We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh Wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
Ranked #10 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Oh Wow!”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

We absolutely loved this place. It's not only beautiful but also warm, friendly and inviting. The service is wonderful - everyone was very helpful and accommodating and it's obvious that staff are happy and engaged.

The room we had was very comfortable - great bed and bathroom, plus it was perfectly clean. It has the best breakfast I have ever seen and we couldn't have asked for more.

I rarely give 5 * to anything but this place definitely deserves it.

We'll be back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GreekAussieChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    142
    28
    11
    7
See reviews for
217
534
36
174
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I had an amazing weekend at the Kempinski, I have been staying at Vienna's top 5 star hotels and this one has won the jackpot. Location, food , facilities , all at the highest level.
We have been upgraded to two junior suites which were amazing.
Service & staff are just PERFECT! , a big thank you for the restaurant staff ( with one of the best breakfast in Vienna ) , concierge and the reception, young staff , great vibe.
That's exactly how a 6 stars hotel should look like.
We'll come back for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donskoy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Luxury hotel in Vienna , Room was modern with nice view and comfortable bed ..
Underground station is 500m out side the hotel entrance.
Breakfast was tasty and lovely
The best start for our trip in Austria..
We were in our honeymoon trip , nice welcoming from the reception team

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank alrayyan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MInnesota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Beautiful room, wonderful service, every amenity is provided. Hotel is well located and staff very helpful. We enjoyed our stay thoroughly. Easy subway access to schonbrunn and easy walk to main sites downtown.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

The check in process is quite professional and fast. Lobby is beautiful and the sitting area is spacious.

The rooms are perfectly designed with lots of space to spread out.

The service by the staff is professional, warm and responsive.

Quite possibly the best breakfast one can find in Europe!

Located close to metro stops, shopping and business districts.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Payam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The rooms and hotel are clean and beautifully decorated. The staff was warm and attentive and they offered us they opton of a later check-out as we had a late evening train trip. While the hotel is outside the city center, there is a Tram and a Metro stop right nearby and the walk to the main square is pleasant. I only have two concerns to offer. Our rainshower nozzle was angled (and not adjustable) so that when we tried to use it, water went all over the bathroom floor, which meant that we ended up only being able to use the regular shower spout. Our room was very hot and we could not get the thermostat to change, we called for service and thought they had rectified the problem but we still could not get cool air to come on/heat to stop and had to open the windows and sleep without blankets to be comfortable. Kempinski is a fabulous hotel brand and I would not hesitate to stay at any of their locations worldwide.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoraK22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus L, General Manager at Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to inform us about your recent stay at the Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna.

With great pleasure we have read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you have become a loyal ambassador to the Kempinski brand.

We have taken note of your comments regarding the shower as well as temperature in the room and have taken the necessary corrective action in order to prevent these problems from reoccuring.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna.

With kind regards,
Markus Lueck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nocera Umbra, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The Palais Hansen is in a good position for getting around Vienna and it lived up to the Kempinski promises in every way. We were given such a warm welcome and looked after so well the whole of our time there. The staff are superb, the rooms comfortable, generously sized and offering every amenity. The restaurants are excellent and the bars and lounges very inviting. The atmosphere is so relaxing that we left very, very reluctantly. Everyone should have a Kempinski experience once in their lives!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 360 in Vienna
1,414 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#7 of 360 in Vienna
1,663 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#3 of 360 in Vienna
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#8 of 360 in Vienna
1,041 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#5 of 360 in Vienna
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna

Property: Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
Address: Schottenring 24, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna - originally built as a hotel for the World Exhibition in Vienna in 1873 - captivates the visitor with a historic building, modern architecture and contemporary luxury. It is a glamorous hot spot with 152 rooms & suites, 2 restaurants, 1 bar, a large spa and fitness area as well as conference rooms and one ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing