We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Ranked #13 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“wonderful stay, great location!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

we spent two nights at the ritz carlton this october. check in was quick and smooth, concierge service is top notch. the rooms are spacious and have a balcony space with a great view. bathrooms are spacious, and have a separate shower area. location of the hotel is great, near walking distance to the main shopping area.

we tried to go to the rooftop bar each night, but found it was closed each time.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lollipops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    188
    63
    15
    13
See reviews for
238
522
54
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and thought this place was top draw. It has a good location, the bedrooms are huge and the beds very comfortable. Everything about the hotel was classy and I highly recommend it. The only negative in our stay was the spa pool area being a little cold so we couldn't stay longer to enjoy the lovely facilities.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

First off, I stay at Ritz-Carlton hotels all the time. I love them. Unfortunately, this Ritz was a disappointment.

Let's start off with the good elements of the property, the location, the check-in and check-out process and their club lounge. The club lounge space itself isn't the best and it was hotter than you can imagine, the staff that managed it was simply exceptional. The club lounge manager is top-notch.

For those of you who haven't traveled to Vienna prior, it's a giant ashtray. Smoking everywhere and the Ritz allows it in their bar area. The hotel has a constant odor of smoke.

Our room on the top floor looked over an interior courtyard that was more like a well-kept prison yard. While the room was spacious, the shower flooded each time we used it. It's a design flaw with the drain.

Vienna is beautiful but their dedication to smoking kills any enjoyment. It's time for the Ritz to go smoke free. The InterContinental hotel down the street is fully smoke free and the bar was packed as we discovered. So, if you like to breath that's your spot.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend, and whilst I cannot think of anything in particular that was wrong- the neutral colours, and very large void that is reception left the place feeling a bit clinical and without a soul. It does not compare with the feeling you have walking into the Ritz in London or Paris where you feel privileged to be staying there and steeped in history, but I appreciate this is a Ritz Carlton and more akin to that chain. Plus the place used to be a Bank, and that is reflected in the entrance and you could imagine it being a banking hall. The staff were lovely and helpful, the room was very large and airy. Unfortunately the rooftop bar was closed. The spa was very clean, and the steam room and sauna were off the main spa reception, so you had to go through reception to get back to the pool i.e. you could not stay in on area, but that was a minor point. The room is well equipped with everything you would imagine, including a Nespresso machine & kettle. I never understand why 5 star hotels charge for Wifi when you are paying a premuim already to stay, why dont they absorb the cost in the room charge?? so simple. We had a small balcony being on the 6th floor but there was something in front of it blocking the view below neck height so nothing to really see unfortunately
We did try the bar, shame that smoking is not banned in Austria!
Overall a good place to stay and well located, I would return but would not be expecting a London/Paris style Ritz next time so would not be slightly disappointed, which is probably unfair on the Hotel, rather than anything being wrong with it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireQPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna for three nights at the end of a four week European holiday. This hotel was the equal of any of our best accommodation - excellent room, food, location and service. The service was exceptional from the first moment - concierge assistance was very helpful. Our room had a nice outlook and a small balcony, so we could get some fresh air, although somewhat cool given this time of year. Breakfast was excellent in terms of variety and quality. The location of the hotel is very good as it is convenient to the city centre but not right in the midst of it. The rooftop bar was not open during our stay due to cold, however we were able to go up and see and concluded that that it would be a very pleasant place to have a drink on a warmer summer's evening. Pool looked good, although we did not use.The Ritz-Carlton is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room facing street has good outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKH99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel is very new and nicely located. The check in was not too smooth with three different people trying to do a check in. But they were friendly. The rooms are spacy and quiet. But the way to the rooms is difficult, the hotel is constructed of various ex bank buildings and has a lot of stairs. With luggage or for people having trouble to move it is a real burden. The offered newspaper did not arrive. The check out was more complicated than the check in. The address, which was checked the evening before was missing on the bill and it took a while. With quite a number of people checking out only two people, who were yhen also a bit stressed, worked at reception. With the name and the prices charged one would expect a bit more than you get.

Room Tip: If you cannot walk well ask for a room without having to use stairs. Rooms to the inner yard are qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaby123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We always stay at Ritz Carltons whenever we travel but on this trip we stayed at the Four Seasons in Budapest and Prague and they were much more upscale. The rooms at the Ritz would be difficult for an elderly person (not us) with the stairs on each floor and in the rooms. The breakfast that came with the rooms was disappointing. Eggs were always runny and very little selection compared to the comparable meal at the Four Season Hotels. If there is a choice in the future between the two chains I will pick the Four Seasons from now on.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 360 in Vienna
1,414 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#7 of 360 in Vienna
1,663 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#3 of 360 in Vienna
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#8 of 360 in Vienna
1,041 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#17 of 360 in Vienna
1,129 reviews
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Address: Schubertring 5-7 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to Stadtpark directly on the famous Ring Boulevard, The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna combines the charm of four historical buildings with stylish and modern interior design. Our luxury Vienna hotel's Club Lounge remains unique in the city and is specifically designed for the luxury seeking traveler. Guests can rejuvenate at The Ritz-Carlton Spa, a luxury urban retreat that combines Austrian know-how and products with international spa expertise in order to create holistic, memorable spa experiences. The Ritz-Carlton Spa features six elegantly appointed treatment suites, a Health Club, Fitness area, sauna, steam bath and relaxation area in separated ladies and gentlemen areas and 60-ft. long indoor pool with underwater music. The Atmosphere Rooftop Bar on the 8th floor became Vienna’s new hot-spot and has spectacular views over the city, whilst the Dstrikt Steakhouse offers the best selection of Austrian meats prepared on a “Josper” charcoal grill directly from farm-to-table. At the Melounge Lobby Lounge you can enjoy an incomparable, modern interpreted afternoon tea "Tea & The City" during the afternoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing