We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economical and you get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel-Pension Bleckmann
Ranked #39 of 113 Vienna B&B and Inns
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Economical and you get what you pay for”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The rooms are small and have limited TV channels and no aircon: beware in the summer! Rooms on the front are noisy. The staff are charming and very helpful and the breakfast buffet is excellent. It is very conveniently located next to a tramp stop and only five minutes from the Schottentor underground. A good base in a quiet neighbouhood.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    69
    34
    9
    16
See reviews for
33
55
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Convenient location. Good sized (for the price) room in interesting old building. Friendly reception and more than adequate breakfast. Warning - lots if stairs which add to the C19th atmosphere but make luggage carrying hard work. Recommend as good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katharine50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

The only thing good about this hotel is that they have a great and very humble and courteous staff otherwise there is nothing else which is positive about this hotel.
I stayed here in june and to my surprise there was no airconditioner in the hotel and the temperature during my stay was around 38 degrees in Vienna. The smell in the hotel doesnt give a positive feeling and i would highly not reccommend this hotel to anyone....for the same price there are other hotels which are ad well available in Vienna.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DipeshVerma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vienna hotels

Bucuresti
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The hotel is close to city center and to subway station Schottentor (purple line). At 10 minutes walk there is Rathaus and a great park is in the close neibourghood. There are many restaurants in the area, but you better choose carefully because there are central prices as well.

We had a family room - 4 adults + 2 kids - quite intimate I would say since 2 double beds were placed there with the space between them just allowing a person to go through. But the room was comfortable and clean, no complains. Also I must mention that rooms have phonically isolation - there was permanent working at the tram line in from of our window every night but we slept like babies without any noise disturbing.
The breakfast was incredible: lots of choices, fresh fruits (apples), many types of bread, cheese etc. They even had boiled eggs instead of traditional hotel powder omelets.
The only thing disturbing is that reception is open only until 21:00, so you have to carry 2 keys with you (for room and for the building).
Overall the hotel is OK for touristic stay, if you spend your day out in the city and need a confortable place to sleep well and have a good morning start.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I came to this hotel having been booked through the University of Vienna. The Bleckmann is used often by nearby departments for their visitors and I can see why. The rooms are adequate and the breakfast is good too. Perhaps it is, as one reviewer said, a pension more than a hotel, but the line between the two must be very fine indeed. The main feature of this hotel is its location and as it is near one of Vienna's principal public transport hubs - at least for where I wanted to go - it cannot be faulted. Nearby will cost you much more. Next door is an excellent restaurant which, again, is value for money. Don't expect too much and you will not be disappointed. Oh, and I did not have the perfect stay: the room they sent me to was under construction still! But, they gave me another one without fuss where the renovations had been completed. Perhaps a bit amateurish, but I got my room. The staff were not "professional" and I like that. That is, they genuinely were interested and friendly, trying their best to answer my unusual questions.

Room Tip: As it has happened to others I know, just ask the desk clerk when you check in if the renovations ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a budget hotel. It is in a good location and you can walk to a lot of tourist attractions and trains/trams. The rooms are quite old - don't expect room safes or fridges or air conditioning but the rooms are clean. The staff and friendly and helpful. I must compliment the lady who run the breakfast - she keeps the food fresh and offers both my wife and I a fresh pot of tea and coffee when we sit down - great service! The hotel is also very quiet. The only complaint I have is that we specifically requested a non-smoking and when we arrived it was clean this was a smoking room, it really stunk and I thought that someone had smoked like 10 packets in that room that morning. We were told we couldn't change room and it has caused our clothes and belonging to now stink of smoke. Not good for a non-smoker and asthmatic. Wifi is good however there is only one password per room so you can only use one device at a time.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

FALSE ADVERTISING & UNPROFESSIONAL. DO NOT BOOK! The HOTEL "Austria Classic Hotel Bleckman" is actually "Hotel & Pension Bleckman”. My pensioner mother and I booked a triple room for 5 nights. As per our booking, we were assigned a room with a double bed and separate sofa/single bed within the “hotel”.

On our 5th night the hotel manager ILLEGALLY PACKED OUR BAGS (THROWING ANYTHING NOT IN OUR SUITCASES INTO A PLASTIC RUBBISH BAG) and deposited them in an INFERIOR “pension” room due to an "error in their booking system". NO CONSULTATION OR WARNING! We were INSTRUCTED by a voicemail on my UK mobile phone to collect the keys before reception closed. The room was like a YOUTH HOSTEL DORMITORY with three single beds. When we complained, the Manager was EXTREMELY RUDE. Instead of upholding our room assignment, she suggested we “sue her”. Our money taken, there was no intention to offer compensation. HAD WE NOT THREATENED TO CALL THE POLICE WE WOULD HAVE BEEN TOTALLY IGNORED.

We checked our original room to ensure all our possessions had been collected. The room was made up as a DOUBLE, not a TRIPLE, with the single bed remade into a sofa with decorative cushions. It was obvious that TWO SINGLE WOMEN WE WERE DOWNGRADED TO PRIORITISE A COUPLE, DESPITE OUR CONTRACTUAL BOOKING RESERVATION. HIGHLY RECOMMEND BOOKING ELSEWHERE.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 1Dara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Serviten Quarter
Hotel Pension Baron am Schottentor
Josefstadt
Pension Wild
Pension Wild
#101 of 360 in Vienna
293 reviews
Serviten Quarter
Hotel Boltzmann
Hotel Boltzmann
#187 of 360 in Vienna
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alservorstadt
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#240 of 360 in Vienna
279 reviews
Serviten Quarter
Hotel Am Schottenpoint
Hotel Am Schottenpoint
#286 of 360 in Vienna
91 reviews
Alservorstadt
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#98 of 360 in Vienna
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Pension Bleckmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Pension Bleckmann

Property: Hotel-Pension Bleckmann
Address: Waehringer Strasse 15, Vienna 1090, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Alservorstadt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Pension Bleckmann 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel-Pension Bleckmann is a family operated B&B, in an excellent central location only 200m away from the famous Ringstraße and within walking distance of the historical part of down town Vienna. All rooms have private bathroom, hairdryers, direct-dial telephone, WIFI and satellite-TV. Refrigerated drinks and a safety box are available at reception. Street sided rooms have 24h fresh air supply and special noise reducing windowpanes for your comfort. Garage and street parking available. This B&B offers great accomodation if you are looking for something typical Viennese wihtout the unifomity of international hotelchains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel-Pension Bleckmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bleckmann Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing