We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #48 of 222 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

The Hotel/Hostel is directly opposite Wien Hauptbahnhof train station which would be ideal if you are training in or out from there. The underground stop Sudtirolerplatz is just past the train station - maybe 4mins walk to the hotel. We found it easily walkable with large suitcases :-)
It is 2 stops a change and then a further 2-3 stops to the main attractions or city centre. 2.10euro for a single pass. If you can familiarize yourself quickly with the U-Bahn you will be fine and totally happy with the location of the hotel.
We stayed on the 3rd floor in the 'hostel' part it was around 118euro for 3 nights. The room was large, clean, big shower - good water pressure.
Hand soap and body wash dispensers in bathroom. A little hot with the 2 of us but not un-bareable.
Cheap eats close by, just walk straight out the door - continue straight across the road and go either right or left to a wee shopping street with cafes, noodles, pizza etc. felt safe and totally comfortable at night too.
If you don't mind using the easy public transport I would recommend saving money and staying here - there's so much to see and do, you will appreciate the extra $$ with just a little bit of effort.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FeKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 509 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

Everything is new and clean in comparison with other hostels. For such a big hotel and hostel, I would expect that wifi is free all over the area, but no, there is one wifi pay and price is really high. I have to say that our staying in hostel was great time, everything clean but we heard strange voices and screening in the hall during nights. Maybe somebody was drunk :-D

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatkaVerbenikova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Opposite the train station, a very modern hostel, part of ongoing development at the station. Lovely room with en suite and padlock lockers. Bed linen is not included in the cost and must be rented for €3. Unfortunately building work starts at 7am and is very loud in the hostel, we were not notified of the early start. The hostel allowed us to leave our baggage for the day to sight see for the day.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The hotel, or hostel, is situated next to the central station, but not right in the centre of Vienna. It takes about 15 min on the U-bahn and you have to change trains once. There is an ok shopping street nearby if you are in that mood.

The hostel is clean and tidy. The service is excellent. You have to pay extra for everything, but it is allright since the prices are really low and you can choose what services you want. The hostel has parking right outside, but it can be a little hard to find the hostel if you are arriving by car. My GPS had to do several tries to find it. It is really on the opposite side of the building of the street adress.

The hostel is low budget, so there are numerous groups of school children and back-packers. But it is also a great mix of people from all walks of life who like the A&O concept of low price, really fresh rooms and central position.

Family rooms are spacious. There was no problem fitting 2 adults, 2 teens and a dog. WC, shower were clean and new. Breakfast is nothing to get excited about. I suggest you take breakfast in one of Viennas lovely cafés instead.

At A&O Vienna you get a lot for your money. I would definitely recommend it to friends.

BTW, if you are looking for genuine austrian food, I would recommend Columbus Bräu which is an excellent restaurant, though it´s actually a beer hall. Good food, friendy service, moderate prices and just 300 m from the hostel on keplergasse.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krister B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Very Nice, Lively hotel , Very clean , Value for money , Only disappointment was on going construction noise outside the room window Friendly Staff and easy approach , good location,
A& O is wonderful concept I think the chain will soon become leading chain ,There is something for all age groups in this hotel , Didn't try breakfast , but have had breakfast before at A & O it is always good

Room Tip: Try avoid the room facing construction site
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amitthapar1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The first time I check in the receptionist asked me I have to pay for the linen sheets and pillow cover. I was shocked as I have never been asked to pay for such things. The worst when I was in desperately looking for internet access, I was requested to pay 3 euros for 1 hour. I felt this is a rip-off given the fact that at the time when internet connection is almost free wherever you go, to be charged such amount is ridiculous.

Additionally, it was full of children making noise in the lounge running and shouting. Should the staff weren't friendly and polite I was thinking to walk off. Additionally, the rooms are clean and well kept where you are provided with almost everything you need.

Location-wise, it is not that far from sight seeing except it is quite a walking distance from the station.

If you are solo travel and wants to meet people, this is not a place to be. You will find it dull and boring with no activities what so ever to bind people-meeting up and get to know each other as the hostel is such a massive building.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms close to the gates and ground floor as the kids make lots of noise otherwise, the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ghirmay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
AZIMUT Hotel Vienna
#140 of 359 in Vienna
95 reviews
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#165 of 359 in Vienna
1,718 reviews
A&T Holiday Hostel
#45 of 222 in Vienna
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Do Step Inn
#23 of 222 in Vienna
561 reviews
Hostel Ruthensteiner
#1 of 222 in Vienna
971 reviews
Ottakring
A&O Wien Stadthalle
A&O Wien Stadthalle
#93 of 222 in Vienna
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof

Address: Sonnwendgasse 11, Vienna 1100, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 222 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Price Range: $32 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof 2*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof offers modern rooms in various categories. As newly built house guests can enjoy the familiar A&O standard guests of the hotel part with single, double and family rooms. The hostel part offers shared rooms from 4 to 6 beds. We also provide all visitors with a rich All-you-can-eat-breakfast! The A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof is located just 100 meters from the new central station where parts of the operation run since the summer of 2012 and will be fully operational in 2015. With this perfect connection the historic city centre with its numerous sights can be reached by foot in just a few minutes. The central location of the hostel and hotel is ideal for those arriving by car or train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing