We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but adequate”
Review of Hotel Mozart

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mozart
Ranked #326 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed September 20, 2013

As other reviewers stated - the decor is old, noisy, no WiFi, etc. BUT, comfortable enough. We stayed 5 nights in total and enjoyed the friendly staff and big rooms.

The breakfast however was not good - every morning the same, limited choice. Esp2ecially the hot breakfast was lilmited to mince and scrambled egg - allmost every morning. I would rather pay a little bit more and have a decent breakfast. We skipped some breakfasts and bought our own at Billa around the corner.....

The WiFi is a shame - why ripping off travellers for internet access? McDonalds around the corner is a brilliant free alternative.

The hotel has huge potential in the name, location, etc. All it need is a decor makeover, and a new business model to include the little extras in the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room - the traffic noise is not as bad as the 'dungeon rooms' facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pietercon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 459 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Mozart in Vienna for 5 nights on a recent trip to Austria. We stayed here as part of an Intrepid tour group and were a little daunted by all the rather negative reviews written about the hotel. Fortunately our low expectations were superseded! The hotel IS very basic and the decor in the rooms is horrendous ( that sort of wall paper was NEVER cool!), but overall we had a comfortable stay at the Hotel Mozart. The room we stayed in was clean, spacious and comfortable. We had a room facing the rear courtyard away from the elevator so it was nice and quiet. The bathroom was small but functional and clean. The TV in the room was like something out of the 1980s but we didn't come to Vienna to watch TV so that didn't bother us. The staff were lovely - very helpful when we wanted to organise a Vienna Card and book tickets to Schonbrunn Palace. Breakfast was ok though you do need to get down early if the hotel is full as the food isn't always replenished. The only negative thing we experienced during our stay was the lack on in-room wifi and/or free wifi. We paid the 7 Euro per day for Internet and just sat in the lobby bar area to use it. No big deal really, but most hotels we've stayed in around Europe have had free in-room wifi so this was a bit of a negative. The hotel is in a good spot - close to tram stops and the metro for easy access to the city centre. Overall though we found the Hotel Mozart a good base from which to explore Vienna.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ShaneAndRobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was the first hotel of our European trip and a bit of a shock. Everything worked and it had the facilities we needed (apart from a fridge), but the décor was 70's or earlier, the predominant colour was brown and it all looked a bit dowdy. It was a bit depressing, but the breakfast made up for a lot. It was excellent, lovely breads and cheeses & that wonderful coffee with hot milk. The staff were very friendly, which is always a plus.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joncullis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Standard hotel but nothing special. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were ok, bed was comfortable although I got hayfever every night and I blame the old dusty pillows. The rooms facing the street are also very very noisy. Breakfast was nice but they struggle to keep up with the demand at the buffet when there the bus tour crowds descend. Location is good for the price, close to public transport and within walking distance of the city centre. A bonus is the rent a bike station just across the road which was a fantastic way to hire a bike to ride along the river or into the city! Drawback was no wi if available in the rooms and the steep cost to use it in the lobby however there is a McDonalds just around the corner which offers free wifi.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelhappytoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was our second visit to the Mozart. We chose to return because of the good accessability to public transport, the D tram being just round the corner and the metro Friedensbrucke a 5 minute walk away.Thix time we stayed in room 208 which had been refurbished. The beds are extremely comfortable and I slept really well despite severe arthritis.Th shower was ultra modern but the digital control too high on the wall to see an d reach (I am only 5 ft) result, I got throughly soaked when the jets started up. My own fault for fiddling around fully dressed. Unfortunately, each time I showered the floor was drenched and the water ran out into the room and pooled on the floor. I reported the seal broken at the bottom which caused the trouble.I hope they heeded me because the laminate flooring in the bedroom will "lift" if it gets any more saokings. The water was lovely and hot, but you must allow it to run for a few minuites to reach the desired temperature.It is a great pity the breakfast wasn't the same temperature. The coffee was invariably lukewarm, the scrambled eggs likewise and the water for the tea also. I n oted that when the eggs were taken, most people just left the lid off the tureen and did not bother to replace it, so no wonder the food was cold.there was "sausage" which turned out to be the same cold meat lightly fried. There was also bacon , in German called Speck, but you will have to be quick to get an y because theJapan ese and Germans have usually scoffed the lot before anyone else has a chance, If this happens jjust ask for the chef to fry more.and you will get some. It is a shame that msome guests are so greedy they pile up their plates and leave very little for the rest. Not 2 pieces of bacon, but 6 and more. There is sufficient to eat but it gets monotonous after 7 days.The first time we stayed here we found it very cheap. Of course it was N ovember 2 years past and it worked out at lkittle more than £20 for the room for two. This time it averaged out at over £85 per night which I thought was steep for May/June. Certainly there are four star accommodations for around that price, but perhaps not with the easy access to transportation.My advice is to look around.We came for the Summer nachtkonzert at Schonbrunn but theweather unfortunately was horrendous, rain for the whole of the 6 days.However, please do arrange to go next year as the Vienna Philharmonic is a joy to hear. mIf you want to go further afield try Baden which is a delightful spa town and can be easily reached by tram. Take the D tram from Franz Josef Bahnhof and get off the usual stop at Opera. Keep to the same side ans you will come to the sign Kartner Ring. (opposite the Hotel Bristol) There is a tram stop and a ticket booth from which you can buy your ticket. Show your tram/metro/bus ticket and you will get a ticket for Baden for 4euros (You are only charged for the portion of the journey not covered by your tram/metro/bus ticket - 3 zones I think) If you want to have a reasonably pricedmeal in Baden try El Gaucho. It is very near the stop you get off in Baden. It is a very pleasant restaurant with a good am bience and a very nice 3 course special at under 10 euros.If you wish to eat cheaply in Vienna try SoHo in the National library.We eyed the huge portions of Lasagne and knew we would not be able to manage it so the very pleasant and friendly young lady suggested we share. Of course we agreed and paid the 6euros90 for one 3-course meal (soup and main course) When the meal arrived, piping hot, it was the same size as everyone else's and we cojuldnot manage to get through ,it. I was a lovely meal and the staff are so pleasant. The place was full of mostly students and very popular. It is easy to find. Facing the Albertina, walk to your left down a small lane to the side which leads you past the Butterfly house on your right and the garden on your left. It is just a short walk to where you can go no further andmust turn right into a small square. Immediately on your left is the library with a doubledoor. Walk through this door and on your left is the door to SoHo. Bon appetit! We visited the Sisi museum but were disappointed that the majority of the exhibits were photographs and letters.Only two dresses. I was impossible to get near anything because of the large groups with the recoders stucj to their ears giving a running commentary. Also there werenarrow passageways, gloomily lit and claustrophobic. If you have mobility problems ask, when yu get your ticket, for the lift, as no one willtell you there is one.I made that mistake and climbed all the stairs.BIG mistake. Also, they will, escort you out to a lift after your visit. Pleas try to visit the Spanish Riding schoolto see the horses being exercised and put through their paces. This will cost you 14 euros, 10 if yu are a senior. If you mhave mobility difficulties and cannot stand too long, join the queue at the side door as it is always smaller. You can access this entrance by walking all the way round the Hofburg from the main entrance, to Josefstadt. Please be aware of a very selfish pracice in connection with this event.We went around 9.30am for a 10 0'clock start and did ot have to waitlong before we were admitted. There appeared to be plenty of seats (arranged in blocks of 4) but only one person in each of these blocks. At every one we were told by the person sitting there that the seats were "taken" Bynrhe time we twigged what was happening, they had all gone and we had to stand. Fortunately, a younf lady kindly offered her seat and my friend and I took turns to sit, necause we were unable to stand for 2 hours.I approched an official to ask about these "taken seats" and he said it was strictly forbidden for anone to say they were already taken when there was n o one there. It seems that on epersonqueues early and appropriates seats, saving them for others who can then come at their leisure and avoid waiting The young man toldus that if there was n o one sitting on the seats then the seats were ours and we should have ignored the "seat saver" The moral of this story friends is if there is no bum on the seat then the seat is yours.Plonk yourself down, ignore the outrage and threaten to call the ushers. You are in the right and put a stop to such selfish behaviour.For the music lovers among you, there is a gem of a church not far from the Mozart, the Schubert church.Go around the bahnhof in to the next road, past the Bellevue hotel and turn left down Schubertstrasse then right in to Marktplatz. The church is on the left. We were lucky there was someone there to show us the baptismal font where Schubert was baptised. The Schubert museum is further on, not too far but we did not have the time as we were leaving for the airport.In the summer every Tuesday eveningat 7.30m there is a summer concert in the church. I hope someine will go and write a report as I would be ost interested to hear about it. Unfortunately, we did ot discover the cnhurch until the day we were leaving.Bad luck huh.? Enjoy Vienna and do visit Demel for chocolates but expect topay an arm and a leg!!

Room Tip: can recommend 208.overlooks the bahnhof but quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marnie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We were staying at this hotel because we were on an Intrepid Group trip and this was the starting hotel. Intrepid would be well advised to find somewhere better, and fast. The hotel is well located near public transport and the front of house staff are friendly and helpful, BUT... our first room on the second floor faced the street and the afternoon sun. Vienna was in the middle of a heat wave. No air conditioning. The pillows were a bit lumpy, so we took off a pillow case. The pillow itself should have been burnt on the spot. It was disgusting. We were given cleaner pillows.

After a sleepless night due to heat and traffic noise, we asked for another room. This was provided without question and the new room was much quieter and cleaner, so there we stayed.

Breakfast was very basic and according to the price list in the room was provided at a cost of 14 euros. Incredible! The fruit salad was gone by 8.30am. The Scrambled Eggs were dreadful. McDonalds across the road offers a better selection! And their coffee is much better!

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sim801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMozart, Manager at Hotel Mozart, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Simmo,
thank you very much for your time and your Feedback.
We are very sorry that the first room didn't meet your expectations. But as you mentioned it was no Problem at all to change your room immediately!

As you are pointing out, we were facing a heatwave in Vienna last week, which is definitely not normal for our City and for this time of the year! Unfortunately we do not provide A/C which is not foreseen in 3 star Hotels in Austria.

Our breakfast contains a variety of breads, rolls, ham, cheese, marmelade, cereals, hot drinks, scrambled eggs, bacon, yoghurt and fruits. Of course we try to refill all items immediately and fast, but if any item is out we do provide something else instead.

We hope you are enjoying your further trip through Europe and wish you all the best!

Denise Millmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

It is a nice, old-styled hotel, the subway it's quite close and it's only 5 or 6 stops away from the city centre. I've been with my mother and sister and for the money we paid we got it quite good. Although the rooms were clearly not recently renovated and the furniture was not too fancy, we had quite a good time. I find this hotel appropriate if you need to spend less than a week and you plan on visiting and you come back at the hotel just in the evening to get a good sleep for another full day of Hofburg and Prater and Schonbrunn:)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#156 of 358 in Vienna
1,680 reviews
Bellevue Hotel
#197 of 358 in Vienna
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Josefstadt
Korotan Hotel
Korotan Hotel
#219 of 358 in Vienna
127 reviews
Hillinger
#329 of 358 in Vienna
95 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Novum Hotel Cristall Wien Messe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mozart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mozart

Address: Julius-Tandler-Platz 4 | Nordbergstrasse, Vienna 1090, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #326 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: $45 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mozart 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splitty, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mozart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mozart Vienna
Mozart Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing