide variety of things to choose from. The hotel is a 2 minute walk from a U-Bahn line and getting into the city centre is very easy. There isn't much around the area of the hotel, apart from a few small shops and fast food restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeanH94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank J-b L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This little hotel was great. We stayed here last year whilst we were doing a road trip down to croatia.

It has a bit of a back packers vibe, mostly young people and I think there were some school kids on a trip too, but it didnt affect our stay.

It is only a two min walk to the metro line where you can get anywhere in Vienna very easily. There were a few nice cafes and bars around the area too, but be warned not many speak english so try and learn some phrases. We found it hard to get directions out of anyone. Really comfy beds though and clean room,

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mojitos_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hietzing
Hotel Ekazent
Hotel Ekazent
#196 of 359 in Vienna
184 reviews
Ottakring
Hotel Hadrigan
Hotel Hadrigan
#291 of 359 in Vienna
201 reviews
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Pension Walzerstadt
Hotel Pension Walzerstadt
#224 of 359 in Vienna
103 reviews
Wieden
Novum Hotel Congress Wien am Hauptbahnhof
Ottakring
Hotel Carina
Hotel Carina
#321 of 359 in Vienna
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Geblergasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Geblergasse

Address: Geblergasse 21, Vienna 1170, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Ottakring
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $37 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Geblergasse 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Geblergasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geblergasse Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing