We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the composer houses”
Review of Haydnhaus

Haydnhaus
Book In Advance
More Info
$67.51*
and up
Vienna Pass Including Vienna Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Ticket
Ranked #174 of 575 things to do in Vienna
Attraction details
Irvine
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best of the composer houses”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I did not get to Schubert's birth and death houses, but we thought that in many ways the Haydnhaus was superior to other composer sites in Vienna. It remains focused on the last years of Haydn's life, when he occupied this comfortable home, at that time out in the far suburbs (but now very near Westbahnhof), and gives visitors and excellent feel for Haydn's life, and the culture of Vienna and musical Europe at the time. You will also see a remarkable contemporary wax likeness of the composer, personal documents, and a lovely garden.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank drabauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    18
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A must for Classical music lovers!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Very attractive little house a bit out of the way, but easy to reach. Nice to see and read from this collection of Haydn's personal effects. A little glimpse into his life and personality! Very inexpensive and included on the Vienna Card which offers a discount on admission.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank whatnext4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The house is a couple of stops on the U-Bahn from the Innere Stadt, but is tucked away on a quiet street. It's a beautiful spot and is where Haydn spent the last 12 years of his life and composed The Creation and The Seasons among other works. The museum itself is an interesting visit, with lots to read and look at, including two of Haydn's own instruments and some manuscripts. We didn't opt for the audio guide, but it seemed to include lots of music to listen to in the garden, which sounds very civilised! The museum was very quiet and the only thing I found a bit off-putting was a security guard following us around! He didn't really take much notice of what we were doing, though, and said we could take photos without flash. I think the ticket was €4 or €3 with a Vienna card. I'd certainly recommend it to classical music fans.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PD_Bristol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
205 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“No crowd, low price, actual artifacts!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

If you have to see only one composer, go to the Haydn house! This place is off the beaten track, but two blocks from the zeiglergasse ubahn stop. My husband and I were two of four people there. You get two floors of history and music and actually owned by Haydn artifacts for less than five euros. Well worth an hour. (the really clean bathrooms were a nice bonus!)

Helpful?
3 Thank 4n6geekette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Far better than the Mozart House!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

As a big fan of Haydn, I was very impressed by this house. Haydn's actual instruments are on display as well as plenty of original (unlike the Mozart house) manuscripts. An added bonus might be that it is out of the way of the main tourist path so it can be enjoyed without hordes of other tourists to compete with. Perhaps I might echo the small criticism of the other reviewers who mentioned the lack of music being played. Certainly a few Haydn pieces being played in the background wouldn't have gone amiss...

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GPSpann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haydnhaus also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Haydnhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing