We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really fascinating piece of history”
Review of Sisi Museum

Sisi Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$198.24*
and up
Empress Sisi Sightseeing Combo in Vienna Including Schonbrunn Palace, Hofburg...
Ranked #31 of 570 things to do in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Really fascinating piece of history”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

So glad we went here on our last day in Vienna, such a tragic story of a fascinating woman and great audio tour, found out so much about this part in history and it really was interesting - the audio guide is included in the price here too which in a lot of museums is an extra fee so good value for money although there were no lockers or cloakroom to put your coat which most other museums do have.The collection of china and silver/gold dinner service is absolutely overwhelming too, i would urge anyone to visit, it's a must whilst in Vienna

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katiecjunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    975
    656
    250
    56
    26
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“worth it if you like history or antiques”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I had read mixed reviews about the Sisi Museum but we were glad we went. We had absolutely no knowledge of the imperial family before we visited, so it was very interesting to learn about the various family members and their legacy. I think the Sisi Museum does a very good job about addressing the fact that she was not a happy woman, very reserved and even closed off, so her veneration and vault to fame after her death is puzzling. It was all very interesting.
The silver collection was very interesting to tour also, and worth the time for the audio guide to tell you what's what. I would start with the Imperial Apartments though.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chloeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
271 reviews
236 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Just worth a quick visit”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

It worth a visit ,but do not spend too much time to see this place.Go in and pass through the halls.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BijanTehran_Iran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisinau, Moldova
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Opulence and Grandeur!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This stop was so worth it. Part of the Sisi Museum is the Palace Silver Museum. I was amazed at how many dishes/serving dishes/cutlery etc. were needed to run a palace. Oh and don't forget all that gold. I didn't think it would be interesting but the audio guide (walkie talkie type thing) gave interesting facts about what each thing was for and how it was used. The Sisi Museum itself was about the life and times of Empress Sisi. It showed staterooms of her and her husband and the audio guide told how each were used and by whom. I really enjoyed this tour.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kazyblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Level Contributor
261 reviews
195 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Not worth much”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Not worth much, there is a huge collection of cutlery and candlesticks personally do not care, you can not take photos in the rooms, but you dishes

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank billakos2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sisi Museum also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Sisi Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing