We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit all the Marks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Guesthouse Vienna
Ranked #9 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We really were pleased with the Guesthouse. The location is terrific -- a stone's throw from the Albertina, Opera and the Museum Quarter with excellent access to public transportation. The rooms themselves were well thought out with excellent toiletries, comfortable beds, free wifi, complementary wine, water and juice in the fridge, a fantastic coffee machine and a well curated collection of books (I read the room copy of The Third Man). The restaurant breakfast was reasonable and quite good. I must also commend a most superior staff. Everyone was incredibly kind and helpful. A special shoutout to our waiter Jaro who is just amazing. He as a wonderful example of Viennese hospitality whose friendliness and competence made our time at the Guesthouse memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear AnnS!

Thanks so much for taking the time and sharing your experiences with the TripAdvisor community. We are really happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us especially in terms of our service and amenities we offer! Great that you have enjoyed your stay and I will I will make sure to personally thank Jaro for these great efforts in providing you a memorable time in Vienna!
We hope to welcoming you back soon as guests of our house!
sunny regards from Vienna
Gabi Rosner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (984)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

692 - 698 of 984 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

We choose this hotel solely based on Tripadviser feedback and we were certainly not disappointed. The Hotel is located not too far at all from Viennna's main attraction (Stephanplatz) and the very traveller friendly underground train network. The shopping area (no cars permitted) is a stone's throw away and the link to the hop on/off busses are very close. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The bathroom has both a bath and shower (good water pressure). A home away from home. The breakfast, while not included, was great - al la carte, not too expensive at all. The service was great - both in the breakfast area and reception. Loved it and would recommend to all. Privacy could have been an issue but all you have to do is draw the blinds :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray_Perth_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear rvmPerth_Australia!

On behalf of the entire team here at The Guesthouse Vienna I would like to thank you for your very kind review and for choosing our house for your recent stay in Vienna. We are happy that you have enjoyed the great location! Thanks also for mentioning our service as this is the most important to us. It's the personal service we offer that makes the difference to others.
We truly hope to welcoming you back soon! Please don´t hesitate to contact me and I will be more than pleased to take care of your reservations personally!
sunny regards from Vienna
Gabi Rosner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Modern, friendly, really helpful, location right opposite the Albertina. Chic rooms at reasonable price. Only problem was the coffee machine was just too clever for me. And it's true about the free wine!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear NigelP!

Thank you so much for your superb review. We feel more than grateful that you've enjoyed your stay with us at The Guesthouse Vienna!

I truly hope that you will visit us in the future soon again and please feel free to contact me personally if you need any assistance.

with sunny regards from the entire Team of The Guesthouse Vienna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Everything about this place is great.
Location, bakery, rooms, staff, free mini bar !!!!!
Go somewhere else at your peril.
This place is amazing !! It is boutique and has a warmth that the bigger places can't match.
Well done.

Room Tip: Get a room at the top and at the front to see the Opera like you have never seen before !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheFrankster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear TheFrankster!

Thank you so much for taking your time to write such a wonderful review about The Guesthouse!
To be a home away frome home - that is exactely what we want to be for our guests - you definitely brought it to the point! Looking forward to exceed your experiences at your next stay! :)
Sunny regards from Vienna! Your Guesthouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Great location.Excellent accomodation.Had a room on the 6th floor overlooking the front with views.No noise from outside traffic.Great facilities in the room including free wine each day ( 2 reds and 2 whites) which was more than could be consumed.Breakfast each morning in the Brasserie was convenient as it was not included in the accomodation rate. Eight Euros for a simple meal of Crossiants,fresh breads and coffee/tea was reasonable.Would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: The higher floors ( 5or6 ) overlooking the front are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BTL301233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear BTL301233!

On behalf of the entire team here at The Guesthouse Vienna I would like to thank you for your very kind review and for choosing our house for your recent stay in Vienna. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the fullest! We hope to welcoming you again soon as our guests!
Sunny regards from the entire team of The Guesthouse Vienna!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

No better location for the tourist in Vienna, across from a taxi stand, spitting distance from an official tourist information office. The rooms are furnished with wine racks, minibars and very fancy coffee makers: the wine, beer and soft drinks are included in the room rate. For us, the most welcoming aspect was the floor to ceiling bookcase in the reception area. There was also a collection of paperbacks in the room, including one in English. Staff was friendly and eager to help.

The room was lovely, nicely furnished. Our only complaint was the inadequate provision for garbage: there was one minuscule can in the bathroom.
.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sid1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Sid1969!

We higly appreciate your wonderful feedback on our hotel - thank you so much for sharing your experiences! It is really nice to hear that we have met all your expectations in terms of design, location and service! Thanks for the hint regarding the paper bin; they have been ordered already!
Hopefully your travels will bring you back to Vienna and The Guesthouse soon!
Kindest regards from the entire team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The hotel is small but perfectly formed. Everything is in place to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable. The room is furnished with a modern flair and the bathroom is wonderful. The shower is a particular delight, along with the Molton Brown toiletries. The reception staff are friendly and efficient, going out of their way to deal with any requests.

Finally here is a hotel where I can sleep in comfort and awaken refreshed and ready for another day of sightseeing. This is an increasingly difficult thing to find in the world today, many try and many fail but The Guesthouse gets it right.

You must stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d20Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear D20Sam!

We really appreciate that you have taken your time to write such a wonderful review about
our Guesthouse Vienna! Thank you so much!
We are very pleased to hear that we have made your holidays special and we are especially delighted that you were satisfied with the service you received from our employees. This is most important to us to provide the best service for our guests!
We hope that you will return to Vienna and The Guesthouse again soon!
Sunny regards! The team from The Guesthouse Vienna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 358 in Vienna
1,555 reviews
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#5 of 358 in Vienna
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Palais Hansen Kempinski
#10 of 358 in Vienna
1,231 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
#2 of 358 in Vienna
1,896 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#3 of 358 in Vienna
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guesthouse Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guesthouse Vienna

Address: Fuehrichgasse 10, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: $251 - $615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Guesthouse Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel in timeless design of Sir Terence Conran und Conran + Partners, situated right in the heart of Viennas historic center, in a top location behind the State Opera House and the famous Albertina Museum. 39 rooms and suites do not communicate the typical hotel atmosphere, rather the feeling of your own private apartment in Vienna, with individual and very personal service. Brasserie & Bakery on the ground floor, which spoils with daily fresh baked bread and sweets, as well as light, healthy dishes 7 days a week from 06.30 am to 11.00 pm. All rooms and suites are equipped with cosy living room area, bath and/or rainforest shower, air condition, a wine fridge, espresso machine and minibar - all drinks except spirits are included in the room rate, safe with power outlet, B+O TV and Audio, high speed W-Lan, cordless phone, bathtub or rainforest shower, towel radiator (also heatable in summer), hair dryer, shaving mirror and large wardrobe. Molton Brown amenities and hand made soap from the soap manufactury Wolfgang Lederhaas. Enjoy a lounge window in the opera view rooms from 2nd to 7th floor! The Guesthouse Vienna – not a hotel in the conventional sense! Welcome to your new home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your The Guesthouse Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing