We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Guesthouse Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Guesthouse Vienna
Ranked #2 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Our experience at the Guest house was outstanding, on every level. Alex, Gabby and all the front desk staff were super friendly, efficient, and incredibly helpful. Our room,overlooking the Albertina, was modern, immaculate and very comfortable. Included in the usual room tariff are daily Austrian wines, cold water, juice and coffee from an expresso machine. The breakfast, included in our Shopaholic package was generous and delicious. The coffee was spectacular!!!
We will definitely be returning to the Guesthouse in our future visits to Vienna.We are world travelers and this is the most outstanding hotel we have stayed in, ever! Bravo to the management and staff of the Guesthouse, Vienna.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorette30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Lorette30!

We cannot thank you enough for your wonderful and valuable feedback!
It makes us proud to read that you have enjoyed your time with us at the fullest and that you have been so comfortable with the services provided by our staff! That is what we want to achieve! Our aim is to exceed our guests expectations and we are really happy that our entire team could make this happen to you! We truly hope that you will visit us again in the near future and please feel free to contact me personally if you need any assistance with your reservation!
with sunny regards from Vienna, Gabi & the entire team of The Guesthouse Vienna!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    75
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
98
448
40
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was PERFECT. The lobby staff are friendly. The room is fabulous and amazingly clean. The location is right in the center of vienna. I really hope they can maintain the property condition. Keep up the good work guys :)

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Pomputus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Pomputus!

Well, I think there is nothing else to add, than saying: “Thank you for being our guest”!

We truly hope that you will visit us again in the near future and please feel free to contact me personally if you need any assistance with your reservation!

Kindest regards from Vienna
Gabi Rosner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We spent one night at the Guesthouse Vienna on the way from Salzburg back home, and we were very pleasantly surprised. The location is great, right in the middle of everything and a short walking distance from all the great sights. The rooms are exquisite and modern, but still beautiful and comfortable. Not that I did much TV-watching while in Vienna, but I did notice the brand New Bang-Olufsen TV.
The staff was very friendly and helpful, and contributed to making our stay so delightful.
The difference between this kind of hotel and a big 5 star hotel is that there is no restaurants or bars, and that public space is limited. But when staying in the center of Vienna, you do not need facilities like that in the hotel.
Great value for money, and I can recommend Guesthouse Vienna to everybody spending a night or longer in Vienna.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Torger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Torger D D!

Thank you so much for sharing your detailed feedback on the TripAdvisor page.
We are very happy that you have been so comfortable with the location, reception and service provided by our employees. We are very much looking forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon! Sunny regards from Vienna, Gabi Rosner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

This is a gem of a small hotel in a great location. The staff is enthusiastic and helpful, and the price is surprisingly low for a facility of this quality. Ask for a room on a higher floor to minimize the potential for a bit of noise in a central location.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBeat427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear TheBeat427!

Well, I think there is nothing else to add, than saying: “Thank you for being our guest”!
We truly hope that you will visit us again in the near future and please feel free to contact me personally if you need any assistance with your reservation!
Kindest regards Gabi Rosner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We have chosen this hotel after reviewing the traveler’s comment in Tripadvisor.

Everything about this hotel is positive. The location is absolutely great because it is located in District 1, just across the Albertina Museum, two minutes’ walk to metro station ‘Karlplatz’ and Opera House, surrounded by many restaurants (such as Café Mozart, Café Sacher, Placutha) and shops, five minutes’ walk to St Stephen Cathedral.

The bedroom and bathroom are clean, simple and modern. You can drink free flow wine in your room and other free beverages. There are wine chiller, coffee machine with coffee bean inside it, mini refrigerator in the bedroom. The hotel is very generous on the beverages. The hotel provides free speedy wifi.

The staffs hotel are excellent. They are friendly, helpful, informative, fluent in English which made our first visit to Vienna convenient.

Special thanks to Hosan who patiently responded many questions from us and checked the boat and train schedules for our trip to Bratislava and Salzburg. He also informative on sightseeing of Bratislava and Salzburg so we can organize our trip to both places effectively and properly.

We have no doubt to recommend this hotel to our friends and relatives when they are going to Vienna and we will absolutely stay in this hotel when we return to Vienna.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fei77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Fei77!

Thank you so much for this fantastic comments. It's our pleasure that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to fulfil all your expectations.
I will make sure to personally thank our employeesand especially Hosan for these great efforts in providing you a memorable time in Vienna. We would be delighted to welcome you back whenever your travels bring you to Vienna again.
Kindest regards Gabi Rosner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

A better location could not be found. From proximity to the Old town, the opera, Albertina Museum, metro, street cars, palaces and more.
A "Design Hotels" member this hotel definitely fits into that group. Decorated with simple modernist furniture (danish inspired furnishing). Very simple and nice.
Quiet rooms with very comfortable bedding. The room was a little small, but on the floor plan we seemed to have the smallest on the floor.
The staff were very helpful, friendly and attentive.
Oh and the coffee machine in the room churning our fresh espresso drinks is great. There were several bottles of wine included complimentary with our room, as well as sparkling water and some snacks.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dphender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear dphender!

Thank you so much for having chosen The Guesthouse Vienna for your recent visit in our amazing city and also for taken the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor.com!
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our gorgeous hotel and that you felt
so comfortable with our location, guest rooms and amenities we offer.
We truly hope to welcoming you soon again as guests of our house!
With kindest regards Gabi Rosner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Had an overnight stay at this intimate boutique hotel in the heart of Vienna in July this year. You are greeted so warmly by the staff on reception that you feel like a friend. This is a Sir Terence Conran hotel and the interior is as expected, modern furniture in the classic muted colour scheme. The rooms are comfortable with a large bed, large sofa and coffee table. Each room also has a coffee 'pod' machine and the real treat is the wine fridge! The fridge is stocked with the usual mini bar goodies but with the addition of free wine! there are 2 bottles of white and two bottles of red that you are free to consume gratis. This is rather a nice touch and a welcome treat after a long flight. Each room also has Individually-controlled air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and Bang & Olufsen TV and audio.
Breakfast is available (at extra) from the café/brassiere/bakery on the ground floor. They have freshly baked cakes and breads all day. The breakfast was delicious.

The hotel is located right behind the State Opera and next to the Albertina museum. It is a 2 minute walk to the Hofburg Palace and the Museums quarter. A further 5 minutes in this direction takes you to the famous Austrian Riding school and the Lipizzaner horses. 5 minutes from the hotel in the opposite direction is Stephensplatz and the cathedral and the modern shopping centre where you will find all the big names alongside Viennese favourites. There are plenty of cafes, restaurants and bars to choose from and you definitely wander down the side streets or you'll miss some treats! All in all a fabulous hotel in great location. Would highly recommend. and

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsCWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear MrsCWS!

It makes me proud to read that you enjoyed your time with us at the fullest and I am delighted that you were satisfied with the service you received from our employees.
Indeed our location is among the very best you can have in Vienna and all the major sights are easy accessable by walking.
Thank you so much for your kind words, which have of course been shared by with the entire team!
See you soon again at The Guesthouse Vienna!
With kindest regards Gabi Rosner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#3 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#5 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#6 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guesthouse Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guesthouse Vienna

Property: The Guesthouse Vienna
Address: Fuehrichgasse 10, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Guesthouse Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel in timeless design of Sir Terence Conran und Conran + Partners, situated right in the heart of Viennas historic center, in a top location behind the State Opera House and the famous Albertina Museum. 39 rooms and suites do not communicate the typical hotel atmosphere, rather the feeling of your own private apartment in Vienna, with individual and very personal service. Brasserie & Bakery on the ground floor, which spoils with daily fresh baked bread and sweets, as well as light, healthy dishes 7 days a week from 06.30 am to 11.00 pm. All rooms and suites are equipped with cosy living room area, bath and/or rainforest shower, air condition, a wine fridge, espresso machine and minibar - all drinks except spirits are included in the room rate, safe with power outlet, B+O TV and Audio, high speed W-Lan, cordless phone, bathtub or rainforest shower, towel radiator (also heatable in summer), hair dryer, shaving mirror and large wardrobe. Molton Brown amenities and hand made soap from the soap manufactury Wolfgang Lederhaas. Enjoy a lounge window in the opera view rooms from 2nd to 7th floor! The Guesthouse Vienna – not a hotel in the conventional sense! Welcome to your new home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Guesthouse Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing