We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent budget hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kolbeck

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Kolbeck
Ranked #206 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent budget hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2010

I stayed at Hotel Kolbeck for a week in autumn, and loved it. The communal areas are clean and well maintained. The owners have done a good job at repainting the rooms (since our last visit a few years ago) and renovating some parts of the hotel. I travelled with my 1 year old son and husband, and can say that the rooms were very quiet, albeit being on a central shopping square. The district was a bit dodgy, but that is to expect with the price.

The staff was excellent- very helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet was generous, fresh, and lenient with timekeeping. I didnt particularly dig the interiors of the breakfast room, but the reception area more than made up for it.

Would definitely recommend it for couples and people travelling with no children or children who can walk by themselves. One downside was that there was no elevator, but luckily our room was on the basement floor.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsSims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    91
    41
    9
    10
See reviews for
44
82
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rion Patras
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

I must say that I expected much more according to the official site and the room cost, but you must be prepaired for this in Vienna. Everything is so expensive!
Anyway, the walls in the room had to be painted, they where a bit dirty and the room was small but you can avoid that by paying more money.
Breakfast was a big success. Everything was fresh cooked and was in a buffet - style.
The only annoying thing is the staff (not all of them) when they are cleaning up the tables! Noisy, noisy, noisy!
Overall I spent 8 days there with nothing else to complain about.
EXPENSIVE according to what they offer.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

Barely passable -- the bed and bathroom were clean -- room was small but I expect that in Europe. It was pretty tacky. Plastic sliding doors on a "closet", cheap crapy furniture. No elevator! Hallway and stairs needed a good scrubbing. The man at the front desk was very nice and helpful. The breakfast was typical and pretty good. The location was close to the U1 -- took about 10 minutes to get to the center of the city. It backs a shopping street with a decent restaurant next door and a wonderful bakery close by, grocery stores, department stores, etc. etc. The area is a bit borderline. Not the best area but I never felt unsafe either. If we went again I would shop around for a different hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2010

This Hotel has carictor as soon as you walk through the door, welcomed by the very nice receptionist, who happened to be on duty at this time.
This lady was extremly helpful when we needed it.
Handed our key so we could get setteled in and changed to find a meal some where.
Well, this room happened to be like a rabbit hutch made by someone who had it in for you, we will find the cheapest material and cuck it in and close the door quickly and see where it lands.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank journalWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2010

The room was big, but drafty, because it had windows on 2 walls. The courtains were dirty and torn. The bathroom was nice though, big and clean.
The hotel had 2 types of rooms some cheaper and some a little more expensive. We stayed in a cheap one. And in order to get into the room, we had to pass through a back garden of some restaurant. Pretty wierd.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avera206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noordwijk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2009

Spent a few days in this hotel. When you arrive and walk along the streetside you see dirty windows and curtains and will think: "What did I choose?" But when you come in you'll see a nice lobby and meet nice people. I had a single room at the front. A lot of noice because of the traffic, a minor point. But public transportation is near, the citycenter not to far, the breakfast excellent and the price fair. Great restaurant left of the entrance!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hotelgast2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karmkarm
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2009

The location of the hotel is very good, across the street there is a tram station and it is 3 min. walking form the U1. the neighborhood give you a distinction feeling especially if you came from a place that contains many high buildings. The staff are very friendly, Mrs Sloba helped us with the food . Zuzi and Peter at the reception helped us with their helpful advises

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karmkarmkama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Novum Hotel Congress Wien am Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AZIMUT Vienna Delta Hotel
#173 of 367 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Wieden
Austria Trend Hotel Beim Theresianum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kolbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kolbeck

Property: Hotel Kolbeck
Address: Laxenburger Strasse 19, Vienna 1100, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
#113 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kolbeck 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Kolbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kolbeck Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing