We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice large appartment” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stadtnest Bed & Breakfast and Apartment

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stadtnest Bed & Breakfast and Apartment
Ranked #3 of 114 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice large appartment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

The apartment is large and was very clean. The apartment is old and on a quiet street. The location was acceptable but not great for someone used to being in the heart of the city. It would be a good choice for a family and/or a long stay. The hostess was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
133
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

OMG What a find. Simply the best. Can not fault anything The reviews are all correct We had a fantastic time Barbara is simply a delight she is such a lovely person reminds me so much of my Austrian family. Barbara was so so helpful full of ideas of what to do and see, Nothing is too much trouble for her Even after leaving she found out many things for me and emailed me when I had got home to the uk The b & b is simply delightful and Barbara does a fantastic breakfast all home made rolls all things are organic and so so fresh . The B &B is within walking distance to the underground (UBarn (10 mins at a slow pace) and 10 mins to a main line station
Fantastic b & b deserves to be no 1 in trip advisor just loved it What more can I say Except I will be going back very soon

Room Tip: Choose the Burma room lovely vi
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catwoman34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

The Stadtnest fully lived up to the previous good reviews. Ideal location for our arrival at westbahnhof being a 10 minute walk away. Close to the u-bahn or a 20 minute stroll down a main shopping st will bring you to the edge of the city centre. Barbara is the ideal host either giving you as much advice as you need or leaving you to enjoy your breakfast. Plenty of books on Vienna available that we could borrow when exploring the city and many personal tips e.g. when Barbara heard we were going to schoenbrunn palace she phoned ahead to book tour tickets avoiding the long queues when we arrived. A small and homely B&B with your own personal tour guide, highly recommended. Caroline&Neil.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline-Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

All the positive comments written previously are absolutely right on target. This is a lovely B & B with a great location, a charming host, and wonderful breakfast goodies. Just minutes from the metro, all of the sights are easily accessible. Barbara's advice for visiting, eating out, and getting around is terrific. We stayed in the brand new apartment and it was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank surfgirl1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amouage, Manager at Stadtnest Bed & Breakfast and Apartment, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Aloha to Hawai!
Thank you for all your positive comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay as much as I did having you here as my guests. Also, I am very happy to hear that you found our brand new apartment comfortable. You were only the second guests who stayed there after starting to rent this new apartment in July, so of course I am very happy to see it taking a great start.
All the best from Vienna,
Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

My daughter and I visited Stadtnest and Vienna in June, but the review I thought I'd written on our return somehow went missing. So, it's been a while, but in fairness to Barbara I thought I should take the time to write another.

Stadtnest is really well located near the train station, which was most convenient and saved us taxi fares! The apartment itself is down a quiet street and our room overlooked a courtyard. The room was spacious, with a comfy bed, but the bathroom, as is often the case in Europe, was quite small. It wasn't a problem, I am simply mentioning this in case you like lots of space.

Everything was spotlessly clean, and Barbara is a gracious and accommodating host. She will assist wherever and however she can in making your stay easier and more pleasurable and has lots of advice to offer. You can borrow travel guides from her and she'll help book tickets to concerts etc. She has travelled widely, has excellent English and enjoys meaningful conversation.

Breakfasts are tailored to your requirements - fresh, organic ingredients - and there's a kitchen if you want to make a cup of tea - or even cook your own meal. I can't think of many holidaymakers who would do this, but if you want a night in, are craving home cooking, or on a budget - then it's a definite plus.

There's a lift/elevator up to the apartment - so no stairs to worry about, and of course there's wifi, TV and a guest computer available.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Barbara and definitely hope to return in the near future. She now offers two apartments in addition to the B&B rooms, so if that's of interest then ask about them.

So, if you are en route to VIenna and can get a room with Barbara, you're off to a winning start!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leighbelle-Jozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed at Stadnest apartment #1 for 6 days in July, 2013 and enjoyed it immensely. There were a couple of bumps at the beginning, which host Barbara Lenz smoothed over with aplomb (I even got to share breakfast with her, so I can attest to the B&B comments - she makes delicious rolls!). The location is great (several U-bahn stops and 3 lines within a few blocks, right next to the Haydn house), and the first floor apartment cool, which was important during this hot summer. The apartment is adorable with all the conveniences, including a large file of information on Vienna large and small and laundry facilities on site. In short, I highly recommend Stadnest!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drabauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenora, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Stadtnest B&B for 9 days recently and it lived up to its TA advance billing. As we arrived into the Westbahnhoft train station from a few days in Salzburg, I sent Barbara a message saying we'd catch a cab and be at the B&B in about 15 - 20 minutes time. She sent me a note back and said if we were at Westbahnhoft, it would be more like 5 or 6 minutes!

She was right - we could have easily walked it!

The place is so conveniently located. As many others have noted, it is an easy and enjoyable walk to everywhere in the city! And yet, being a block removed from the main street in the city, it is remarkably quiet. Couldn't believe we could hear birds chirping in the morning!

Breakfast is superb and Barbara is a wealth of information. She booked tickets for Mozart's Requiem at the St. Charles and printed them off for us, plus knew every bus, tram and U-connection for getting around Vienna. So the B&B comes with its own Travel Information. And Barbara speaks perfect English - a bonus if you don't speak German.

The bedroom and bathroom is large - and you have full use of your own kitchen.

Not sure what more you could ask for or want.

Cheers.

Gord

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gordongeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
K&T Boardinghouse
K&T Boardinghouse
#2 of 114 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Kaisermühlen
The Rooms Bed and Breakfast
Inner City
Opera Suites
Opera Suites
#4 of 114 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stadtnest Bed & Breakfast and Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stadtnest Bed & Breakfast and Apartment

Property: Stadtnest Bed & Breakfast and Apartment
Address: Garbergasse 16, Vienna 1060, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B and self-catering Apartments in central location, off Vienna's biggest shopping street. Nice residential neighbourhood close to all sights. Non-smoking. Full B&B service at B&B location (organic food). Self-catering at Apartments. Free Internet access (Wifi and ether net). B&B access with elevator to third floor. Apartments on ground floor and first floor. Your hosts look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Stadtnest Bed & Breakfast and Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stadtnest Bed & Breakfast And Apartment Hotel Vienna
Stadtnest Bed And Breakfast And Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing