We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the right choice”
Review of Hollmann Beletage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hollmann Beletage
Ranked #3 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2010

With so many hotels or pensions to choose from in Vienna, Hollmann Beletage was one of the best choices we have made. The hotel is perfectly located in central of Vienna, as everything is within walking distance, e.g. St. Stephen's Cathedral, which is one of the locations to get your Hop On/Hop Off Ride service from GrayLine. Check-in was easy, just a signature, and off you go to the room. You will find that the main color is very Hermes, with dark wood against solid orange. Same goes with the room. Our room have a view of the garden, which makes it even more romantic. The room itself is equipped with ipod player, cd player, free wi-fi and a tv, but who needs those when you have so many things to do in Vienna? And most important, the room is air-conditioned, which not many hotels in Vienna will offer. In the hotel, you can help yourself with the pop corn and peanuts machines. There is a Macbook and a printer so you don't need to worry in case you need to book a tour or train ticket. The breakfast is absolutely impeccable. Hot breakfast is served only when you place your order, and cooked by their own Hollmann's chef. The hostess is very cheerful, polite and very pleasant to look at, which is what you needed when you head to a breakfast room.
Outside the hotel, you can find many shops, an Indian restaurant for halal food, a Starbucks for coffee lovers, a supermarket opposite the hotel, lots of boutiques, perfumeries, chocolate shops, and restaurants of all kinds.
Overall, the room is worth the budget for fellow travelers on budget with a minor splurge for the ambiance and location.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Danish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

699 - 705 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2010

Just returned from weekend break.My fifith visit to Vienna but my first to this hotel.
Great location,friendly restaurant staff,excellent homebaked and freshly cooked to order breakfast.Good size room with all you need.
Extras in communal areas such as piano,freeWiFi,books and CD.s,games etc really make it feel homely.
My gripes are small, the air conditioning was just a fan vent with no thermostat control,and therefore was not very effective.
As mentioned previously street noise from deliveries and bin men meant that if you wanted the windows open you were rudely awakened by the noise.
Cinema not operating on our first night,we sat down with wine in hand all ready to take in the Third Man,unfortunately we had to change our plans.
One point to note as the entrance is similar to an apartment,it was difficult to gain entry at 10pm on arrival as there was no one manning reception then.Suggest arriving earlier before reception closes.
We thoroughly enjoyed the experience and had it rained more would have been happy to have spent hours in the hotel.
Would love to go back soon...........Thank you for our unique experience.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mackchoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

we were looking for a cool and central place to stay in vienna for a weekend break. we decided on hollmann after reading the tripadvisor reviews and luckily were not dissapointed!

the hotel has some cool and slightly quirky design elements, a little rough around the edges in some places (bathroom finishings etc.) but very clean (that is always the most important thing to me when judging any establishment) and overall comfortable, our room was a good size too.

the first impression was not the best, as our cabbie had difficulties finding the hotel since the outside of it looks more like an apartent entrance, and the check-in desk was a bit difficult to find too, but otherwise everything else was fine. the location is superb, and within walking distance of all the central attractions that matter in vienna. close to shopping at graben and kohlmarkt str. and trendy bars too. overall would recommend to younger singles/couples looking for a centrally located design hotel.

the only dissapoinment was that we could not try out hollmann's neighbouring 'sister restaurant', it comes highly recommended, but was closed for private events both times that we tried to go.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VtravelqueenV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2010

we had a 5 day holiday in Vienna,a friendly couple suggested the hotel.amazing decoration,the rooms comfortable,relaxed bathroom with tab,i liked it a lot.the service not well,the breakfast poor.the location convenient and the staff friendly.
i got crazy by the style.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarmenNav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

I've just come back from a short trip to Vienna and had a fantastic time at Hotel Hollmann Beletage. This place really makes you feel home and the breakfast is outstanding - the only bad thing is that all of this also makes you want to stay inside the hotel all the time, instead of exploring the city... :-)

Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
Thank Hildegard79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

We visited this hotel on the strength of the Trip Advisor reviews, and everything was as advertised except one --- there was no air conditioning. Now, admittedly, this was April in Vienna, but the inside of the hotel was so hot that we had to open our windows to be comfortable. The only trouble with that was that the hotel is located near bars that empty between 1 and 2 (with yelling drunks) and around 3:30, the delivery trucks start arriving at the supermarket across the street. When we complained to the front desk, they agreed that it was very hot inside, but that management had decided not to turn on the air conditioning until May. Very bad idea if you want return customers. We also hated the pillows, as others have said.

On the positive side, it is a great location. The design features are cool and the sister restaurant down the street serves a creative array of small dishes. The breakfasts were excellent. Vienna was wonderful and we want to go back, but we will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newdavewally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PALP, Manager at Hollmann Beletage, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2010

Dear newdavewally,
thank you for your honest feedback.

We are very pleased to hear that you very much appreciated our breakfast, our location, our design and our restaurant.

Indeed - at the time of your stay - we did not yet have our airconditioning activated.
2 reasons:
- The average temperature in Vienna during April is around 12°C / 53°C, during night time even less.
- We have ecological principles (for example: we use electricity from 100% sustainable energy only) and do not want to waste energy with heating on the one side and cooling down on the other...
The airconditioning will be activated automatically once the outside temperature reaches 20°C/ 68°F.

We are located in the very center of town, at the heart of Vienna's old town, in a quiet side street. Thus you will definitely find a whole array of restaurants and bars in walking distance. Our rooms are equipped with double-glassed windows.

We provide a choice of pillows for every guest: 4 standard 100% down feather pillows in every room. Upon request: non allergic pillows and/or orthopaedic pillows.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

The Hollmann Beletage was our last stop after 5 weeks away and the individual attention paid to us as well as the individuality of the rooms was terrific. We have always stayed in the corporate chains but once I got over the surprise of the low key entrance the rest was a delight. The breakfast was to die for as was the servixe at breakfast. The storage lockers were a great idea on the day of our departure even though the staff were happy to lookf after the gear for us. After the breakfast experience we decided to try their sister retaurant round the corner which also did ot disappoint. We have travelled a great deal and usually with all the business facilities but the Hollmann provided the perfect end to our holiday with the special individual attention , including our names on the backboard outside our room welcoming us, ! An indivdual and attentive hotel.I strongly recommenf this even to those who do the 'corporates'.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DidiWesternAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 358 in Vienna
1,555 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
#2 of 358 in Vienna
1,896 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#6 of 358 in Vienna
2,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Hotel Das Tyrol
Hotel Das Tyrol
#4 of 358 in Vienna
1,534 reviews
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Palais Hansen Kempinski
#10 of 358 in Vienna
1,231 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#9 of 358 in Vienna
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollmann Beletage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollmann Beletage

Address: Koellnerhofgasse 6, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Old University Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#3 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#6 Family Hotel in Vienna
#6 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $205 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hollmann Beletage 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel, design refuge, living room for globetrotters and the pampered jetsetters: the Hollmann Beletage is all this and much more – a Viennese jewel in the truest sense of the word. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hollmann Beletage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollmann Beletage - Design And Boutique
Hollmann Beletage - Design & Boutique Hotel Vienna
Hollmann Beletage Design Boutique Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing