We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely 5 Stars for Ritz in Vienna”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Ranked #16 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The building is beautiful (as you can read in many reviews), but what made our 10 day stay so perfect was the staff and service. We had a beautiful, large room on the 2nd floor with lots of amenities. The bed was extremely comfortable once we had the maid remove the heavy comforter for a lighter blanket. We like to have breakfast in our room and called room service every day. They were cheerful, polite and efficient. The food was fresh and nicely presented. The front desk people always greeted us coming and going (not by name until about the 5th day). Simon Schindler has to be the greatest concierge we have ever met. And we've stayed in 5 star hotels all over Europe. He was so helpful to suggest the right restaurants (Dom Beisl and Cantinetta Antinori) to name just two. And when we discovered that the Concert I booked on line from home was not confirmed, he made a call and we had VIP tickets to the Golden Hall of the Musikverein in a flash. The Atmosphere Bar on the roof was a delight and even if it's chilly they provide blankets. We were able to enjoy Vienna and relax at the Ritz !!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orlando1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,283)
There are newer reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

860 - 866 of 1,283 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

Pleasant stay at the Ritz in Vienna - location is fairly central, between Stadtpark and Schwartzenberg Cafe (two of my favorite places) and not a bad walk to the Kartnerstrasse and Stephansdom. Hotel exterior is unassuming, but the interior decor is up to standards and the room comfort (bed, bath) is excellent. In fact, the bed is one of the best I've experienced, with top quality linens, perfect duvets and excellent mattress comfort. Room design is very good, with the large hidden closet/dressing room and the small coffee bar (love that nespresso!). Small seating nook is very pretty but not especially comfortable. Service is impeccable, less snooty than the typish Viennese, but still impressively professional to the smallest detail. And could the front staff be better looking? So GQ.
Did not try the lobby breakfast, as prices were high compared to the more preferable area cafes. Would I stay here again? In comparison to the nearby Imperial, it is probably less luxurious, but definitely has a younger, more stylish vibe and is more in touch with today's Vienna.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank washington_wahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

A unique feature of Ritz Carlton, Vienna is its wonderful location on the Ringstrasse in the Schubertring Palais, a beautiful period building that once served as a bank. The painstaking renovation and conversation paid due and necessary homage to the original construction gifting the hotel a stunning, UNESCO protected wooden stairwell as well as, amongst the 200+ room product, 30 unique and individual guest rooms/suites with Bottega Veneta furniture. Public areas in the hotel reinforce an individualised sense of place, playing around two central motifs, horses and chocolate, both key elements in the story of Vienna. The horse motif is expressed visually with dynamic oils hanging strategically around the public areas and in some of the suites. Chocolate, by contrast, is predominantly olfactory and takes centre stage in the lobby lounge in the form of a dedicated buffet table complete with chocolate fountain. Chocolate sommeliers are on hand to guide you through speciality tastings.

Magnificent as it is, the physical property only comprises part of the overall guest experience. The real guest experience at Ritz Carlton, Vienna is mediated not through beautiful bricks and mortar but through rich human capital. The service ethos that’s central to the Ritz Carlton brand seems to have taken a massive step forward and is delivered now in a more intuitive, less formulaic way. The legendary “Ladies and Gentlemen” of Ritz Carlton appear to have shaken off the shackles of protocol and stepped forward as liberated spirits intent on providing service moments to surprise and delight. We experienced that last night in the lobby lounge when, at the end of our meal, we received a “gift” of freshly squeezed mixed juices from Pablo, our Mexican – Scottish waiter “It’s just to thank you for eating with us”, he casually announced. Significantly, the “gift” came AFTER we paid our bill and wasn’t part of a cynical stroke to score a bigger tip. This was a heartfelt gesture offered by a highly trained and empowered associate who wanted to show genuine hospitality. It’s testimony to a special brand the understands changing demographics and sees service not in terms of SOPs but as the appropriate, right response to guest needs, whether stated or unstated. Ritz was always brilliant at responding to stated needs. Now it’s targeting the unstated ones.

- See more at: http://padraicino.com/2013/09/19/vienna-reviewed-and-new-luxury-at-ritz-carlton/#sthash.qEcGOHKL.dpuf

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Padraicino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel was very nice, the hotel staff was great; very courteous and helpful. The rooms were clean, I had a room facing the main street with a great view. The bed and the pillows were comfortable. I found the location to be suitable. We walked all around Vienna and the Ritz was a fine home base. Overall, very pleased with my stay here but don't think the hotel and its amenities are worth 450 Euro a night. Also, the breakfast (Standard Eggs, bacon, ham, sausage, cheeses, coffee) was 35 Euro.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmosnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a beautifully appointed luxury hotel in a superb location. Before we even got through the front door, we were approached and assisted by an extremely helpful Doorman who guided us to the brilliant reception staff. Florian was particularly helpful and gave us some great advice and information. We had mentioned we were celebrating our wedding anniversary and were absolutely thrilled to be upgraded to an amazing suite. On our first night we also received a complimentary bottle of bubbly on ice with chocolate dipped strawberries, rose petals (real!) on our bed shaped in the number of years we have been married. What a fantastic surprise and such a nice touch.
We had booked access to the club room and the service we received from the brilliant team of Kim, Simon and Luzie was the best we have ever experienced anywhere. We have stayed in many hotels worldwide but their attention and friendliness was exceptional. The rooftop terrace is also a wonderful spot to enjoy a cocktail and take in the wonderful views. Thank you all for a superb weekend - one we will never forget. We will certainly put the Ritz Carlton Group on the top of our list in future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Violet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Ritz Carlton is one of my fav hotels, and this particular one, has the best service that i had experience so far. Checking in and out were quick and efficient. The room was very spacious and super comfortable. It has an ipod docking system and i love it. It felt like home. I was there for a business trip, we had very long hours of meeting for 2 days and during this duration, the service rendered was impeccable. At all time, there were 2-3 personnel that were standing by if we need anything and the business centre was just next door if i want to print and the best part it was free! Very convenient indeed. The wifi was very reliable. I had 4 devices with me and i registered them all and i had no problems with the connection during my stay.

The breakfast was good and the location was perfect! You could walk to Vienna Old Town where you can find all places to eat. Many tourist attractions are nearby and there is a TGI Friday restaurant just around the corner.

But overall if i wanted to sum up my experience, i have to say the best part of this hotel was their dedicated, professional and friendly staff. Good job Ritz! Make sure you treat your personnel well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yunosar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed at the Ritz Carlton, Vienna which is new hotel -- only about 1 year old. The hotel is in a very good location for sightseeing. Is within walking distance of the opera house and the cathedral. The staff went out of their way to be helpful with directions and were very friendly. Moreover, our flight from New York arrived very early (8:30am) on a Saturday morning and we were able to check into our rooms at that time. I was delighted with the rooms as well. The bathrooms are very spacious with a separate shower and tub. Our rooms were extremely quiet on the courtyard side of the hotel so we never heard any traffic or even noise from other rooms or the hallway. Our room package included a delicious buffet breakfast and we also ordered eggs which were included in the buffet. The hotel has a lovely rooftop bar with small plates and we enjoyed having a drink and snack overlooking the city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizQ852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
1,479 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#4 of 361 in Vienna
1,716 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#8 of 361 in Vienna
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#7 of 361 in Vienna
1,094 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#18 of 361 in Vienna
1,158 reviews
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Palais Hansen Kempinski
#10 of 361 in Vienna
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna

Address: Schubertring 5-7 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: $398 - $848 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to Stadtpark directly on the famous Ring Boulevard, The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna combines the charm of four historical buildings with stylish and modern interior design. Our luxury Vienna hotel's Club Lounge remains unique in the city and is specifically designed for the luxury seeking traveler. Guests can rejuvenate at The Ritz-Carlton Spa, a luxury urban retreat that combines Austrian know-how and products with international spa expertise in order to create holistic, memorable spa experiences. The Ritz-Carlton Spa features six elegantly appointed treatment suites, a Health Club, Fitness area, sauna, steam bath and relaxation area in separated ladies and gentlemen areas and 60-ft. long indoor pool with underwater music. The Atmosphere Rooftop Bar on the 8th floor became Vienna’s new hot-spot and has spectacular views over the city, whilst the Dstrikt Steakhouse offers the best selection of Austrian meats prepared on a “Josper” charcoal grill directly from farm-to-table. At the Melounge Lobby Lounge you can enjoy an incomparable, modern interpreted afternoon tea "Tea & The City" during the afternoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing