We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, good service, nice outdoor space”
Review of Mini

Mini
Ranked #13 of 4,161 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $22
Cuisines: International, European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Mariahilf
Description: The Mini is a perfect combination from Bistro, Restaurant, Wine Bar, Cocktail Bar, and Smooth Jazz Lounge. The friendly and elegant atmosphere you will be received by Hungarian hospitality and a touch of casual elegance, so whether you want to enjoy the internationally inspired Hungarian cuisine, the fine large wine selection or the perfect cocktail.Sandor Novak's vision is to enable use with a professional to enjoy all the senses, and so every night to provide a unique and excellent experience for every guest.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious food, good service, nice outdoor space”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We arrived early to Mini for dinner - we didn't have a reservation and were going to see if they could squeeze us in for the evening and luckily they were able to. (They started turning away folks after about an hour or so - at this point the garden area where we were sitting was completely full).

I had the Rosito to drink and that was pretty tasty - mojito-like and very refreshing. We were offered some bread and duck pate after we placed our food ordered which was really good. I ordered the chicken paprikash which was delicious. My boyfriend ordered the red curry crusted salmon - salmon was cooked very well, curry tasted bold and wonderful. Our waiter was very nice and attentive.

We almost went back again before we left Vienna for more yummy chicken paprikash, but were unable to. As this place fills up pretty quickly, I recommend getting a reservation or arriving early.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lm2329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,036
    292
    83
    33
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great little Vienna gem!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We visited this restaurant on a sunday evening and it was still very busy (albeit that it is a smallish place). We were greeted very graciously at the bar and, although we did not book, they were able to give us a lovely table for two out in their small courtyard area - this was great because it was a warm summers night but also indoors was a little warm.

We waited a little longer than advised to actually be seated but this turned out to be the only 'bad' thing all evening. The barman made us two very nice 'homemade' cocktails (the fresh watermelon one was lovely) whilst we waited. We then proceeded to enjoy one of the nicest overall dining experiences we've ever had. From the service, to the cosy atmosphere, to the food, everything was done perfectly in our view.

For starters we shared calamari and prosciutto salad and spicy beef strips with argula and corn/avocado salad (see photos). For mains we had pork tenderloin with langos and roasted duck breast and mushroom risotto. For dessert we had chilli chocolate souffle and a special that was a Floating Island (see photo, half eaten sorry!). We shared a bottle of pinot noir with the meal also, that was very quaffable!

Now when we say this is one of the nicest meals we have ever tasted, we acknowledge this is not fine michelin star dining but for a good restaurant (50euros per head), we thought the food was all cooked excellently - and we are minor foodies! The starters were light but tasty, the mains again cooked perfectly and very tasty. The desserts excellent and it was my first time to taste a 'floating island' pudding.

The service was friendly and helpful at all times. We were moved indoors at 10:30pm because they have to close this area but we were happy to move and were not rushed in any way. There was a mix of foreign and austrian guests and whilst we cannot comment on any other restaurants of a similar ilk, Mini is definitely worth a a visit if you visit Vienna!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joeycastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city, new york
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“good reason to be number one”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

There really is good reason for this restaurant to be number one in Vienna. Not only is the food good, the atmosphere especially outside lovely, and the service professional, but everyone there, from the busboys on up, will do absolutely anything to make a client happy. The manager did something for us that no one has done in fifty years, and which will be remembered as long as we eat.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank minkovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“This was a modern Hungarian meal”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Mini is surprising in our opinion, diverse and very good quality. Mini has been able to stabbing. Hungarian cuisine with a modern twist Customizable and extremely friendly service. We had a very pleasant evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Renko-Hans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wien
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everytime!!!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

simple things :-great food...(normaly i have my own menu....i am never easy to choose)
-colorful drink menu..(alco-non.alco)
-superb staff

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andwhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mini also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Mini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing