We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”
Review of An der Wien

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
An der Wien
Ranked #187 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The best breakfast we had in all of our 2 week stay in Europe. Variety of food. Compact but comfortable rooms. Friendly staff. Free parking. The staff provided guidance for food and other shopping. We highly recommend this place for families.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chitra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    99
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
42
110
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surat Thani, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

First of all, don't let yourself get confused about their location!!!
It's a small city hotel with a family touch! 5 min walk to the U4 subway station, where you are well connected to Vienna downtown! (train ride takes less then 20 min to Stephans Platz)
The room was very clean, their breakfast buffet was awesome. Original austrian style, deliciouse coffee/ tee with fresh bred roll, cold cut and cheese, and some sweets...
If you don't mind, taking the subway, travelling downtown, this place will help you to cut down your accommodation bill a lot! They do offer also free car parking. At night very quiet and also safe.
I will stay in this hotel, next time I visit Vienna!
If you are not familiar with the subway in Vienna, just ask the staff, they will explain it to you...
If you don't speak any english or german, neither can't read a travel guidebook, than this hotel does not suit you for sure
fullstop.

Room Tip: There is an original little snack-shack next to the hotel, (in german 'Wuerstel-Stand'), whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel is located a few kilometers from the city centre, but dont worry there is an underground train station about 5 minute walk from the hotel. There is limited parking onsite for the number of rooms, but hotel staff were very helpful with finding parking offsite which was paid by the hotel. The staff were very friendly and even gave us an umbrella to continue site seeing in the rain! Make sure to have the breakfast, its very nice.

Room Tip: Make sure to choose a non smoking room and not on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikehiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I secured this hotel through a colleague's online search for my stay in Vienna, and was pleased with my stay here in June 2013. This hotel is NOT near the city center, but it IS only a 5 minute walk to the U4 line, which connects to all major public transportation in and out of the city - with a direct train connection to Salzburg. The room was adequate for my needs, and has A/C. The breakfast was, I think, traditional European, and they have fresh bread delivered from a local bakery, which was delicious. In addition, the hotel staff was extremely helpful with answering my questions, and assisting me with my travel plans.

I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for terrific accommodations, and an affordable price. I will stay here again myself.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front of the hotel are directly across from the train tracks, but with the windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrnEyesCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

When I was choosing a place to explore Vienna it seems to be a good location on the base of the description. Unfortunatelly for the scale of the town it is just ouside of the city. The main advantage is that the hotel is just 3 minutes away from the 1st stop of U4 line which will bring both to the center (some 20 min away) and Schonbrunn (5 stops away). The room is OK - renovated, clean sheets and bathroom but nothing special. The windows are so good that you could hear the train which is passing next to the hotel. The breakfast is OK - various meals. There are 2 parkings - one in the hotel, and if it's full - you should leave you car on the public parking next to the railway station and the ticket is refunded.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank delidim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in April 2013 and it was a great choice. Even if it is far from the city center, it is just near the metro station; so no need to worry about distance. The breakfast was excellent!! and the rooms were great. There is also a free parking space, in the hotel yard. I totally recommend this hotel. Next time I will be in Wien, it will be my first choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OanaJurca16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My family andd I stayed here for 2 nights and we had a nice stay. We were 3 of us, and with an extra bed, the room proved to be a bit small. However, the facilities in the room were excellent. The windows were typically Austrian, stretching to the ceiling and with very nice curtains, which gave a majestic look. The staff at the reception counter was very friendly and helpful. However, the same cannot be said about the staff serving breakfast. What is not comprehensible is why coffee and juice need to be ordered and cannot be kept for self service. Moreover, some breakfast items finish early and are replaced with something else.
The quality of amenities in the room was excellent. However, tea/coffee making facilities are not available in the room, and you need to wait until 7 am to go to the breakfast area for it.
The hotel is very close to the train station and it is very convenient to get into central Vienna. The hotel is close to a few restaurants, but obviously, being far away from the city, the choice is limited.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunil021966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Pension Pharmador
Pension Pharmador
#32 of 360 in Vienna
344 reviews
Wahring
Hotel Park Villa
Hotel Park Villa
#200 of 360 in Vienna
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Donaustadt Kagran
#198 of 360 in Vienna
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An der Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An der Wien

Property: An der Wien
Address: Keisslergasse 24, Vienna 1140, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#109 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#117 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — An der Wien 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your An der Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An Der Wien Vienna
An Der Wien Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing