We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the best place in Vienna !!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension
Ranked #1 of 113 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just the best place in Vienna !!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed December 30, 2006

We stayed with Spiess & Spiess in December just before Christmas. The city of Vienna is magical but Spiess & Spiess Apartments were the 'icing on the cake'. We could not have asked for more. The family Spiess were so welcoming and attentive and the service was first class.

The accomodation itself as spacious, spotless, stylish and clean. When we return to Vienna we will certainly be staying at Spiess & Spiess. Thank you so much.

ps. The breakfast they serve is amazing and the eggs served by Mr Spiess should not be missed!!

J & K
Manchester, UK

  • Liked — Everything !!
  • Disliked — Nothing !!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank OneNote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    70
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
146
289
30
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2006

We stayed with Spiess family from October 27th to November 4th, 2006. The hotel was wonderful -- absolutely no disappointments. The location was ideal and we loved the market and restaurants in the neighbourhood. Ulla was always on hand to give us some advice or information about the city. We'll be back.

Ken and Ruth Morrison, Newmarket, Canada

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank KAMRAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2006

Having flown in from London, this place is excellent. I could not find any flaws in this hotel, except the flight of stairs i have to climb with my roller luggage.

Room is perfect, temperature is good.
Bathroom is heavenly, breafast is tastefully done.

Definitely staying back here!

Oh did i mention, U-Bahn is really a walkable distance of less than 1 min!! This is the underground U2 line.

For the $ strapped like me, there is a supermarket opposite the another entrance of U2. There is two entrance of U2 and this is on the other side. Water for 0.52p, juices at 2litres for 0.99p.

Stayed for 2 nights at Euros$136 everything included

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Lenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2006

If you are seeking a comfortable and convenient place to stay in Vienna, look no further than the Spiess & Spiess Appartement-Pension. From the time of making our initial enquiry until the time we left the hotel we could not have received better service. Mr & Mrs Spiess were so attentive to our needs and made us feel so welcome.
Our room was spacious, bright and well furnished in a contemporary style. Our friend's room was even larger and whilst at the front of the building was extremely quiet as there is no passing traffic..
The breakfast, served by Mr Spiess, was excellent in terms of quality and quantity.
However, one of the best features is the location, which is literally 10 minutes away from the centre of the city. The metro is only 200m from the hotel at the end of the quiet road, There are really good restaurants nearby if you want to eat locally; we recommend the Italian restaurant across the road!
We have travelled extensively and experienced many excellent hotels and B&Bs and we feel certain that you would not be disappointed by any aspect of this hotel.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
12 Thank Ianmactax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2006

Nice location just 50 meters from the subway. Also when coming from the airport Spiess & Spiess was easily reached. By subway it takes about 4 minutes to the city center.

Rooms were large, bright and clean. The minikitchen (stowe and fridge) did not work because the electricity works were not completed after the renovation. Bathroom was also just renovated and there was a tub.

Buffet breakfast was tasty and rich.

We recommend this place especially for the weekend travellers who will stay close to the city center.

Anna & Jukka from Espoo, Finland

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
12 Thank Mattila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2006

Much like the last reviewers I cannot say enough good things about both the S&S and Mrs. Spiess (and her son). My wife and just got back from an extensive trip across both Switzerland and Austria. This hotel, along with the one we booked in Innsbruck were the hotel highlights of a great trip.

There are just too many reasons to book this hotel to list. The only very small downfall is the location is just outside the ring, but is within a couple of hundred feet of the subway stop (and great Greek restaurant).

I would not think twice about recommending this hotel to all travellers.


Thanks S&S and thanks TA community!

  • Liked — The rooms were great.
  • Tips/Secrets — There is a great greek restaurant across the road.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank CSF1331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2006

We loved Spiess & Spiess Appartement, and I would like to thank the TA reviewer who wrote: "Look no further". I corresponded with Mrs. Spiess before booking, and she was unfailingly helpful and patient. We are a family of 4, and we found the room a delight -- large, spacious, beautifully appointed, and comfortable. Lovely terrace overlooking the garden and rooftops of Vienna. Great, intimate breakfast. We liked this place so much, that we returned the night before our departure! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank 2teenmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#5 of 360 in Vienna
1,068 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 360 in Vienna
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#3 of 360 in Vienna
849 reviews
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#9 of 360 in Vienna
2,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension

Property: Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension
Address: Hainburger Strasse 19 | 1030 Vienna, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family owned boutique hotel / B&B in the hearth of Vienna. Spacious, bright, and elegantly furnished rooms of timeless beauty with heated stoneware flooring and large bath tubs in all rooms are what makes us special. Very comfortable beds, Air-conditioning, and included breakfast are standard. In one of the best residential areas of Vienna, located in a quiet back street in a (in 2002) remodeled old (originally built just before 1900) house of classical style, yet directly at an underground stop just a few minutes away from all important places in Vienna, we are the perfect place for your stay in Vienna - no matter if for business or pleasure (or both). Allergy friendly hotel according to ECARF-Standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Fastbooking, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spiess And Spiess Appartement
Spiess & Spiess Appartement Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing