We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection - A must. Understated , demure excellence !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Ranked #6 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The Rathous or Tax House in English .

This hotel is warm and friendly, efficient and professional , flexible and delightfully novel.

Truly free and fully functional wifi! Hallelujah !

Close to the museum quarter, this is a superb themed hotel , located on a quiet street off the main circular road that takes you to everything in Vienna. The location is quiet with superb restaurants in the area. It has parking too.

Each room is wonderfully themed around a Viennese vineyard. Our room was The Hillinger, fabulous with a superb walk-in shower. The room facilities were complete and funky storage in the bed base to hide the cases away was a great bonus. The quality furniture and finishings set this apart from many hotels.

The minibar well stocked and not over priced. With fresh decanted water in the room every day.


The breakfast was the most varied we have ever had for this type of hotel , with a range of speciality dishes , boutique cheeses and cold meats , Viennese cakes and fresh cooked eggs etc. The verity and quality was stunning. Served in the restaurant area of the wine bar, overlooking a court yard this is a cosy relaxing place to eat where every need was efficiently catered for.

The hospitality of the staff and quality of service uphold the high Viennese standards that Vienna must surely be famous for. Understated, demure excellence!

Jet-lagged from a long trip , the staff opened the kitchen twice for us during our busy stay to accommodate our needs. To Quote "Nothing is too much trouble"

Every Viennese wine and meal we had was superb. The Viennese Vodka is excellent too. Viennese wines are obviously hidden gems. Rarely have we been so constantly enamored with every wine we indulged in, both in and out of the hotel.

There are a few stairs to the lift that may be a problem for guests with disabilities but the staff are so friendly and efficient nothing is a problem here and all you have to do is ask or pre-warn them for assistance.

Thank you to the staff and management of Rathous for a wonderful introduction to Vienna . We will return. Vienna is a wonderful city and this hotel would make it and it's people very proud.

I believe there is another hotel with the same name , so make sure you tell the taxi Lange Gasse 13 (long street).

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmuch_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

738 - 744 of 1,333 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2012

It is a fabulous hotel near the city center. Each room is individually designed and very welcoming. The service is seemless and you feel like you've come home. Not only the wine is superb - the best breakfast is just unbelievable. If you go to Vienna you need to stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexhahn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Rathaus for 5 nights, 3 for leisure and 2 for professional reasons. There is nothing more to say than GREAT. I can highly recommend this hotel: breakfast is superb, staff very helpful and friendly and the wines were tasty.

We had a double room with lots of space and a nice ambiance. All very clean.

Locationwise ok too, with the underground about 5 minutes by foot.

Highly recommended!

HINT: If you need a taxi please make sure that you check the driver. The one I got to get to the airport a. didn't let me pay with credit card and b. was a crazy guy trying to race with others.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mastapieces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

During a 2-week trip through Germany and Austria, we spent 3 nights at this hotel over New Year's - Dec 30-Jan 2. We had three rooms, each of which was beautiful and extremly comfortable. The breakfast was the best we had anywhere in Germany or Austria. The staff was amazing and helpful. One word of warning...if you drive, do not leave your car parked on the street in front of the hotel. While we were taking our luggage up to the room, we got a parking ticket. Fortunately, the hotel was able to explain and the ticket was removed. The location of the Hotel is very convenient to most attractions with a bit of walking. We also used taxis a couple of times. New Year's eve around St. Stephen's was magical, as was all of the historic district.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdeaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed just one night but was our second visit and would stay here again. Really friendly, helpful staff,very quiet clean and well furnished room overlooking courtyard. The breakfast was 17 euros but i have to say the best breakfast we have had in any hotel!-fantastic buffet with amazing cheeses,hams,fruit,yoghurt,pastries etc etc. Would not hesitate to recomend to anyone as also close to City centre

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicky m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Possibly my best hotel-experience ever. The Hotel Rathaus delivered everything we expected and the some.

Location just behind the Vienna City Hall was quiet, but still very close to the city center and, not least, the hipper 6th, 7th and 8th districts.

The hotel itself is well equipped with a nice large room, a perfect almost excessive breakfast and a quiet wine bar.

The staff was very serviceable and really tried their best to give us the best possible new years vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrAnkerstjerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Visiting with friends for the Christmas markets we stayed for three nights. Staff are excellent so keen to help.
Amazing breakfasts with all you might want, beautiful range of meats and cheeses plus food cooked to order.
Rooms are large but if travelling with friends the fact the bathroom and shower is in the room may make things a tad tricky and we had to shower whilst the other friend stayed in bed unless you don't mind the lack of privacy. Great rooms though.
Location a short walk from the town hall but close to other tubes too.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudiaWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Mariahilf
Hotel Das Tyrol
Hotel Das Tyrol
#4 of 359 in Vienna
1,518 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#5 of 359 in Vienna
2,483 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#3 of 359 in Vienna
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design

Address: Lange Gasse 13, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Vienna
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#7 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $140 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vienna's one and only wine themed hotel is looking forward to hosting all wine lovers. All our 39 rooms are dedicated to Austrian premium winemakers and are featuring clear and state of the art design and function, enhanced with a lot of love for the details and some quirky things, too. Don't be surprised!!! You will find the wines of your partner vintner in your room and all the other wines from all the other winemakers in our wine lounge. We serve, of course, wine 24 hours a day. Our attic suite (80 sqm with private rooftop terrace) is dedicated to German vintners...! Why? Because weeeee loooove Riiiisling!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rathaus Wein And Design Wien
Hotel Rathaus Wein Design Wien
Rathaus Wein Design Wien Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing