We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, no frills, modern styling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Star Inn Hotel Wien Schonbrunn, by Comfort
Ranked #50 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Recently stayed at the Star Inn Hotel Wien Schonbrunn for 4 nights and was really satisfied with our stay. The hotel was everything we'd expected. It's located right beside the subway station in a working class neighbourhood with close proximity (20 minutes walk or 2 subway stops) to Schloss Schonbrunn and just 5 or 6 stops from city centre. The room was stylish and modern. The bed was firm yet comfy. Our bathroom was shower only, but was super stylish. And we had a really cute little rooftop terrace that we didn't get to enjoy unfortunately, due to foul weather. The only thing we felt the room lacked was a fridge. The lobby bar served reasonably priced drinks. We didn't try the breakfast, because we were on the go early each day and there's a pastry shop right at the subway entrance. We'd be pleased to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter L, Manager at Star Inn Hotel Wien Schonbrunn, by Comfort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing our hotel.
We are happy that you were very satisfied with our location and room and that you had a good holiday in Vienna. The good news, in the near future, all rooms are equipped with a refrigerator.
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon in our Hotel.

Sincerely
your Star Inn Hotel Wien Schönbrunn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

448 - 454 of 1,258 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hotel is right across the street from a u-bahn station. For about 7 Euro you can get a one day pass to go anywhere you want in Vienna using u-bahn. Breakfast will cost you 14 euros (kids 12 and under eat free), parking structure underneath the hotel is 12 euros per 24 hours but parking on the street in Vienna in free on Saturday and Sunday. There's a grocery store right next door to the hotel and an Austrian restaurant across the street too.The staff is young, friendly and helpful (especially Fr Pszczolkowska) They helped with all our questions and resolved small issue we had in no time.

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher of their 7 floors have a view on Vienna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackieSnack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Room was clean and tidy bathroom very small but for our needs it was ok.
Breakfast was 12 Euro but worth it . Position of hotel is great for getting to and from the center of Vienna , four stops on the tube.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddy69Wirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

A modern hotel only 6 km from the Museum area of Vienna. We found free parking on the street behind the hotel and were able to park for free in the city center of Vienna on a Sunday. The U-Bahn station is located right across the street from the hotel which would be convenient if you did not want to drive into the city. Schonbrunn Palace was not far in the other direction. The staff was helpful, friendly, and provided a map of the city. Our room was clean, modern, and spacious with a great shower in the bathroom. Windows faced a busy street, but it was not noisy. We chose not to purchase the breakfast at 12 Euros per person. I highly recommend the Star Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyfuljourneys26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter L, Manager at Star Inn Hotel Wien Schonbrunn, by Comfort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear valued guest,

thank you very much for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us.

It is very encouraging to read that we where able to provide a perfect stay for you and especially that you found our team very friendly.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Star Inn Hotel Wien Schönbrunn.

With kind regards
your Star Inn Hotel Wien Schönbrunn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The place was good. Looked brand new which I think it was. Good location was right next to a supermarket, right opposite a S-Bahn station which took us into the station. Staff were helpful, rooms were clean and decent sized. Very happy with this place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ncrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter L, Manager at Star Inn Hotel Wien Schonbrunn, by Comfort, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to describe your impressions regarding your stay at Star Inn Hotel Wien Schönbrunn. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
your Star Inn Wien Schönbrunn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This new looking hotel is located accross the road from a train staion and is about 5 stops to the main part of the city. Located on a busy road, the windows cancel out any street noise. The room was very well maintained and spacious. The staff very friendly with a high level of English. The breakfast was pricey at EUR12 but there is a convinience store (Spar) next door.
I would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: The room I had faced the road and was very quiet & comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter L, Manager at Star Inn Hotel Wien Schonbrunn, by Comfort, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear David,

thank you very much for taking the time to describe your impressions regarding your stay at Star Inn Hotel Wien Schönbrunn. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
your Star Inn Wien Schönbrunn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Very new hotel (Opened in March 2013), with a good location just outside the main tourist area of Vienna, but with a U-bahn station right across the street. It's only 4 or 5 stops (about 5 minutes) to the historic area.
I communicated with this hotel via email prior to booking to make sure they were pet friendly, especially since I was bringing my three, fairly large dogs. Emails were replied to promptly each time. There was no pet fee, and they were perfectly fine with me bringing the three dogs. For my own sanity, I booked a family size room, which was very nice, very large floorspace, even to U.S. standards, let alone typical European rooms. Everything is new and clean, with a large flat panel TV. It's an economy hotel, so as expected, there is no fridge, coffee maker, or ironing board/iron in the room.
Around the U-bahn stop across the street there is plenty of grass to take the dogs out, with plenty of trash bins (posted signs say there is a 36 euro fine for not picking up after your dog).
The wifi is free, but since we had a family room (room 256), we were at the end of the hall and the wifi signal was not available throughout the room. I basically had to sit near the door to get a constant signal (when using an iPhone or iPad; not sure if an actual laptop would pick up the signal better).
The room has central A/C control, but since I was in a family size room, the A/C does not pump hard enough to really get the air flowing. At night, while the temperature was fine, it still felt stuffy, especially considering the position of the beds. The A/C basically pumped toward the center of the room, and the beds are tucked away in a sort of alcove behind the vents. I asked the front desk for a fan, but was told they did not have any to lend (because each room has A/C was the reasoning). Note to management: the A/C in the family rooms are not strong enough; recommend placing fans in those rooms.
Overall, we were very happy at this hotel, primarly because of how pet friendly they are in not charging any extra fees. But also, because it is newer and clean and the room was plenty large enough and everyone was friendly.
Cons: Wifi on the end rooms could be better, and the A/C in the family rooms are barely enough to keep it cool.

I would stay here again if I went back to Vienna, without hesitation (I would just need to remember to bring a portable fan).

Room Tip: If you get a family room on the far end, bring a fan to help out the A/C, but be warned the Wifi sig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PyrateDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter L, Manager at Star Inn Hotel Wien Schonbrunn, by Comfort, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Fred,

thank you very much for taking the time to describe your impressions regarding your stay at Star Inn Hotel Wien Schönbrunn. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are in work to install more wireless access points for a better signal.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
your Star Inn Wien Schönbrunn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Lucia
#46 of 359 in Vienna
663 reviews
Dobling
Ibis Styles Wien City
Ibis Styles Wien City
#55 of 359 in Vienna
1,021 reviews
Renaissance Wien Hotel
#72 of 359 in Vienna
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Mariahilf
Hotel ibis Wien Mariahilf
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Inn Hotel Wien Schonbrunn, by Comfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Inn Hotel Wien Schonbrunn, by Comfort

Address: Linke Wienzeile 224 | 1150 Wien, Vienna 1150, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: $75 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Star Inn Hotel Wien Schonbrunn, by Comfort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to welcome you in our new Star Inn Hotel Wien Schonbrunn, by Comfort. The Star Inn Hotel Wien Schonbrunn, by Comfort is conveniently situated near the west gateway of Vienna. The underground lines U4 and U6 can be accessed in the direct vicinity of the hotel. It will only take you 7 minutes to travel to Vienna's city centre and just 5 minutes to get to the world-renowned "Schloss Schonbrunn". Vienna's most famous shopping mile, the "Mariahilfer Strasse", and the "Westbahnhof" can as well be accessed in just 5 minute's time via the underground. 204 Charged parking garage spaces are located underneath the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Star Inn Hotel Wien Schonbrunn, by Comfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing