We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best price in town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #36 of 205 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Budapest, Hungary
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best price in town”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

It is a hostel actually however there the single and dibble rooms available. The room I stayed in was much better than in expected. It is clean and modern. The price is unbeatable. Area is uncool, construction all around. Staff is friendly.
Public transport very close.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter-Pal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    190
    113
    43
    50
See reviews for
104
94
86
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Location 9/10 : 2 min walking from Vienna main train station and subways. The place is not "exactly" on the street it's supposed to be
Price 7/10 : Normal for the quality of the place
Clean 10/10 : I found the the bedroom very clean (bathroom)
Quiet 9/10 : living room is noisy (normal), the bedroom is quiet
Living room 9/10 : There is a bar and you can buy some medium quality pizza if you're starving
Personel 8/10 : I won't give more than 8. Open all night
Beautiful 6/10 : It's a basic place
Internet 6/10 : No internet in the rooms, only in the hall

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2014

The staff were very impersonal, first when i arrived the counter staff couldn't be bothered to welcome me. No hi, how was your day. "do you have a booking?". well yes if not i wouldn’t turn up at your hostel!

they proceeded to charge me for bed sheets and towels totalling 6 euros, bed sheets ? really because a backpacker would normally bring this or her own sheets.

They stuck me in a room with 5 other guys, that have been i presume been leaving there for an extended period with large suit cases and food all over the place. After I made my bed (with the sheets I rented) I left, and to my horror when I came back one of the back packers took my beds. I told the counter staff and they told me they make 2 beds each room and shrugged me off( this makes no sense). NO ASSIGNED BEDS- problem.
I also later found out this happened to another traveller but the difference was that he was sleeping in another room with 4 beds free in a 6 man bunk. COULDN’T YOU HAVE PUT ME THERE INSTEAD?

Twice I asked for places to visit from the counter staff for recommendations, ANSWER: look at the man, they have numbers and locations. – proceeded to point at the map on the counter.
The second time I asked how to go to the train station, he was on the picked up the phone holding a cigarette in his had getting ready to go for a smoke break and without saying a work drew on my map. The man on the streets would have done a better job then you !

Room Tip: dont go there, period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ray l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We had some adventure before arriving at the hotel as we got out at the wrong exit from main central station. Because there was a lot of construction work at the main central station and it was quite confusing.
It is located behind the main central station with some other hotels in the area. We can see train come and go from our room. :D
We checked in at about 7pm and there was some kind of misunderstanding with the person who check in before us so we had to wait for quite a long time.
If I'm not mistaken our room was on 5th/6th floor. It has separate bathroom and toilet. with 1 bunkbed and 2 beds. Wide window and big space at the table :D
We dont really hear the construction works even though we had our window open quite a bit.
Since this is a hotel the bed sheets were already done and towels were also provided.
The location is superb. Easy transportation with all the buses, metros and trams.
tipp: If the construction is still there, it can be quite confusing. I hope no one have to walk around to find the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kinan1098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spilimbergo, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in the "Hotel" part...

Pros: Spacious shower and bath, close to the main train station, recently built, plenty of room to walk around in, modern look, small snacks and drinks, cheap for the location.

Cons: looks can be deceiving. First off there is no way to call reception because there are no phones in the room. Why? Read further... The full sized beds are like most European hotels- two twins pushed together. -No big deal if you're accustomed to it until you actually lay down. The worn out mattresses' seem to be made of some similar type of foam that breakables and electronics are shipped and packed in. Just add the springs. Pick your poison-- Do you prefer a spring cutting into your rib cage or up your tail bone? Or you can have it both ways and more by tossing and turning all night in agony.
Be forewarned: Don't bother flipping the mattress because the emitting odor of urine or something far more worse from below will make you sick to your stomach and you will consider the thought of sleeping in that spacious shower you just admired earlier.

Noise Control: By far this was the worst part. Think prison loud. I surmise the walls are probably made of plywood and cardboard just glued together or something of the ilk as there is no soundproofing at all which is quite strange for a new build. We heard EVERYONE and EVERYTHING they said and did. There were couples fighting and then "making up" for hours. Every cough, sneeze, burp or fart will echo down the hallway into your room like a concert hall.
There were young girls down the hallway on the opposite side giggling every 5 seconds and singing along to loud, crappy disco music as they stomped around entertaining boys from the hostel, no doubt. Thankfully the staff shut them up and kicked the boys out of the room after visiting and warning them not once but twice. Yet the girls still continued to giggle most of the night, undaunted.
It's like the rooms are amplified and travel straight to your ceiling for your entertainment (horror) with no mute button.
You hear every bowel movement, the near constant Clydesdale like footsteps of people with boots tramping up and down the hallway or circling the wood floors of their rooms, heavy doors slamming... you name it you'll hear it.
You may not know their faces but you get to know the people around you very intimately and refer to them as the noise they make the most.

Also, there were large flood lights outside our window from another building bleeding into our curtains so it always felt like daylight.

Is this hell? Close enough for me to never come back. If you can live through your stay without feeling heavily drugged from exhaustion and delirium then you must be in a coma and not reading this warning because this place is just torturous.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mindwash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are nice, beds are comfortable, bathroom clean etc.

Location is very convenient to the train station. Staff are helpful and efficient, though I wouldn't say 'friendly' as such.

Whilst the price seems okay, its not really good value compared to many Hostels in europe.
A dorm room here is around 20 euro per night, but breakfast is 6 euro extra, linen is extra, the (free) wifi is only in the bar and unbelievably slow at all times (whilst the paid one reaches all rooms and is no doubt fast - another way to extract a few extra dollars from guests).

Ultimately, its nice. But I definitely wouldn't say it was good value, even less so if you want internet and sheets....

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
AZIMUT Hotel Vienna
#184 of 360 in Vienna
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
Austria Trend Hotel Schloss Wilhelminenberg Wien
Hostel Ruthensteiner
#1 of 205 in Vienna
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof

Property: A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof
Address: Sonnwendgasse 11, Vienna 1100, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 205 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof 2*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof offers modern rooms in various categories. As newly built house guests can enjoy the familiar A&O standard guests of the hotel part with single, double and family rooms. The hostel part offers shared rooms from 4 to 6 beds. We also provide all visitors with a rich All-you-can-eat-breakfast! The A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof is located just 100 meters from the new central station where parts of the operation run since the summer of 2012 and will be fully operational in 2015. With this perfect connection the historic city centre with its numerous sights can be reached by foot in just a few minutes. The central location of the hostel and hotel is ideal for those arriving by car or train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing