We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine but consider the location/type of stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Austria Trend Hotel Messe Wien
Ranked #84 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for three nights on a recent work trip and was travelling with two other female colleagues.

The hotel and rooms were fine, pretty much what you'd expect for price and the rooms looked recently updated with new bathrooms. All making for good start to stay.

However, whilst not the hotels fault it did seem to be very popular with large tour groups arriving by bus, this meant reception was very manic and the restaurant out of bounds to anyone not in a group. We arrived at around 8pm on the first night so really wanted dinner but due to restaurant and the location it was hard to find anywhere good to go that was close by, we ended up at the small hotel bar having snacks (which although quite nice was not ideal).

Another point, again not directly relating to hotel is the street just outside the hotel which is a legalised area for sex workers. Whilst I am not a prude you don't really want to walk along a road filled with girls in thongs dancing to attract a client (and hot foot it to the local car park). In a group you can laugh this off but if I had been on my own or with family members I may have felt more uncomfortable, and in summer with open windows I wonder what noise level would be?

Overall a good stay and fine hotel but some considerations for booking, think I'd prefer to be in another of chains hotels in a better location, with choice.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miniffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 239 of 726 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed here for 8 nights at the beginning of August and had a really pleasant stay. The room was nice with comfy beds and everything we needed (plus a minibar). The subway system in Vienna is brilliant and the nearest station was approx 3 minute walk away which was very convenient! (I recommend purchasing a weekly ticket, i think it was around EUR15 and you can use it as often as you like). Once at the station the trains come every 2 or 3 minutes and its no more than 10 minutes in to the city centre.

As mentioned in other reviews the breakfast is very good however my partner forgot to check whether it was included and it was EUR15 per person, so this soon added up for 2 people for 8 nights (as he realised when we paid the bill)...

We saw 'the ladies' on the streets a couple of times but please don't let this put you off booking as they were not threatening at all and as others suggest rather entertaining.

Vienna is a beautiful city and this hotel is a great location so I would definitely recommend booking!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

location is abit off town centre but its just a few train station stop away.

from airport, take a train to praterson, then change to U2 Messer-Prater. its just less than 5 mins from the train exit.

the room are simple and clean. no hot flash to boil water. the rest are good though the staff are not so friendly but the price is good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller0070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The property itself is really very good for an inexpensive, comfortable stay. The beds were nice, the AC worked well, and the windows opened wide for nice flow of air. The buffet breakfast was very good with a mix of hot and cold selections, and the coffee was excellent. Free wifi in the lobby was a nice perk as well. It is a very short walk to the Prater entrance but you have to watch out for the lines of cars coming through to view the "scenery." We left for dinner at 21:15 and there was no hint of what we would find when we returned. At 23:45 the street was lined with females. As this was our first time ever at this hotel I can't say that it is a normal occurance, but there were plenty of traffic to make it seem as if it were. I say again, the hotel and property are extremely good and you can enter and leave through the side door of the lobby to avoid "the show." Or enter and exit during daylight hours and you may never even know.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side away from the Prater were quiet. Had the window open all night on the 5th flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MM52458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for five nights in mid-August with a group of 44 people from Malta. I chose this hotel because of the good price and all the good reviews I read about it. But when I came to this hotel, I found it is still much better than I thought. It's an excellent hotel. It's very close to the prater and so every evening the group enjoyed it very much! Very nice rooms with an excellent air conditioning system - it was great with temperatures more than 30 Celsius! Even the reception and the restaurant were very well air conditioned. The buffet breakfast was very rich. We decided to book our dinner in the hotel and all the group was more than satisfied. Staff in the restaurant and at the reception were very nice and helpful. On our last day, we had to leave early and they accepted to open the buffet breakfast half an hour earlier. Well, it's really a great hotel in which I will sure return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here as part of a package holiday so played no part in the choice and were pleasantly surprised. The desk staff were most helpful. The rooms are simple but good. The beds were the most comfortable we encountered in Austria. The buffet breakfast was very good, and the location next to the U-bahn station and Prater was a bonus. An excellent children's playground is across the road. Would be nice if the complimentary wifi was available in room rather than just in the foyer.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Can't fault this hotel. Clean, friendly, next to Prater and U2 subway line to central Vienna. Breakfast was €15 per person but is good value due to large choice of buffet. Parking is €15 per day underground and the street walkers are entertaining to look at but not obtrusive .
Would definitely stay again.

1  Thank Montysadog
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Courtyard Vienna Prater/Messe
Leopoldstadt
magdas HOTEL
magdas HOTEL
#75 of 359 in Vienna
300 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Ibis Wien Messe
Hotel Ibis Wien Messe
#141 of 359 in Vienna
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Novotel Suites Wien City Donau
Leopoldstadt
Austria Trend Hotel Lassalle Wien
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#158 of 359 in Vienna
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Trend Hotel Messe Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Trend Hotel Messe Wien

Address: Messestrasse 2, Vienna 1020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
#73 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#127 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $71 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Austria Trend Hotel Messe Wien 3*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Austria Trend Hotel Messe enjoys a perfect location right between the Messe Wien exhibition centre and the Vienna Prater with its lush parks and green areas and the world-famous giant Ferris wheel. With its curved aluminium facade our hotel is an architectural highlight that combines business, entertainment and enjoying the nature in the "green Prater".The nearby congress centre of the Vienna exhibition centre provides a range of opportunities for meetings or events of any kind.The so-called Wurstelprater awaits you with its roller coasters and the "green Prater" invites you to go jogging or horse riding or simply "stretching out in the sun".Our hotel is located directly on the no.2 underground line (U2) and brings you straight to the Vienna city centre and the nearby football stadium and shopping mall. The Wien-Nord railway station is also just one stop down the line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Austria Trend Hotel Messe Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Trend Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing