We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only option I had, I was quite content at that moment but wouldn't recommand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel-Pension Bleckmann
Ranked #43 of 110 Vienna B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“The only option I had, I was quite content at that moment but wouldn't recommand”
Reviewed April 21, 2011

I spent two nights there in 2009 while traveling through Europe. I've choosen this hotel mostly because it was late and, as somebody else said, the reception of some hotels uses to close around 9PM.

The hotel is close to some important touristic sights while other can be reached by tram. The tram station is say 50m from the hotel entrance.

I liked the look of the hotel from outside, I liked the halls(they looked like in Godfather) but yes, the rooms weren't really impressive even if they seemed clean.
My room was opposite to the street so I had a pleasant, quiet sleep.
The staff were generally helpful and wiling to give information on various issues related Wien.
On a negative note I have to say that the breakfast was very..small. There was actually hardly anything to eat than jam, butter and some coffee.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank British_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    67
    33
    9
    16
See reviews for
33
53
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2010

The location is excellent. A short walk to the city centre or a tram journey of 3-4 minutes. The reception area was nice, the managers extremely helpful, with maps and advice and they spoke great english too.
The room was fairly basic, what was to be expected for the price, but it had a tv and the bathroom was very clean. It was also warm, as it was quite chilly at that time of year, and the beds were very comfortable. It was up a few flights of stairs which were a bit dark, but very grand!
Breakfast was really yummy. Lots of choice, very filling and on for a long enough time period for us to get out of bed!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALIS0N73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aeneas02
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2010

Carpets with holes in my room, mosquitoblood on the walls, window did not close a it should, Basic-Basic out of age bathroom, though clean, unstylish room. My collegue had a single room that looked like a prison cell. Rooms are next to a psychiatric practice.
To avoid at all time!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aeneas02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vienna hotels

yorkshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2010

This is a great value hotel six or seven minutes walk from Vienna city centre. Very friendly and welcoming staff, no need to try out your holiday german here, the hotel is run by an Irish/Austrian family. Adequate breakfast for this part of the world and our room was clean and quiet with a nice en suite. I shall be recommending the Bleckmann to anyone I know who is going to see the sights of Vienna.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverg52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
188 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2009

The Bleckmann is one of those European hotels with a lobby on the ground floor and several sets of rooms, probably converted apartments, on two upper floors of a multiple-use period building. Lobby is fine but entry and common stairway are shabby at best. My room on the street side was clean and quiet, as advertised, but charmless. Breakfast was not a high point in my day. You need to go elsewhere for real Viennese coffee and atmosphere. Staff were courteous and helpful, but reception is closed from 9pm until 7 am. Not bad for the money, but certainly not a destination.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wws68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

Definitely not worth the money, we paid almost 2,000 Euro for just a couple months of stay, and all we got in return was a bad experience.

After my husband got an appointment in Vienna, we moved to the hotel/pension Bleckmann for a couple of months. First off, just as soon as we arrived we started noticing all those minor but annoying things - electrical wiring not finished and sticking out, hence electrical outlet boxes missing, half-broken lamps, etc. Furniture pieces are old and falling apart as soon as you touch them. The kitchen was tiny, of all the electrical appliances there was just a coffee-maker which leaked and left stains on the painted furniture. The room designed for three was very small even for one person to live in. The walls are paper thin and you can hear your neighbor talking on the phone, or another neighbor practicing violin two floors away. And of course, the smell from the bathroom was quite annoying, too.

And the most unpleasant surprise came when we were checking out on our last day, the hotel co-owner Mr. Muellner the senior refused to return our reservation deposit, so we lost 300 Euro and when we asked for an explanation or at least policies they were guided by, he first gave us contradictory info and then would just start yelling at us telling us to "Get lost! Go back to where you come from!", etc. Quite a surprising attitude for a person making his living on foreigners...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TinaVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2007

Nothing fancy, but very comfortable and relatively inexpensive for Vienna. Breakfast was included with the room. Good location for easy public transportation access to the city center (or about a 25 minute walk).

The staff (family run hotel) was most helpful with directions and suggestions for restaurants. They spoke perfect English.

We had a quad room (brought two children). The room was moderately sized, but not so small that we were running into eachother. Offers WiFi Internet at an additional charge (by the hour) at a relatively expensive price.

The front desk does close at 9pm, but they provide a key for night entry through a side entrance. We would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FMG822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Pension Wild
Pension Wild
#95 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#67 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Serviten Quarter
Hotel Am Schottenpoint
Hotel Am Schottenpoint
#281 of 361 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Josefstadt
Pension Andreas
Pension Andreas
#265 of 361 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Alservorstadt
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#235 of 361 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Mariahilf
Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral
Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral
#92 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Pension Bleckmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Pension Bleckmann

Property: Hotel-Pension Bleckmann
Address: Waehringer Strasse 15, Vienna 1090, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Alservorstadt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Pension Bleckmann 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel-Pension Bleckmann is a family operated B&B, in an excellent central location only 200m away from the famous Ringstraße and within walking distance of the historical part of down town Vienna. All rooms have private bathroom, hairdryers, direct-dial telephone, WIFI and satellite-TV. Refrigerated drinks and a safety box are available at reception. Street sided rooms have 24h fresh air supply and special noise reducing windowpanes for your comfort. Garage and street parking available. This B&B offers great accomodation if you are looking for something typical Viennese wihtout the unifomity of international hotelchains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel-Pension Bleckmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bleckmann Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing