We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect city hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
Ranked #10 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The perfect city hotel”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

You cannot ask for a better experience in Vienna. It has all the luxuries you would expect from any Kempinski but because it is smaller, it feels a lot more personal. The service is absolutely impeccable. It is equally suited for a family stay as it is for a quick business trip. Probably the best place in Vienna right now

Room Tip: The corner rooms are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    921
    140
    27
    11
    8
See reviews for
206
523
36
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Our first trip to Vienna and this relatively new hotel helped to ensure we will return soon.
Well located- I have seen some reviews which indicate it is a little far out, but we were able to reach the centre within 15 minutes gentle meandering. Taxi into centre is also inexpensive - 8-12 euro depending on destination, and buses and trams are also available.
Hotel junior suite was lovely, if a little quirky with an ipad to control lights, tv etc, but we simply ignored it and managed well enough with traditional switches and remote controllers...
Breakfast was very good - plenty choice and though the service did creak a little at very busy times, all staff were pleasant, and willing to help at all times.
Concierge and front desk also helped and the lobby staff were especially efficient and very pleasant when drinks/coffees were ordered.
As a young hotel, there are signs of not having fully developed its own style and character, but we would certainly use the Kempinski again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggiesboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

First visit to Vienna for a special birthday was made extra special by this fabulous hotel. Beautifully appointed room with excellent amenities....really comfortable bed and fabulous bathroom! All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. Concierge arranged concert tickets at short notice and asked if we had enjoyed it when checking out at the end of our trip. Spa is fairly small but has everything you need to relax at the end of a busy day sight seeing. Good location close to underground and tram and a lovely walk along the Ringstrasse into the city centre. A lovely place to stay in this beautiful city.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clairey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This hotel was the perfect base for our two days in Vienna and made our experience of this stunning city all the more memorable. It's within easy walking distance of many of the museums and palaces and the concierge team were more than happy to take us through the map, pointing out the main attractions and even helping us create an itinerary to make the most of our time there. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the property itself was lovely - a chic, boutique-style hotel housed in a stately, historic building with state-of-the-art fittings (the bathroom was entirely operated by buttons - right down to the temperature of the bath water). Another highlight was the fantastic breakfast buffet, where guests can supplement the meal with a glass of champagne or two (at no extra charge) - the perfect way to start the day and arm yourself against the chilly winter weather in Vienna!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cuthog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My Wife and I stayed here in early November. I would give it 5 stars, but we had recently stayed at Kempinski Adlon in Berlin, which set the bar pretty high.

Location is fantastic, rooms were fabulous. We did not have any meals there so can't really comment on food. The one night we wanted to have drinks at the bar they were hosting a private party so it was closed to guests. Lobby is beautiful, but not what I would call cozy.

The staff was wonderful in helping us with restaurant reservations in Vienna

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeGaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Palais Hansen promises a 5* experience rivaling any Ritz Carlton and Four Seasons. Alas, what stands between you and that promise.... is the hotel's front desk, concierge, driver and spa staff.

The hotel, which opened only a year ago with modern, well designed, high-tech rooms in a central part of Vienna, should have had no problems offering a true 5* experience.

However, probably due to the depressed market, guests are not charging through the doors as the hotel had hoped, and the general manager has apparently thought it a good idea to cut costs by resorting to widespread use of untrained staff -- as if that would go unnoticed by its core clientele. As more and more high-level guests opt for other 5* hotels, this has apparently led the hotel to cut rates to tempt guests outside the core customer group. And so the hotel har started to drift further and further away from its primary customer group.

Here are a few select examples of what you can expect if you are in for a hassle-bound weekend:

-- We ordered the hotel's car service to pick us up at the airport, only to discover a dirty car, with a broken car window, and a clearly untrained driver, using the accellerator and brake as a disco floor. When we arrived a the hotel, he placed our luggage on the sidewalk and then waited for us to carry it inside (the hotel did not have a bellboy ready, even though the driver had called in advance to let the hotel know we were arriving).

--Inside, we found the concierge and bellboy leisurely talking while we came slugging with our luggage in front of them, as without a care in the world. Only when we stopped and placed our luggage down to check in, did the bellboy come over and ask if he could help. At that time, the driver (!) had already joined the concierge in their leisurely chat. What a nice first impression of how guests are treated at Palais Hansen!

-- Our attempt to make a complaint to the front desk manager (let’s call her “Jennifer”) over the car service was abruptly dismissed ("we've NEVER had any complaints before"; "ALL our guests have been SOOOO pleased with our car service in the past"). In other words, you must be an IDIOT, to make a complaint. Naturally, we responded by cancelling the car service we had booked for our return to the airport.

-- Obviously annoyed at our complaint, the front desk manager then sent us packing for a room on the 1st floor with a view towards a dumpster container. However, the assistant that showed us to the room made it clear that the hotel had almost no guests that weekend, and advised us to look at some other rooms that were bigger and with a more pleasant view on the 3d floor, which is where we ended up (although it took about five minutes on the phone with the front-desk manager to get a green light).

-- A trip to the spa for a EUR 160 massage revealed a clearly untrained masseur and a complete waste of time and money.

-- An attempt to ask the concierge (let’s call him “Martin”) for a nice place to have dinner was cut short with aggressiveness: "AS I TOLD YOU YESTERDAY..." When we pointed out that we had not discussed anything with him before, he found it correct to insist that we had (!) Result: we had to leave and find a place to have dinner without the help of the concierge, who felt it of primary importance to be right and have guests admit that they were wrong, before any advice could be given (!)

So, while the hotel leaves you in the hands of untrained straff which dismisses all your customer complaints with the finest lip service in Vienna, punctuated only by hostile room allocations to make your stay as miserable as possible, and as you try to avoid having the concierge go ballistic as he insists on being right and you being wrong before giving you any service, you start to wonder -- perhaps we should have chosen another 5* hotel in Vienna for a little less hassle than this.

Our last leisure trip was to the RC in Hong Kong, and never has the distance from Asia to Austria felt longer than this weekend, with the Palais Hansen "family". .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank JEM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus L, General Manager at Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your comments about your recent stay at Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna.

I am terribly sorry to read about your negative experience. Kindly accept my apology for the inappropriate service and behaviour that you unfortunately encountered.

As I cannot explain and excuse any of the mentioned points, I would kindly ask you to contact me directly on markus.lueck@kempinski.com so that I can apologise in person and try to make up for the negative service experience.

Hoping to hear from you soon.

Best regards,
Markus Lueck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This newly opened kempenski is gorgeous with a boutique like feel. First the staff are truly helpful and have a great humour. The reception the lobby has a lovely feel and you can sink into the sofas just to chill out or try their superb cakes. Our room on the first floor was ok. My main objection is that the window overlooked an inner courtyard so there was no natural light as such. Next time I would request a room overlooking the ringstrasse. The room and the sumptuous bathroom were lovely though the tV was fiddly to navigate but great sound system. Breakfast in the dining room was a truly magical experience with a wonderful buffet from eggs to order all sorts of freshly squeezed juices including green apple which was yummy. This is breakfast for the hungry with champagne to die for jams and cakes and the while atmosphere is very intimate despite the wow high ceilings and decor. It had a very intimate feel. My only gripe is that the bar was not replenished automatically daily. I don't know whether that was an over site or just the system. SService was brilliant from reception concierge housekeeping.

Room Tip: I prefer natural light so ask for a room overlooking the ringstrasse although our room was very brig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monasheaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus L, General Manager at Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna.

Your comments have been motivating and rewarding but show us where we need to concentrate on in order to eliminate unnecessary service deficiencies.

We have taken note of your comments with regards to the minibar replenishment and would like to apologize as it is our aim to always exceed our guests' expectations. We will address these deficiencies and take corrective actions accordingly.

Once again, thank you for being our guest and we look forward to welcoming you once again at Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna.

With kind regards,
Markus Lueck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#3 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#6 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#14 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna

Property: Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
Address: Schottenring 24, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna - originally built as a hotel for the World Exhibition in Vienna in 1873 - captivates the visitor with a historic building, modern architecture and contemporary luxury. It is a glamorous hot spot with 152 rooms & suites, 2 restaurants, 1 bar, a large spa and fitness area as well as conference rooms and one ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing