We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$160
Hotels.com$159
Priceline$106
Travelocity$159
eDreams$106
CheapTickets$159
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveler rating
61
33
5
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
61
33
5
1
3
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 103 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We chose this hotel because it is a short walk from my sister's apartment. Our room was very clean and fairly large. The bedding was very comfortable and the location quiet. Even though it was unusually hot (90s) for a couple of days the temperature in the room was comfortable even without air conditioning. The ladies who run the hotel are very friendly and helpful. There is a good selection at breakfast.

Room tip: If you want to be in the center of the city this may not be the place for you but Viennese public transit is excellent and the center can be reached after a 5 minute walk and 12 minute subway ride.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adria37
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

The Hotel is located outside of vienna, but you can reach the Center by tram in 15 minutes. The neighbourhood is also nice and you can find some shops and restaurants. The owner is very friendly and helpful. The room was very big, clean and had everything you need including a Big tv. The hotel itself is small and you dont have many facilities but its very charming. Another Big plus was the included breakfast. Everything was fresh and mostly local products. Fresh fruits, fresh orange juice, different fresh made egg variations!! Also the price was good for vienna. So if You Look for a nice Hotel with austrian hospitality this is the Place 2 be.

Date of stay: April 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Lukas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We were there with friends the first weekend in October and got adjoining rooms on the 1st floor. Anna, the owner was very gracious, helpful and patient. The hotel was undergoing extended remodeling and the outside of the building was surrounded in scaffolding which made it a challenge to find. The windows had plastic over them to keep dust out but it was a problem if you wanted some fresh air. The windows were fairly large and would have made the room nice and airy. The rooms were fairly spacious and the bathrooms looked like they had been recently remodeled. The beds were comfortable and there was an extra single bed in our room. Due to the remodel there was a lot of furniture and furnishings stored in various places but it was done so it didn't look cluttered. The elevator was adequate and conveniently located but the stairs were not a chore to climb.

The breakfast was definitely a highlight. There was quite a nice selection of foods and even an orange squeezer with fresh oranges, but the décor was a somewhat 'eclectic' collection of posters, dolls, decorations, pictures and collectibles that was truly unique! Whether that 'motif' was intentional or a result of the remodel is unclear but it was always a conversation point with guests!

The hotel is located about 4 blocks from the Ottakringer train station and there are some very nice "locals" restaurants within a few blocks. It's a nice quiet neighborhood and outside noise was never a problem. It was also safe for walking even into the late evening. Parking is on the street but be aware of towing zones.

I gotta give a shout out to Anna for her patience and hospitality. We brought a lot of 'beverages' from a house we had rented and Anna gave us permission to get ice out of their refrigerator whenever we wanted. They really know how to take care of their guests!

Room tip: Some rooms had not been remodeled and, as we heard from other guests, they were a bit 'rough'. Make sure to request a remodeled room.
Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Randlyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I travel to Vienna once a year for my job and I always stay in this hotel. Rooms are large and clean, breakfast is deliciously fresh and complete but above all the two Ladies that run this hotel are very nice and ready to help with anything you need. They make you feel at home and I think it is something you can really appreciate if you travel a lot around and you usually stay in big and anonymous hotels.

Date of stay: October 2013
Trip type: Traveled solo
3  Thank Elena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had come to Vienna for a medical emergency as our mother travelling on a group tour got hospitalized in Vienna and we had to fly in to look after her. Not the trip you plan for. We did stay at the Hotel Schwalbe given its location being close to the hospital. You don't really expect anything when you arrive under these circumstances as the foremost task is to get to the hospital and look after things. However, we ended up staying 12 nights and in hindsight it was one of the best stays we ever had. It certainly did outperform all the "planned and arranged" hotel stays. Given our situation we were desperate at times and needed a bit of extra help. Anna and her team could have not done a better job. So yes, absolute fantastic service from everybody at the Hotel and the rooms are great value for the money. Big, spacey rooms with large windows, very clean and free WiFi. The breakfast is very enjoyable and you get a great meal to start your day. We also loved the building, very well maintained and you can sense its history. If you travel to Vienna for a vacation the hotel offers a great location, away from all the touristy part, but still very, very close to all the action as you have got the tram as well as subway very close by. Public transport in Vienna is a great way to travel so the hotel sits at the right spot, you can hop on a tram, get on the subway or a bus. In summary, if we ever go back for a vacation, then there would be no other place we'd be staying. Thanks to Anna and all the ladies at Hotel Schwalbe to make our stay such a memorable one.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Duerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews