We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novum Hotel Kaffeemuehle
Ranked #273 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The room is clean but the furniture is a bit rustic. It is walking distance from the U-bahn or trams, thereby location is good. Good enough place to stay for a couple of nights or if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank degirl0420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
There are newer reviews for Novum Hotel Kaffeemuehle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 262 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

The bedroom was very clean, but the bed was not that comfortable. The hotel is very easy to reach, 5 minutes walking from the U-Bahn station, but it's also possible to take the Tram, it is closer. They offers as well free Wi-Fi. It's good enough for 1-2 nights.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guilherme V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

1) Terrible: It was cold and the central heating was turned off for the season. We were refused extra blankets. We had to cover ourselves with bathroom towels! The next day we were provided with blankets but I became ill already.

2) Terrible: The hotel room walls are really paper-thin. I could hear TV shows and snoring all night.

3) Good: The service at the canteen was good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank A_guest174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel was recommended by a resident coz it is near the tram line. It was indeed convenient but directions from Westbahnhoff train station could have been more detailed, i.e. can actually take a tram which stops directly in front of hotel. We had to drag our luggage and walk several blocks to reach it from train station coz we did not know. We arrived at the hotel early so we could not check in yet. The reception staff was kind to accept to store our luggage, then provided us information on tour options as well as directions. The hotel itself is ok except for the very old lift/elevator, we were afraid to use it. And it was quite small, just could accommodate 2 persons + luggage. Breakfast is simple however it would be good if there is breakfast box for those who leave or check-out early like 630am.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adniesz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent 3 nights in this hotel, and the summary of ups and downs is as follows:
The good:
1) Good location. It is close to Metro stations and trams, and you can easily reach downtown or Schonbrunn Palace.
2) Parking. There is a parking lot right beside the hotel, very helpful if going by car, with direct access to the lobby and rooms.
3) Price. Vienna is expensive, if compared with other cities in the surrounding countries. Price of this hotel is very reasonable.
4) Food. There is a cheap Chinese restaurant right beside and a supermarket very close.

The bad:
1) Breakfast is outside the hotel, a few meters from the lobby. So if it is very cold or raining, be ready.
2) The cleaning is faster than desirable. One morning we went down to get something from the car, and when we returned to the room they had already finished the job.
3) Rooms are very Spartan. Wardrobe, for example, is relatively small is you are travelling with a lot of luggage.

As good and bad points have similar weight, this hotel is a potential alternative for those going to Vienna on holidays where budget has an important role.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpresotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were nice and clean, spacious for three. Convenient location with easy access to public transport taking you straight into the city centre. Poor patchy wifi, which is a concern for travellers without international roaming.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We found the hotel with no problem. It has a parking garage for a fee. It is right on a fairly busy street just a few yards from the metro. Check in was smooth. The staff was friendly. The price for the room was decent for the area. Our room was large, clean, and updated. We had a stocked fridge, safe, plenty of space for clothes, and a decent view of the garden area below. (although they seemed to be working on something in the garden area). The bath area was large and remodeled. The sink was inside the bath area(I like it on the outside) The beds were very comfortable but the walls did not do the best job keeping the noise from our neighbors away. The only down side was the area although only a 10 minute walk to the city center, was borderline to some questionable areas. But the walk was easy, we were 3 sisters traveling, and did not encounter any problems. We used the metro and left our car in the parking garage when traveling from the hotel. The WiFi connection worked well. The breakfast was an extra charge and we did eat at the breakfast buffet one morning. It was fair, not impressive. I think students would find this hotel quite suitable but I would probably look for something a little closer to the city center next time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huskertravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Novum Hotel Congress Wien am Hauptbahnhof
Leopoldstadt
Novum Hotel Cristall Wien Messe
Neubau
Hotel Furstenhof
Hotel Furstenhof
#197 of 361 in Vienna
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Pension Walzerstadt
Hotel Pension Walzerstadt
#217 of 361 in Vienna
97 reviews
Ottakring
Hotel Carina
Hotel Carina
#308 of 361 in Vienna
77 reviews
Ottakring
Hotel Hadrigan
Hotel Hadrigan
#293 of 361 in Vienna
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Kaffeemuehle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Kaffeemuehle

Address: Kaiserstrasse 45, Vienna 1070, Austria (Formerly Hotel Kaffeemühle)
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau , Schottenfeld
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: $58 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Kaffeemuehle 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novum Hotel Kaffeemühle is a centrally located, centrally located hotel in Vienna. Only a few minutes from Vienna's Westbahnhof railway station you will find our hotel. The largest shopping street (Mariahilferstraße) is within walking distance of the hotel. All rooms are functional, but stylishly furnished and have a bathroom with shower and WC, flat-screen cable TV and free Wi-Fi. A rich buffet breakfast is served in our restaurant for an extra charge. A variety of restaurants serving Austrian, Asian or Italian cuisine can be found in the surrounding area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Novum Hotel Kaffeemuehle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaffemuehle Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing