We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Drab but serviceable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel-Pension Bleckmann

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel-Pension Bleckmann
Ranked #41 of 114 Vienna B&B and Inns
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
178 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Drab but serviceable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2009

The Bleckmann is one of those European hotels with a lobby on the ground floor and several sets of rooms, probably converted apartments, on two upper floors of a multiple-use period building. Lobby is fine but entry and common stairway are shabby at best. My room on the street side was clean and quiet, as advertised, but charmless. Breakfast was not a high point in my day. You need to go elsewhere for real Viennese coffee and atmosphere. Staff were courteous and helpful, but reception is closed from 9pm until 7 am. Not bad for the money, but certainly not a destination.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wws68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    67
    32
    9
    15
See reviews for
32
52
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2009

Definitely not worth the money, we paid almost 2,000 Euro for just a couple months of stay, and all we got in return was a bad experience.

After my husband got an appointment in Vienna, we moved to the hotel/pension Bleckmann for a couple of months. First off, just as soon as we arrived we started noticing all those minor but annoying things - electrical wiring not finished and sticking out, hence electrical outlet boxes missing, half-broken lamps, etc. Furniture pieces are old and falling apart as soon as you touch them. The kitchen was tiny, of all the electrical appliances there was just a coffee-maker which leaked and left stains on the painted furniture. The room designed for three was very small even for one person to live in. The walls are paper thin and you can hear your neighbor talking on the phone, or another neighbor practicing violin two floors away. And of course, the smell from the bathroom was quite annoying, too.

And the most unpleasant surprise came when we were checking out on our last day, the hotel co-owner Mr. Muellner the senior refused to return our reservation deposit, so we lost 300 Euro and when we asked for an explanation or at least policies they were guided by, he first gave us contradictory info and then would just start yelling at us telling us to "Get lost! Go back to where you come from!", etc. Quite a surprising attitude for a person making his living on foreigners...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TinaVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vienna hotels

Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2007

Nothing fancy, but very comfortable and relatively inexpensive for Vienna. Breakfast was included with the room. Good location for easy public transportation access to the city center (or about a 25 minute walk).

The staff (family run hotel) was most helpful with directions and suggestions for restaurants. They spoke perfect English.

We had a quad room (brought two children). The room was moderately sized, but not so small that we were running into eachother. Offers WiFi Internet at an additional charge (by the hour) at a relatively expensive price.

The front desk does close at 9pm, but they provide a key for night entry through a side entrance. We would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FMG822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2007

I had read very good reviews for this hotel/pension on another site, and I must therefore admit that the first impression was disappointing. Although it is advertised as a hotel, it would be more appropriate to call it a pension/B&B, as the reception closes early and the rooms are divided over two floors in a turn-of-the-century apartment block which reminded me more of Eastern Europe than Vienna. The room standard is basic and although the room seemed clean at first sight, my dust allergy was quite bad throughout the stay. The curtains were very light, letting in sunrays from 5am in the morning. The bathroom was new and relatively large, but unfortunately, there was an unpleasant smell from the toilet (urine) which just grew worse during our stay. I suspect there might be a problem with old pipes. Breakfast, for which we were charged a hefty 8 euro per person, was too basic for my Northern European taste (no ham, scrambled eggs, proper cheese or fresh bread), and it ended as early as 9 am on Saturday morning...
On the plus side, the coffee was good, much better than average. The best thing about Hotel Bleckmann is its location, right between the city centre and the Volksoper, which are both within walking distance. Sigmund Freud's platz, about 5 minutes from the hotel, is a hub for both trams and u-bahns. Tram nr. 1, which takes you to wonderful Grinzieg (a must!) passes in front of the hotel. The hotel staff also merit positive reviews, they were all very friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English.
I would stay at the Hotel Bleckmann again only if I could get a considerably better rate (60 rather than the 90 euro I paid) and I would be reassured that the bathroom would not smell.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The shabby impression created by numerous small shortcomings
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ACT73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Pension Wild
Pension Wild
#116 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#65 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Serviten Quarter
Hotel Am Schottenpoint
Hotel Am Schottenpoint
#297 of 367 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Benediktushaus Guest House
Hotel Fabrik
#10 of 114 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Josefstadt
Pension Columbia
Pension Columbia
#17 of 114 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Pension Bleckmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Pension Bleckmann

Property: Hotel-Pension Bleckmann
Address: Waehringer Strasse 15, Vienna 1090, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Alservorstadt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Pension Bleckmann 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel-Pension Bleckmann is a family operated B&B, in an excellent central location only 200m away from the famous Ringstraße and within walking distance of the historical part of down town Vienna. All rooms have private bathroom, hairdryers, direct-dial telephone, WIFI and satellite-TV. Refrigerated drinks and a safety box are available at reception. Street sided rooms have 24h fresh air supply and special noise reducing windowpanes for your comfort. Garage and street parking available. This B&B offers great accomodation if you are looking for something typical Viennese wihtout the unifomity of international hotelchains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel-Pension Bleckmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bleckmann Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing