We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kolbeck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Kolbeck
Ranked #209 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

The building is really old but the rooms inside are clean and refurbished! It's right next to the tram station and there is also a metro station nearby which is really convenient. It is also close to the columbus shopping center!
We stayed there for 2 nights and paid 60€ per night which is pretty cheap for Vienna! Free wifi but breakfast is charged 5€ extra. The gentleman at the reception was very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kostas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    91
    42
    9
    11
See reviews for
44
83
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed here with some friends, and had an overall good experience considering the price we paid. The beds were comfy, the bathrooms were clean, and the room was very big. The staff were friendly, and they helped direct me to a pharmacy when I came down with a cold. The breakfast was decent, although I would recommend exploring some of the cafes in Vienna if you have the time. Have the metro right down the street is definitely a plus. The only drawback was that the hallways smelled strongly of smoke (though not our room thankfully), which made the cold I had come down with worse.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJ147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
186 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a basic hotel. Room furniture needs an update (chairs are almost broken), and you only get a rather small duvet. The room and bathroom are kept very clean, and the bathroom was rather new. The room lacked a good curtain, so there was plenty of light in the early morning, not easy to sleep with. During my stay people were smoking in the corridor, leaving a cigarette smell in the coridor and sometimes in my room. Breakfast is large and good.
One of the very good points is its location on a small nice square, at <5 minutes from a subway station with direct conenctions to the city center and the vienna convention center.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geographtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

A fine place for not exacting people near center. We had an aparment with every convenience. Close near railway station, tram station and undeground but it is quite silent place. Good local, courteous staff. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9krolikov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

The hotel is a simple place to stay for 1-3 days. We choosed it because it is located close to the Sudtiroler Platz where we had our bus station.
The hotel is clean but you can see that it has not been renovated for many years. The room is big enough and has all necessary eqipment. The breakfast is cheap (5eur) but sufficient. I can recommend the hotel for anyone looking for cheap and comfortable accommodation in Wien.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parania88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

It was quite a challenge to find an affordable hotel in Vienna in July - in fact, we had only three options. And during our stay we never had a reason to doubt our choice.

1) The hotel is perfectly located - there is a tram stop just in front of it, and it takes you 15 minutes to get to the city centre or 25 minutes to get to Prater. The subway station is also very close (but we couldn't appreciate it because the line was in repair at that time). A supermarket is nearby, too. And one of the streets, at which corner the hotel is situated, is actually one of the shopping streets.

2) The staff is very friendly and helpful. All our questions about the city were answered eagerly and fully. The head manager also speaks Russian.

3) We were assigned a room not in the main building, but in the other one, and the passage there is the only weak point of this hotel, to my mind, - you have to cross a yard and then climb the stairs to the second floor (no elevator, though they are planning to install one). They share this yard with a cafe, so it is not flawlessly clean or devoid of smoking workers and waiters, but this is not a problem, really, if you are not high-sensitive to such matters. The bonus of this building, on the other hand, is an entrance to the pedestrian-only street, and it saves your time not to go through the hotel reception twice a day. (You receive a key-card, so no keys.)

The room itself was very simple, but nice, quite spacious, with big windows and a standard bathroom (shower). It was also quiet - we were facing that very pedestrian-only street. They cleaned and changed towels meticulously, so it was always a pleasure to return there.

4) The breakfast was standard - not luxurious, but rich enough to satisfy different tastes and to provide a good start for the day.

All in all, a recommendable place for a short stay (up to 5-6 days).

Room Tip: Mind the "elevator-lessness" of the second building - it might be a challenge for a delica...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lasselanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

I arrived in vienna airport at 22:30 and it was a adventure for me too on how to get to the hotel?
it was my first time in vienna. it was someone who advised me to take CAT, it is a fast terrain from Airport to center of viennen, the hotel staff are friendly and helpful. location (100 m from U1 underground station). On the first day I met lovely ladies from Germany and we made the first city trip ​​in vienna.The room is not small.
Few bad things: there is no elevator and no airconditioner.
Good for two or three days..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mehrdad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Azimut Hotel Vienna
#178 of 362 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Wieden
Novum Hotel Congress Wien am Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Austria Trend Hotel Beim Theresianum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kolbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kolbeck

Property: Hotel Kolbeck
Address: Laxenburger Strasse 19, Vienna 1100, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
#113 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kolbeck 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Kolbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kolbeck Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing