We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Nearby Hotels
$374
$337
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$118
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$107
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$264
$258
Hotel Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$227
$188
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$219
$198
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$243
$213
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna(Vienna)
$476
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,381)
Filter reviews
1,381 results
Traveler rating
1,108
231
33
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,108
231
33
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaustrian wineswine loversthemed hotelquiet streetmuseum quarterminute walkrain showergreat boutiquecity hallroom was spaciouswalk in showerthree nightsfantastic hotelhighly recommend this hotelloved this hotelchristmas marketspent nights
Filter
Updating list...
885 - 890 of 1,381 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2007

I thoroughly enjoined my 3 nights stay in the hotel for several reasons: super friendly staff, nice, modern, a bit special and well designed room, surprisingly good food in the restaurant, and I also enjoyed the wine concept (and some wine, too). But be aware, it is not an international luxury hotel, and it is not pretending to be so, either.

The location is ok; not spectacular, and one needs to walk a bit to the nearest metro station (Volkstheater). Major atractions are quite close, though.

One can take the airport train CAT, and the switch to metro line U3, but with not too much of luggage, as in addition to the walk to the hotel, the switch to metro includes some walking in stairs and tunnels.

One should also note that the reception is not in the street level, so there are stair to the "half floor", and the elevator starts first there. So the hotel is not suitable for handicapped people.

As I said, the food was surprisingly good, as the restaurant and the kitchen were very small, and the same personnel took care of both the reception and the restaurant. I ate pasta two times, and a salade once, the prices were 7-8 Euros, which really is a bargain.

Two things irritated me: smoking is allowed in the public places, including the restaurant. The second thing was that as the bathroom was open, the separate toilet on the other side of room did not have a washing basin. Oh, and the flat TV was not only flat, it was really small, too. Of English channels at least CNN was available.

All in all, a very, very pleasent experience, and I can warmly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlyingFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2007

My husband and I loved this place. The location is a 10-15 minute walk or a quick subway ride to all parts of the city center. The wine themed rooms are lovely -- contemporary, bright, comfortable and clean with fabulous waterfall showers. The hotel staff are incredibly nice, and the wine bar is a perfect place to start or end the evening. Great selections & reasonable prices. The breakfast is outstanding as well.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2007

The Rathaus Wein & Design is clean, comfortable, well located and offers reasonable rates. I booked the hotel based on reviews on Tripadvisor and can endorse the previous reviews this hotel has received. The room was spacious with a very comfortable bed and a great shower. Breakfasts are very good with a huge selection of all foods. My impression of a hotel is always influenced by the first member of staff that I meet, and I was very impressed by the friendly welcome I received. The location of the hotel is good, as it is close to the Museum Quarter and also to the main shopping street. It is a good base for a trip to Vienna and overall I would recommend the Rathaus Wein & Design.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Galway_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2007

What a great hotel, it was difficult to fault it.

Getting there: we got the local train from Vienna airport to the City Centre; it was cheap & you can pay on the train, but stops quite a few times and not much luggage space. If you can afford to pay extra (at least twice as much) then get the City Airport Train (CAT) which is quick (does not stop inbetween), modern, plenty of luggage space and quiet - you can also pay onboard as well. We then got a taxi from the Wien Mitte station to the hotel (though you could get a tram if you're feeling brave). A word of warning: we asked the taxi driver to take us to the Rathaus Vienna hotel and he dropped us off at the wrong hotel!, theres a Rauthaus Park hotel near the Town Hall.
On finally arriving at the hotel it's on a very plain street just off the City Centre and doesn't look much from the outside - don't be put off! once you get inside you'll see how smart the hotel is. Unusually designed throughout, modern decor rather than posh. Each room is very individual with all mod-cons (room safe, huge shower, very comfy beds, flat screen TV etc)
The staff are very courteous and helpful yet very efficient - they make you feel very welcome. We booked direct with the hotel through their website and got a very good rate (better than lastminute, expedia etc) with their excellent buffet breakfast included.

We had drinks in the hotel bar in the evening and the wine is excellent and reasonably priced for the quality. Any suspicions you have of Austrian wine are quickly dispelled!

The location is about five minutes walk from the underground station and tram stops with the Ring, Museum Quarter , Town Hall, Parliament Buildings and Hofburg Gardens within ten minute walk. The hotel is also very close to Spittelberg, the area behind the Museum Quarter where there are lots of restaurants and bars. The main shopping street, Mariahilfer Strasse, and the Naschmarlet just beyond that are all just a short walk from the hotel.

Getting around Vienna is easy with their one day travel cards (5.70 euro), ideal if you're travelling outside of the City Centre. We went to Schönbrunn Palace, UNO City, the Donau Tower (excellent traditional meal in the revolving restaurant) and Prater Park all in a day's sightseeing on the one ticket, using trams, trains & buses.

When walking around the City Centre, especially near the Opera House & Cathedral, beware of people dressed in period costume as they're trying to sell you concert tickets - it can get a bit tiresome. I suggest you book all concert tickets through the hotel who will get you the best deal for what you want.
One more word of advice, if you're hoping to go on a Danube cruise to Bratislava you will need to book in advance - it was fully booked when we got there; though the train is much quicker & cheaper.

All in all I've given the hotel a maximum rating as it's one of the best hotels I've stayed in for that price.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Tilehurst Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2007

Me and the missus stayed here for a week in August and the air con was a godsend. We booked tram tickets, excursion tickets and Danube boat trips through the lovely people at reception who mailed our post cards. They even found the nearest veggie restaurants for us. The room was spacious and clean and so was the shower! With the glass door facing into the room, when I took my afternoon constitutional the missus nearly died of fright. Those cheeky continentals! Breakfast was superb. All sorts of chopped fresh fruit and lovely yogurts with mueslis and cereals or brown and granary loaves and rolls to toast if required. The cheese and meat selection was like walking into a New York deli. Not a piece of shrink wrap or packaging in sight. So much to choose from. And succulent pastries and cakes kept the missus drooling and made up for seeing me in the shower. The stone spiral staircase winds around the caged lift shaft and there is a quaint little courtyard off the bar where you can enjoy a coffee or a cold lager if you want. The room was very quiet and had a nice mini bar too. And this hotel has so much to offer besides and the people who work there are discreet and courteous and make you feel important. Loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank MitchamboyManty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews