We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“APALLING. ROOM EVICTION AT HOTEL’S ERROR.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel-Pension Bleckmann
Ranked #43 of 110 Vienna B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“APALLING. ROOM EVICTION AT HOTEL’S ERROR.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

FALSE ADVERTISING & UNPROFESSIONAL. DO NOT BOOK! The HOTEL "Austria Classic Hotel Bleckman" is actually "Hotel & Pension Bleckman”. My pensioner mother and I booked a triple room for 5 nights. As per our booking, we were assigned a room with a double bed and separate sofa/single bed within the “hotel”.

On our 5th night the hotel manager ILLEGALLY PACKED OUR BAGS (THROWING ANYTHING NOT IN OUR SUITCASES INTO A PLASTIC RUBBISH BAG) and deposited them in an INFERIOR “pension” room due to an "error in their booking system". NO CONSULTATION OR WARNING! We were INSTRUCTED by a voicemail on my UK mobile phone to collect the keys before reception closed. The room was like a YOUTH HOSTEL DORMITORY with three single beds. When we complained, the Manager was EXTREMELY RUDE. Instead of upholding our room assignment, she suggested we “sue her”. Our money taken, there was no intention to offer compensation. HAD WE NOT THREATENED TO CALL THE POLICE WE WOULD HAVE BEEN TOTALLY IGNORED.

We checked our original room to ensure all our possessions had been collected. The room was made up as a DOUBLE, not a TRIPLE, with the single bed remade into a sofa with decorative cushions. It was obvious that TWO SINGLE WOMEN WE WERE DOWNGRADED TO PRIORITISE A COUPLE, DESPITE OUR CONTRACTUAL BOOKING RESERVATION. HIGHLY RECOMMEND BOOKING ELSEWHERE.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 1Dara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    67
    33
    9
    16
See reviews for
33
53
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

The hotel is not any more the newest, but still in good conditions. The room was great enougth for us four and viewed in the inner garden, for this it was quite at night. The hotel is situated close to the center of the city, ca. 15 minutes by feet. The breakfast buffet was not great, but one could find all that one generally wishes . The tables were cleaned at once. The reception personal was very friendly and competent. The tramstops and the U-Bahn stops are easy to reach by feet, so that it was no need to use the car. Also the parking with the special allowence given from the hotel was not expensive (almost 6 euro a day) and just behind of the hotel. One should all the time think when one reads all of the reviews about the "Blackmann" is that the price and location really pass.When you come to visit the city and dont plan to spend your hole time inside of the hotel, then it is the passing place also for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elena646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

My last review was written during a time, when I had not received the deposit in full, from the staff at Hotel Bleckmann, Vienna. In the end, I did receive it. There had been a misunderstanding about the whole situation. We did not stay at the actual Hotel, but in one of the private apartments rented out by the Hotel. I can recommend the apartment, because of its central location, and other amenities.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TouristDare2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

I'm writing this review from my room in the Bleckmann because I was concerned about the mixed reviews this hotel received. Well, my experience here put my mind at rest. My wife and I are staying here 2 days already and we had a very good experience. The friendly staff gave us information about locations and transport arrangements. They also helped us with parking spots and then we found out that the wifi in the room is free! To be sure, this is a simple hotel without frills, but it is very clean and combined with the fairly central location this makes for a pleasant experience overall.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravisTheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed as a family (4 adults, 2 children under 14) at the Hotel Bleckman in July 2011. The Hotel is conveniently located to many of Vienna's attractions and within a decent walking distance of their city core. We walked to their shopping concourse and enjoyed an evening at the famed Opera House. The Hotel is manned by friendly and very helpful staff at the front deask. They were quite helpful in identifying places to visit and nearby restaurants. The parking lot is small and when we were there it was full so they found a way to have our car accomdated on a side street at a very reasonable price. This is not the first time we have stayed there nor will it be the last.
The Cuffs

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birzebbuga, Malta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

GOOD POINTS:-
-> Great value for money - I paid Eur128 for 2 nights
-> Very close to city centre and important places of interest;
-> Clean environment and laundry;
-> Friendly, Enlish-speaking Staff;
-> Free, reliable internet connection.

LESS GOOD POINTS:-
-> No Aircondition in my room, but I slept peacefully nonetheless;
-> Breakfast is very humble but good and satisfactory.

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank zokra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Apartment Thurngasse 13/7, Vienna, during May and June, 2011. They have not returned the deposit, and after waiting for 2 weeks, listening to their lies, I finally contacted the police both in Vienna and in Finland.

Other negative things about the hotel/apartment rental "service". The apt was supposed to be cleaned every week, and it worked out about 3 out of 4 weeks. We had to ask for extra toilet paper at the hotel during week 1. The last week was not ideal, the cleaning lady never came, during that week, when we stayed there, even though we had to pay the final cleaning fee.

The trash was therefore taken out only once a week, and the door to the back-yard, where the trash cans were, were always locked, so we had to sit with the thrash in the apt for 1 week.

About the internet connection. The hotel advertises that with the room, you get a starter credit, that is IF the previous tenant has left you any, which he has purchased himself/herself from A1, from the local post-office, so obviously there are only a few seconds left for you to use. For 20Euro, you get about a 1-week of internet, if you do not watch any youtube, only really basic stuff.

Make sure you do not leave after the check-out, without the deposit, in cash, and get a receipt for the usb-stick, and for leaving the room clean.

Room Tip: Best tip for getting the best room: do not book a room from this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TouristDare2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vienna hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Pension Wild
Pension Wild
#109 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#66 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Serviten Quarter
Hotel Am Schottenpoint
Hotel Am Schottenpoint
#300 of 362 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Josefstadt
Pension Andreas
Pension Andreas
#274 of 362 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Alservorstadt
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#226 of 362 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Mariahilf
Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral
Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral
#90 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Pension Bleckmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Pension Bleckmann

Property: Hotel-Pension Bleckmann
Address: Waehringer Strasse 15, Vienna 1090, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Alservorstadt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Pension Bleckmann 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel-Pension Bleckmann is a family operated B&B, in an excellent central location only 200m away from the famous Ringstraße and within walking distance of the historical part of down town Vienna. All rooms have private bathroom, hairdryers, direct-dial telephone, WIFI and satellite-TV. Refrigerated drinks and a safety box are available at reception. Street sided rooms have 24h fresh air supply and special noise reducing windowpanes for your comfort. Garage and street parking available. This B&B offers great accomodation if you are looking for something typical Viennese wihtout the unifomity of international hotelchains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel-Pension Bleckmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bleckmann Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing