We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but alright”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Terminus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Terminus
Ranked #255 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Basic but alright”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We were staying in the hotel for one night only, which was ok I think. After few experiences over Europe - and specially bigger cities, I didn't have big expectations. Very basic hotel with simple room and bathroom, but we had a good sleep in a warm place and the breakfast was enough to survive until lunch.
The location is pretty good and the receptionist guy was really friendly!
So don't expect to much around Christmas in a cheap place in Vienna and then you will have an "alright" stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trinity19812016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    56
    50
    13
    5
See reviews for
25
41
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saarbrücken, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

The location is very good - it's only a short walk to Naschmarkt, Karlsplatz and then the city centre.

Other than that, I was thoroughly disappointed by Hotel Terminus, especially considering the price. Reception staff was okay, but indifferent. The room looked like it was in need of renovation; the bathroom was straight out of the late 70s, maybe early 80s. The walls were thin and I could hear the neighbouring room's TV and people talking there in the evening.

Worst was the bed: First, it was just a bit too short for me (~1.85m) so I had to lie diagonally in the double bed. Second, if you use beds that stand on feet ~10cm above the ground, you better clean below them from time to time. Hotel Terminus obviously doesn't: Not only was there a very thick layer of dust on the ground below the bed (significantly more than in any corner of the room even), but also plastic soft drink bottles from previous guests.

The breakfast buffet was also very basic; in particular, there were no fruit and no yoghurts at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arhasb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vienna hotels

Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
121 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Not in the heart of the city but it is within 5 minute walk from the Museum district and the presidential palace.

Our room was good and comfortable, just what we needed, simple, mid and good. It was a 4 person room with private bathroom and toilet, on the 5th floor (which was actually 6th). However I think the double or single rooms in all other floors had shared bathrooms and shared, toilets which is a pity. No fridge for water though...

There are a couple of very good restaurants and cozy bars around the hotel, so I would totally recommend this for groups of young friends. Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: 3-4 persons rooms have private bathroom and toilets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelcycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

ROOM
This applies for room 14 (in case the hotel owner reads this review).
The room has good beds.

Safe deposit box has poor usability.
Beware if you use it!

The rooms have no aircondition. It was very hot (34 celcius) when I visited and you have to sleep with windows opened.
Some street noise at night.

BATHROOM
The toilet cant flush properly.
The shower drain is partly defect so it takes more than 1 hour to drain.

Excellent and clean towels.
Tab water is cold and tastes excellent.

BREAKFAST
Breakfast is very basic but is included in the room price. Breadrolls, cheese, 2 types of jam, cereals and tea/ coffee.

Everytime someone moves a chair in the breakfastroom there is a load noise!

WI-FI
Hotel offers free wi-fi but it only works in some of the rooms. You have to read and sign a very long disclaimer form before they give you the password to the wi-fi.
The pc in the lobby is most likely virus infected so dont use it for services that require a login and your password (ie webmail, Gmail).

WOULD I BOOK AGAIN?
No - the hotel has no attention to the small details that might spoil your stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaneBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Risan, Montenegro
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

This was a lot better than what I've expected. The staff was really friendly, and the room was simple, but cozy and clean. And the location is great! The bathroom and the elevator could be a bit bigger, though, it's kind of hard to get in the elevator with more than 1 bag.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilikilikila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Good Location, accurate description, easily found parking, breakfast was normal for Europe, Exactly what I expected for the price that was given and I have no complaints. You want something fancy you need to shell out the cash.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

I stayed on June 2012 three nights. A single room was small with bed, wardrobe, toilet, phone and tiny tv with decent set of channels (German, Russian, Spanish, Italian, French, Polish and English good be heard!). No air conditioning was included (and it was hot). The shower had some issues with pressure.

The location was perfect - most of the museums were in walking distance as well as shopping and eating places.

The buffet breakfast was from 7 until 10 and was minimal (bread, butter, cheese, sausage cuts, cereals, muesli, jogurt, coffee, tea) but decent. The personel spoke good enough English.

The price included wireless Internet connection which worked very well in room and with more than one gadgets. There was also a separate computer in public area which I didn't need.

While the hotel itself was minimal, it contained everything I needed and the location was excellent. Recommended for modest people who don't want to waste their money for luxury!

Room Tip: If you're travelling on summer time, take a room as low as possible since there's no air con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank consttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#234 of 362 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Mariahilf
Pension Mozart
Pension Mozart
#331 of 362 in Vienna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Mariahilf
Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral
Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral
#90 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Josefstadt
Pension Wild
Pension Wild
#109 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#66 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Mariahilf
Pension Mariahilf
Pension Mariahilf
#210 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terminus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terminus

Property: Hotel Terminus
Address: Fillgradergasse 4, Vienna 1060, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #255 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Terminus 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Terminus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terminus Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing