We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my home in Vienna”
Review of Hollmann Beletage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hollmann Beletage
Ranked #2 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2012

As an Austrian expat returning every so often to Vienna I am always looking forward to staying at the Beletage. The location can't be beat (unless you need car parking), the ambience is elegant, quirky but welcoming - as a hotel should be. Still not sure about the open shower / bath tubs in the rooms though - there are things one does in the shower even one's spouse doesn't need to see or hear...but everything else, breakfast above all, is a pleasure. And don't forget to pay a visit to the Hollmann restaurant in the former monastery courtyard next door...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

560 - 566 of 1,140 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

This boutique hotel has 25 rooms, is charming and clean, and is located on a quiet side street close to much of the site-seeing. St. Stephan's Cathedral and the Mozarthaus are a few steps away, for example. Our room (#18) was huge, especially compared to Vienna standards, and the bathroom was beautiful with a free-standing soaking tub and separate shower. The pictures on the hotel's website do not exaggerate the size of the rooms. There was ample closet space, a small couch, a fruit plate, free minibar, and a small desk. The free wifi was very fast and consistent, and the hotel offered us a complimentary iPad to use during our visit, which we didn't need. The hotel manager, Philip, helped us with our luggage, and settled us into a comfy couch in the lounge with a hot cup of coffee so we could relax before siteseeing. He couldn't have been more professional and courteous. The public spaces have a lot of charm - there are big comfortable chairs in the first floor lounge where tea in served, an eight-seat cinema that airs movies every night complete with popcorn, and a nice garden courtyard that our room faced.

Breakfast was fantastic and changes every day. On day one, for example, we had ham, salami, cheese, fruit salad, apple slices, a basket of breads, berry jam, orange juice, coffee, and we split a freshly prepared deep-dish leek and spinach quiche. The chef is excellent.

My only slight complaint was the bed. It was very comfortable but creaked a bit when you turned over or got up.

Room Tip: #18 faced an interior courtyard, which made it very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jj_macnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Actually, it wasn't a surprise. I now have such faith in trip advisor that I won't go to a toilet without checking, and the reviews were great. From the minute I booked this hotel it was a pleasure. I had lots of questions and every email was answered within hours. I must admit that Arrival is a bit disconcerting insofar as the hotel is on upper floors of what appears to be an older office building, but once you get past the street entry and ground floor lobbies, the hotel on the third floor is wonderful. The staff is so helpful and friendly that you cannot believe you are in a hotel. The literally bend over backwards to see what they can do for you. Their rooms are uniquely decorated. Ours had a wood wall behind which was the bathroom, closets, tv, safe and refrigerator. Other rooms are designed differently and it would be fun to see all the variations. The rooms are spotless, clean and well maintained. The bathroom was clean, ample and the room was conveniently appointed along with pez dispensers, fresh fruit and a complete description of everything upon arrival. The breakfasts contain a cornucopia of options from both a buffet area and beautifully presented dishes of fish, meat cheese and eggs, crepes and other dishes prepared to order. Snacks and drinks are served in the afternoon and the only negative thing about the hotel was that we had to leave.

Room Tip: Each unique and lovely. Stay in all of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hobbitnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed one night in August in room 7 (there are only 25), a Residenz L. It is a somewhat larger room - very spacious with a desk and a small sofa/sitting area. Comfortable beds, spotlessly clean bathroom.
Breakfast was excellent. There were a number of families which made the breakfast area somewhat chaotic. (We asked at the desk: last year, most guests were on business trips, but this year / summer there seem to be a lot of families staying here! I guess it's okay if the kids are able to sleep on cots or the sofa?)
The atmosphere is very relaxed, the entire staff was friendly and helpful (finding public transport options for us despite temporary closure of the subway line U1).
The location in the inner city - not far from Stephansdom - is excellent for sightseeing. We went to exhibits at the Albertina and the Mumok.
We will definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NY_Expat83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

For years we have been frequent visitors to Vienna and we have tried many hotels, but since we discovered the Hollmann some five years ago, this has become "our home away from home" in this beautiful city. The rooms are spacious, beautifully designed and tastefully furnished. The breakfast is to die for and the service is very friendly. The location is central, near the Schwedenplatz, close to the Stephansdom. Quality is found in the detail : CD-player and i-Pod dock, fruit basket, PEZ dispenser (haha), library and laptop/i-Pad facilities in the lounge, wifi throughout the hotel and even a private cinema where you can view "The third man" - the quintessential movie about torn apart post-war Vienna with Orson Welles. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dreamnumber9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We are very well travelled and enjoy great accommodations and great food. Stayed 5 nights early August 2012. Clean, safe, quiet, convenient. Had a large bright room.
Breakfast was amazing, great food and a different variety every day. Our tea arrive every morning within two minutes of sitting down. Breakfast staff was outstanding.
An oasis to return to in the evening. The Hollmann Beletage team were all excellent.
A relaxing place to stay in Vienna.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PWM1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Friendly staff, very good breakfast, nice design, location perfect and great shower. This is a different hotel than others and that makes it great. They have a Sauna, Cinema with old movies, little garden in the middle, Games, Music lounge chair, Books, Newspapers, Computer with printer, WiFi and many more. Homemade snacks and a bottle of white Austrian wine on the first floor in the afternoon and fruit on your room. We loved it and if we are back in Vienna we will book this hotel again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,582 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
#3 of 359 in Vienna
1,922 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#5 of 359 in Vienna
2,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Hotel Das Tyrol
Hotel Das Tyrol
#4 of 359 in Vienna
1,553 reviews
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#12 of 359 in Vienna
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollmann Beletage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollmann Beletage

Address: Koellnerhofgasse 6, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Old University Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#2 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#6 Business Hotel in Vienna
#6 Family Hotel in Vienna
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $198 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hollmann Beletage 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel, design refuge, living room for globetrotters and the pampered jetsetters: the Hollmann Beletage is all this and much more – a Viennese jewel in the truest sense of the word. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hollmann Beletage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollmann Beletage - Design And Boutique
Hollmann Beletage - Design & Boutique Hotel Vienna
Hollmann Beletage Design Boutique Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing