We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Botanischer Garten (Botanical Garden of the University of Vienna)
Ranked #118 of 556 things to do in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Relaxing walk through the gardens. It was very nice to see, and it reminded me of some gardens from fairy tales.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    32
    9
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice and peaceful gardens, but guide missing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We enjoyed the green gardens in the city, but to go beyond that, we would have liked to have a guide, maybe to provide more explanations and background stories.

So, if you look for peaceful walk, and seeing some nice trees and plants, it's great. But don't expect much explanation... but maybe you are a plant expert yourself?

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Antanarive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful and quiet location in the middel of Vienna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

What a treasure this botanical garden in the middle of Vienna. Free to enter and wander around. There is no entertainment here, this a garden with park benches and gardeners, University students working. The upper part of the garden has many trees and is amazingly quiet. Saw a few mothers with baby carriages enjoying quiet time on a bench in the shade. A small entrance on the North side leads to Belvedere Palace next door (secret garden entrance!) Certainly this location would impress differently during different seasons. April was beautiful.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Explore121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“nice garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

right around the corner of the castle Belvedere, free entry - espicially in Spring time really nice for a walk

Helpful?
3 Thank JuliettaSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice but far from great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

My wife is seriously into gardening and when traveling we make a practice to visit the botanical garden in the areas we go. Kew gardens stands out as explatory. They need not be so grand.

In any case, this one has a lively if small arbor area but the green houses were closed, as was the alpine exhibit. We peered in as best we could, the green houses didn't appear to be for public view in general and the latter was nice but quite small. We were there in October so maybe we'll try again in the spring.

I'd describe this garden as a nice park. Other than us there were a lot of joggers about. As this was Vienna our expectations were high so we felt a bit disappointed. It's also a bit out of the way.

Helpful?
Thank jhuitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Botanischer Garten (Botanical Garden of the University of Vienna) also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Botanischer Garten (Botanical Garden of the University of Vienna)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing