We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greasy Hairy Pillow”
Review of Hotel Geblergasse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Geblergasse
Ranked #217 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Greasy Hairy Pillow”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I understand that I can not expect much for a 37 Euros per night (without breakfast). But, at least bed sheets should be clean. That doesn't cost much to fix. When I came into the room first thing what I saw was dirty pillow with grease and black hair on it. That is unacceptable.
Also the woman at reception desk is weak with her English. And didn't look so much kind.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Бојан Н
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    227
    152
    39
    36
See reviews for
96
181
54
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I booked the Quadruple Room which is designed for 4 people!! Here are my comments!!

Positive

1) The price is extremely value for money!! Paid 80EU for 4 people inside the bedroom!! It beats having to stay in a dorm room if you have a group of friends!!

2) The room is surprisingly comfortable and huge!! I was a pleasant surprise!! I have paid for more than 80EU only to get a much smaller room elsewhere!!

3) The bed is comfortable and the toilet is clean!! though you might have to bring your own amenities as there are none inside the hotel!!

4) It is located within 3 minutes walk from the U-Bahn station.. Very convenient to go to the Central train station and other sights in Vienna!! though you might have to transfer the train but its still convenient!!

Negative

1) Very unfriendly receptionist, we got lost around the area and called the receptionist only to be told that we have to take the cab once we reach the station!! And its just right 200 meters from the station!!

2) The breakfast here is way below standard and it is way below the acceptable standard!!

3) Very smoky lobby, but well, it depends on whether you are a smoker or not..

Overall, I have to admit that I really like the rooms here, but not everything else!! But when the price is really cheap, I don't think we can complain much about everything else!!

Room Tip: Good choice when you are staying with large groups of friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

First of all I have to say: the price for a double room is really good. We paid 55€ and the location is fine as well. I don't agree with some saying it is a bad neighbourhood. We always felt save, the underground station "Alser Straße" is a 7min walk and it takes about 15min to the city centre (Stephansplatz) with one interchange. The most disturbing thing was the smell of cigarettes for us. Even my friend who smokes found it disgusting. In the lobby there are three tables always full of smokers. We had a room on the second floor and even in the room it was smelling. We had a room heading to the street which was really loud. Furthermore, the breakfast isn't too good. Especially the cold cuts were poor. All in all it is a clean, cheap hotel, but I wouldn't want to stay there again. I'd rather spend more money and have a more comfortable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Druni85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

So yes it is cheap but what about everything else? The neighborhood is from the scary and empty type. Many cars are parked on both sides of the street but you don't feel safe.
Alser strasse station is near yet get ready to walk.
Now let's talk about the hotel, the receptionist wasn't welcoming as one expects. The room wasn't clean and the smell of cooking and food was disturbing especially that we were on the same floor of the Resturant.
Some people might like the hotel, we are not one of them.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nader H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vienna hotels

Riverside, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

By the time we found the hotel, we were tired, wet from the rain and a bit lost. We found out they overbooked their rooms and bumped us to another hotel. They called for a cab and the new hotel paid for the fare. The newer hotel was supposed to be a nicer one, so I guess it all worked out. I would reccomend contacting them BEFORE you leave on your trip to verify you have a room waiting for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had 4 days in Vienna and we couldn't have asked for better service. The room was huge, the beds comfy, the staff very obliging, and the breakfast (for an extra €5) well worth it. Location was great as it was close to the trains, felt safe walking around the area. The only down side is no wifi in the rooms so you have to go out to the lobby which is often very smoke filled from cigarettes. But apart from that, I would greatly recommend this hotel. Nothing was too hard for the staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frizzy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Comfortable beds, large clean room, plentiful supply of hot water, excellent breakfast for the money (5€) , good coffee for breakfast and in the lobby bar.
I have stayed in Vienna 9 times in the last 4 years, a 4 star hotel in the museum quarter will cost you 700 euros for a double room for 4 nights - the Geblergasse cost us 221 € plus breakfast for 4 nights. You will not find better value and it makes a visit to Vienna possible for those on a budget.
5 minutes from the Alser Strasse train station and 15 minutes by train or tram from the city center. Buy a 3 day pass for train and tram for 15 euros.
TV has CNN in English.
On the downside smoking is allowed in the lobby/bar - but this is the same for most Austrian bars - the law needs to change. There is not a great choice for dinner in the surrounding area so it is best to spend the whole day in the city and just come back to the district after dinner. There are a couple of nice bars/pubs near the station.
We will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueKitson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Novum Hotel Kaffeemuehle
Novum Hotel Kaffeemuehle
#285 of 361 in Vienna
257 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Ottakring
Hotel Hadrigan
Hotel Hadrigan
#292 of 361 in Vienna
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Wieden
Novum Hotel Congress Wien am Hauptbahnhof
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#161 of 361 in Vienna
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Geblergasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Geblergasse

Property: Hotel Geblergasse
Address: Geblergasse 21, Vienna 1170, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Ottakring
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Geblergasse 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Geblergasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geblergasse Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing