We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Ranked #6 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We spent 6 nights (2 couples in 2 rooms) at the Rathaus and loved it. We were on the 4th floor with a street view and were not bothered at all by noise. One of us couples used the AC because it was quite warm and it worked like a charm...the other couple kept their windows open and were not at all disturbed by street noise. We loved the open layout....the high ceilings made us feel like we were staying in an apartment, rather than a city hotel. Gorgeous shower with great pressure....and lots of surface space around the entire room.

We all loved the location. Close enough to the city center to be convenient...we walked everywhere but in it's own cool neighborhood to make it interesting when we came home in the evenings. We had dinner every night at a neighborhood restaurant and it was great to have several grocery stores to choose from for other needs. We did not have the fabulous breakfast but it was great to be able to pick up a cup of coffee and croissant to go.

Conrad and his staff were amazing...friendly and helpful....always with a smile!! We would definitely recommend this hotel and will definitely stay there again when in Vienna!

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms with city view were very quiet, even with the windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkierGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

691 - 697 of 1,331 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

I love its architecture and its interior design. Nice style and atmosphere. The rooms are comfortable and the prices are also nice for the given facilities. You should also try the breakfast, there is a wide range of salty and sweet breakfast possibilities. Also, there is a parking space around the hotel. It is located in the center of the city and close to an U-bahn station.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LucyDiamondB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great hotel. Beautiful rooms with super stylish decor and incredible bathrooms. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The location is a little way out of down but easy to walk or get the metro.

The best thing about the hotel is the novelty factor of the wine theme. Each room is names after an Austrian wine region and small bottles of wine are provided. The bar has an amazing choice of wines and we also had a great cheeseboard. Breakfast is incredible - lots of gorgeous local preserves, fresh bread and a huge selection of cheeses, fresh fruit and juice. Its pretty reasonably priced too - glasses of wine in the hotel bar were just a few euros.

I got the general impression that Vienna overall is much cheaper than other European cities so its nice to be able to splash out and stay somewhere as stylish as this.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank jen056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I chose this hotel on the back of good reviews from tripadvisor users. It's location is pretty good 10 min walk to town centre and located near the Townhall and various musuems.

I had a standard double room, which cost circa £150 a night. Room was very clean and functional but quite small. Bathroom was very small and functional.

The hotel seems to have been converted from an old building and thus noise is a problem. The floorboards squeek badly and you can hear neighbouring hotel guests walking around in their rooms, almost as if they are in yours. I could clearly hear other hotel guests in their rooms and internal noise was an issue.

They offer free wifi which is good. Old TV in the room. You can get buffet breakfast included too.

I would mark this hotel as a 3 star hotel, clean, functional and nothing spectacular. Clearly it offers value for money given it's location, which is good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OverSeaOverLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

beautiful, spacious rooms were almost like suites because they include a small sofa, a desk, a wardrobe area, and a fantastic sink/vanity area with shelves and a glassed in shower staff. water closet down the hall makes a lot of good sense too, so people can bathe/bathroom separately.

front desk staff were generally incredibly well versed in local resources and very helpful.
you get a LOT for your money here and the location is also great.

two minor complaints: the breakfast is very expensive, although very generous. we could use more hooks or towel bars!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saucyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We booked this hotel after reading all the positive reviews on this site. We weren't disappointed. The rooms are bright, modern, spacious and quiet. Our room had an extra large shower which is unusual for a European hotel but much appreciated. Location is a short way out of the main part of town but easily and quickly accessible by public transit. The breakfast buffet has a huge variety and I can't imagine that anyone would be disappointed. Staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to friends and stay here again if we return to Vienna.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong with any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kath0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

So what's left to say after all the other very positive reviews? Much as all the others have said, our stay of 5 days also was excellent in every way. Perhaps most noteworthy was the friendliness and helpfulness of all of the staff. And most engaging of all was Silke who handles the front desk. Whatever the hour or occasion, she always had the smile and a happy greeting. One of our requests was a restaurant that offered modern Austrian cuisine and one that would be frequented mostly by locals. She suggested the Freyenstein which, turned out to be the most memorable meal of our 4-week trip . (See our Tripadvisor review of Freyenstein, Vienna). By the time we left, we felt as if she were our friend. She's one of those folks who for us become the face of the place. And lucky were we and the hotel is to have her. And by the way, the breakfast buffet can rightfully can be claimed to be the best in Vienna.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYorkAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Mariahilf
Hotel Das Tyrol
Hotel Das Tyrol
#4 of 358 in Vienna
1,515 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 358 in Vienna
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#8 of 358 in Vienna
2,469 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#3 of 358 in Vienna
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design

Address: Lange Gasse 13, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Vienna
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#7 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $143 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vienna's one and only wine themed hotel is looking forward to hosting all wine lovers. All our 39 rooms are dedicated to Austrian premium winemakers and are featuring clear and state of the art design and function, enhanced with a lot of love for the details and some quirky things, too. Don't be surprised!!! You will find the wines of your partner vintner in your room and all the other wines from all the other winemakers in our wine lounge. We serve, of course, wine 24 hours a day. Our attic suite (80 sqm with private rooftop terrace) is dedicated to German vintners...! Why? Because weeeee loooove Riiiisling!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rathaus Wein And Design Wien
Hotel Rathaus Wein Design Wien
Rathaus Wein Design Wien Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing