We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quality design hotel - impressive rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Ranked #7 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed here in late January during our first trip to Vienna and chose the hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews.

The Hotel met our expectations and more. The rooms were generously proportioned and well laid out - with a wall separating the bathroom and bedroom areas whilst maintaining an open plan. The room had three large windows looking out over the street below (Lange Gasse).

Each room is dedicated to a wine-maker (or in our case, a Schnapps manufacturer) and is decorated and stocked accordingly. The individuality of these rooms mean you don't have to be a wine aficionado to appreciate the attention to detail.

The reception staff were also helpful and efficient. We had laundry washed, airport transfer booked (and changed) and postcards sent off with remarkable speed and care.

The surrounding area isn't happening, but the hotel is only a 5-10 minute walk from the Rathaus metro station and, in the opposite direction at least, a range of decent restaurants.

We would definitely recommend this hotel, particularly if large room sizes and individuality are important to you. If you're a wine aficionado, you won't find more suited accommodation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlfawcett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

650 - 656 of 1,329 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed at the hotel rathaus Wein & Design just before Christmas as a family Christmas treat. The hotel staff were most welcoming and our room was lovely - very comfortable for a family of four and good value. The girls enjoyed the breakfast especially - vanilla slice for breakfast was their idea of heaven! There was much more on offer though which provided us a great start to the day. We selected the hotel based on trip advisor and we were not disappointed, the location was great, the staff friendly and plenty of space in our room. Our only negative experience was that there was often a smell of cigarette smoke coming through the air vents and outside of our room which was strange given that it is a non-smoking hotel. I would still strongly recommend this hotel as a base for a stay in Vienna.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oderwitz, Manager at Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear guests from the UK,

thank you very much for your lovely recommendation on tripadvisor. We are happy you and your family have enjoyed your pre Christmas break here in Vienna and in our hotel.

So good to learn you have enjoyed the rooms, the quality of our breakfast and the service attitude of my colleagues. What more you can ask for if you are running a hotel!?

Regarding the smoky smell in your room: our hotel was and is an absolutely nonsmoking hotel, however, we were faced sometimes with some smoky smell in our hotel in December, that´s true. The reason for that was (and I would like to stress WAS, as the problem was solved after a few days) that one of our neighbours got a new fireplace and chimney, which obviously didn´t work properly at the beginning. We reported this also to the chimneysweaper in charge of our neighbourhood and this problem has been solved within a few days. However I feel sorry for you if this smell war irritating and inconvinient for you. But again, still no cigarettes in our hotel, it definitely came from the neighbour´s chimney.

Currently we have renovations in our hotel and will reopen late February. More colours, a new entrance hall, new floor decors and a lot of funny, wine related details will make sure, our guest will feel home, but different than at home.

We would love to welcoming you and your family again and send you our best regards from winterly Vienna,

Conrad Schröpel
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The hotel is fairly close to a metro station and thus well suited to start off and tours around the city. The double room had two adjacent beds, not a queen or king sized bed. The "view" was across a small courtyard onto a wall. Also, the shower with a glass door is not in a separate bathroom, offering potential for some awkward moments (as a couple, we didn't mind). The usual amenities such as TV, safe and minibar were as to be expected, with the minibar offering a larger variety of wine than usual.

The service was impeccable. The bar/restaurant offers one of the most diverse breakfast buffets I've ever seen.

Overall, I can recommend the hotel. When we're back in Vienna, we will however be looking for a different hotel (but possibly regret it).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oderwitz, Manager at Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear guests from Switzerland,

thank you very much for staying with us and for your review on Tripadvisor.

We are really happy you enjoyed your stay with us so much.

However there is one point I cannot share with you: the beds! All our beds are king-size beds, however, this is true, with two mattrasses, but one frame. I hope it was not the wine in our winelounge that made you feel the beds are drifting... ;) Kidding!

Again, thank you very much and hope to see you again, if you prefer a room with a city view next time, just ask for it. We always try to fulfill all the wishes our guests may have.

Cordially,

Conrad Schröpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

First off,let me begin by saying we use Tripadvisor for all our information gathering when planning a vacation. This will be my 1st review and I have to say, our stay at the Hotel Rathaus was fabulous. (Email me and I can give more details if needed)
We stayed over NYE with a few days after that. We booked the hotel a month or so in advance and began communicating with Conrad S, hotel manager. Conrad was extremely quick in responding to all my questions etc over email. He booked NYE dinner for us close to the hotel in an old monastery which was fantastic. He even scheduled a driver to pick us up which was cheaper than taking a taxi. We did a wine tasting in the hotel bar area courtesy of Conrad and staff which we highly recommend if you are are a wine lover. The hotel was in a great location easy walking distance to city center and tram. Each room is named/themed after Austrian vintners which made them really interesting and unique. Off hand, I can't remember the name of our room, but ask for their "honeymoon" room. Awesome roomy shower with rain shower head.
What really made the trip - On NYE we had come back from dinner and didn't really have any plans for celebrating at midnight but Conrad and his staff went out of his way to make it extra special for us. He took us up to the roof of the hotel where we got to watch all the fireworks over the city (with bubbly) at the stroke of midnight! It was a 360 degree professional fireworks show all around the city, even in the streets. Who knew Vienna was such an awesome NYE destination? Honestly, it was such a surprise we still can't believe it happened! When I say "roof" I don't mean roof deck, I mean roof with antennas, vents etc!
.
We cannot thank Conrad and his staff enough for ALL the "extras" they did for us during our stay. That is why we are writing this review - We had exceptional service in a great hotel with AWESOME staff! Thank you Conrad, we truly appreciate everything you did for us to make our stay off the charts! Please extend our thanks and gratitude to your staff, as they too went out of their way to accommodate us. Cheers!
Justin & Melaine

Room Tip: Ask for the "honeymoon" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank packmanjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Just one night in this wine themed hotel. Would have liked to have stayed longer. Superb room; welcoming staff; and excellent restuarant. It actually has a bar which is open 24 hours a day.Will definitely return in the future for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NapierAssociates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oderwitz, Manager at Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Dear guests from Wales!

Thank you very much for your kind review on TA.

To be honest I have had to take a look into the dictionary regarding the word "quirky"... :) and had to smile when reading the German translation!!!

Well, quirky in a positive way should work..., but anyway we are happy you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to hosting you again soon for more days than recently.

Best regards from the "quirky" wine hotel in Vienna.

Conrad Schröpel
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Although I am not accustomed to responding to guest surveys or posting reviews (in fact, this is my first), I want to express how pleased my wife and I were to have stayed at the Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design. Our room was quite large by european standards, very well laid-out and comfortable in every respect. We appreciated the attention to small details such as a fresh carafe of water at our desk every day. The hotel is on a quiet street yet close to the city centre - one of the quietest hotel rooms I've ever encountered - even the heating/cooling fan was quiet! Not great views out the windows, but hey, the rest of Vienna awaits!

More important, all of the staff that we encountered were friendly and helpful - we really felt cared for on a personal level.

I would not dream of staying at any other hotel if we ever return to Vienna. I just hope all of the great reviews that led me to it don't make it too popular!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The hotel and their staff are warm, helpful, and interesting. Staying here added to benefit of exploring Vienna, rather than merely being a place to stay. Their breakfast spread is incredible - tons of options of fruits, breads, jams, cheese, meats, pickles, and eggs. The evening wine tasting is low key and a nice (and unique) option to top off your evening. The room was big, had warm decorations and lighting, and had a good shower. The view was the only downside - of the courtyard (not bad, just not great). The location is very central - you can walk to many of the tourist sites and convenient subway stops. Finally, the staff was very helpful - recommended excellent restaurants and helped set us up logistically.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daina112358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Mariahilf
Hotel Das Tyrol
Hotel Das Tyrol
#2 of 359 in Vienna
1,489 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,514 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#8 of 359 in Vienna
2,422 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#4 of 359 in Vienna
1,109 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#9 of 359 in Vienna
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design

Address: Lange Gasse 13, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Vienna
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#7 Business Hotel in Vienna
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $139 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vienna's one and only wine themed hotel is looking forward to hosting all wine lovers. All our 39 rooms are dedicated to Austrian premium winemakers and are featuring clear and state of the art design and function, enhanced with a lot of love for the details and some quirky things, too. Don't be surprised!!! You will find the wines of your partner vintner in your room and all the other wines from all the other winemakers in our wine lounge. We serve, of course, wine 24 hours a day. Our attic suite (80 sqm with private rooftop terrace) is dedicated to German vintners...! Why? Because weeeee loooove Riiiisling!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rathaus Wein And Design Wien
Hotel Rathaus Wein Design Wien
Rathaus Wein Design Wien Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing