We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely bed and breakast in great location in beautiful city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stadtnest Bed & Breakfast and Apartment
Ranked #5 of 116 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Just come back from 3 nights at Stadnest bed and breakfast. I had chosen it from the reviews and they did not let me down. The location is really good, quiet room yet only 5 minutes walk from the underground which can take you into the centre in just over 5 minutes. We bought a 72 hour travel pass which was so useful. The room was lovely and clean and the breakfast very filling and yes the home made brown rolls and home made jam a real delight. Barbara was so helpful and even booked us a local restaurant to try out.
The bed and breakfast was all trimmed up for Christmas and having use of the kitchen to make drinks was a real bonus. So much better than a large chain hotel, thank you Barbara

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 243 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

I travel to Vienna every couple of years or so - mostly for work, but working in Vienna is always such a nice experience it doesn't "feel" like work. I first came to stay at the Stadtnest 3 visits ago - on that occasion my wife was traveling with me - because I was tired of the big impersonal hotels one finds throughout big cities, and have since been back on my 2 subsequent visits.

The first time back I stayed in one of the apartments on Garbergasse, and the next time back in the B&B at Stumpergasse. Each visit gets better. Becoming more familiar with the area - including restaurants, shops, and transit possibilities helps - but the actual accommodations have gone from very good to great.

The location is a great mix of convenience and hidden-away. Even though it's a short walk to most everything a visitor needs, the street is quiet and has a "locals only" feel. Upon your arrival, don't be put off with the remoteness - you will soon grow to appreciate it and realize that it's not as far as you thought it was.

The building is one of those fantastic old buildings, solid and stately, but the accommodations are welcoming and comfortable, with lots of light and fresh air through the ample and large windows. I like to think of myself as a hearty traveler, but the addition of the elevator was welcome, mostly for when bringing luggage in or out.

Barbara offers many delicious options for breakfast - certainly enough to satisfy most tastes - and will try to accommodate any schedule that you may have. Need to leave before the sun rises to catch your plane home? Barbara will leave provisions in the fridge for you!

Perhaps more important is the personal knowledge of the city that Barbara will share with you: Shopping, tourist activities, culture, local politics (always fascinating to a visitor)...she's on top of it all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amouage, Owner at Stadtnest Bed & Breakfast and Apartment, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Peter,
Thanks so much for writing your review! I am always happy to hear from you. When will you be back in Vienna? Hope to see you again soon.
Best regards, Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Read the reviews and we decided to it. As advertised, this apartment (14) is a great space conveniently located to the main shopping street. We like to walk so access to the Museum Quartier , Opera House, Stepenslatz, etc was not a problem.
Barbara was very friendly and helpful. There are some good restaurants in the area and Barbara had a good list of places to try.
5 minutes from Westbahnhof train station, so very convenient.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garry5988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

If you want to go to Vienna and feel as comfortable as you feel in your own home, please choose Stadtnest B&B. Barbara, the owner, made everything possible for us to have the most enjoyable time in Vienna. From daily breakfast with homemade organic jams and freshly baked bread with plenty of choices to providing the up to date information on where to go, how to get there and what to see in the "not so touristy" places, Barbara was an absolute delight and pleasure to deal with. When we were saying our goodbyes it felt that we are leaving a friend. Thank you Barbara!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yelena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The apartment is large and was very clean. The apartment is old and on a quiet street. The location was acceptable but not great for someone used to being in the heart of the city. It would be a good choice for a family and/or a long stay. The hostess was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

OMG What a find. Simply the best. Can not fault anything The reviews are all correct We had a fantastic time Barbara is simply a delight she is such a lovely person reminds me so much of my Austrian family. Barbara was so so helpful full of ideas of what to do and see, Nothing is too much trouble for her Even after leaving she found out many things for me and emailed me when I had got home to the uk The b & b is simply delightful and Barbara does a fantastic breakfast all home made rolls all things are organic and so so fresh . The B &B is within walking distance to the underground (UBarn (10 mins at a slow pace) and 10 mins to a main line station
Fantastic b & b deserves to be no 1 in trip advisor just loved it What more can I say Except I will be going back very soon

Room Tip: Choose the Burma room lovely vi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catwoman34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The Stadtnest fully lived up to the previous good reviews. Ideal location for our arrival at westbahnhof being a 10 minute walk away. Close to the u-bahn or a 20 minute stroll down a main shopping st will bring you to the edge of the city centre. Barbara is the ideal host either giving you as much advice as you need or leaving you to enjoy your breakfast. Plenty of books on Vienna available that we could borrow when exploring the city and many personal tips e.g. when Barbara heard we were going to schoenbrunn palace she phoned ahead to book tour tickets avoiding the long queues when we arrived. A small and homely B&B with your own personal tour guide, highly recommended. Caroline&Neil.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline-Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Neubau
Hotel am Brillantengrund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
K&T Boardinghouse
K&T Boardinghouse
#2 of 116 in Vienna
251 reviews
Hotel Fabrik
#11 of 116 in Vienna
187 reviews
Inner City
BENEDIKTUSHAUS IM SCHOTTENSTIFT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stadtnest Bed & Breakfast and Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stadtnest Bed & Breakfast and Apartment

Address: Garbergasse 16, Vienna 1060, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range: $101 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B and self-catering Apartments in central location, off Vienna's biggest shopping street. Nice residential neighbourhood close to all sights. Non-smoking. Full B&B service at B&B location (organic food). Self-catering at Apartments. Free Internet access (Wifi and ether net). B&B access with elevator to third floor. Apartments on ground floor and first floor. Your hosts look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Stadtnest Bed & Breakfast and Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stadtnest Bed And Breakfast And Apartment
Stadtnest Bed & Breakfast And Apartment Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing