We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension
Ranked #1 of 113 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madison
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Just excellent”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Excellent three night stay this month. Great room ,great breakfasts and friendly staff. Location convenient. Best hotel on our 18 day trip thru E Europe. Highly recommend. Trip was arranged by jay way tours who selected the hotel....excellent choice. Also a rick Steve's listing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    70
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
146
289
30
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Location was pretty good. It was a bit out from the city, but just a few steps from the metro. Very clean rooms, some funky shapes, but good furnishings. No views at all. The breakfast was very good, as were the owner's special scrambled eggs. The desk staff were helpful and very courteous. Had A/C which can be important.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Their breakfast was my favorite. It was fresh and has many selections to choose. I really enjoyed every morning.
The hotel location was fantastic. It is only 2 minute walk from U-Bahn station and only 4 stops away from the city center (Cathedral).
The room was always clean and nicely prepared.
I would recommend this place for anybody who are visiting to Vienna and I would come again if there is any chance to visit the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina_P90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Good location.Stayed in family suite with kids, good sized, air-conditioned room with view of the garden/business district. Comfortable beds with good speed WiFi. Street parking just by the entrance was safe and easily available.Staff was very courteous and helpful. Good breakfast, served by attentive waitstaff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saguaro5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Spent 1 night there, very quiet but perfect location. 1min to metro which makes it 10 min from door to door to city center ( cathedral). Room was huge, perfectly clean, free wifi, all you could expect. Brkfst buffet excellent and service equal. Simply perfect! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theoneandonlyArnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in a superior room. Room was spacious with view over looking the garden. Fit out is a bit dated and room could do with a freshen up. While the location is outside of the old town (main tourist area) it is easy get around using the U-Bahn or an easy 15 minute walk to the town centre. Breakfast was included and is of a good quality. Scrambled eggs are a speciality. Staff are very friendly and keen to assist. Free wi-if is included and there is a PC and printer in the foyer.

Room Tip: Chose a garden view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Well_rested_from_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPIESS-Team, Inhaber at Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest!
Thank you very much for your positive and sincere review! We appreciate it a lot that you took the time to write the review.

Our primary goal is to make your stay at our place and in Vienna as a whole most enjoyable and relaxing - your precious holiday time must not be wasted.

I would like to point out that while all our rooms are maintained well of course, we are constantly working on keeping up the standard you expect from our place. Now 10 out of our 21 rooms are less than one year old. Our Garden Building was just opened in January 2013!

Although all rooms are beautiful and very enjoyable, we are indeed right now working on freshening up the interior design of some rooms to further improve the experience for you.

Last but not least, I would like to mention that we just recently added water kettles and a complimentary premium selection of teas to all our Superior Rooms, Garden Suites and Junior Suites.

We are always keen to receive feedback, so please keep on telling us what you think or what you would like to have improved or added to the guest experience!

Thank you, and I hope you enjoyed your stay in Vienna and at our place! It would be great to welcome you again in the future!
Best regards,
Jean-Philipp Spiess.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

For our family weekend we decided to book two rooms at the Spiess & Spiess Appartment in Vienna. The location is just outside the old city but with the subway just a few steps away it's very easy to get to the centre within a matter of moments. The building is situated in a calm street.
The service and kindness from the employees is one of a kind. We booked two rooms (one standard 2p. room and a junior suite for 3p. Because these rooms weren't located in the same building we got an upgrade from the standard 2p room to a suite so the family would be all together in the building. Immediately we were informed that because we would have a late flight sunday evening that it would be no problem to have a late check out for one of the rooms so we would have time to shower and rest a little before our trip home. What an outstanding service!
The rooms are clean and modern with very good beds and a beautiful bathroom. The rainshower is amazing. The rooms are well air-conditioned which was highly appreciated as outside the temperature rose to 38 C. Breakfast was great. A lot of choice and amazing scrambled eggs. So look no further, this is where you need to go if you want to have a relaxing stay in Vienna.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoAnTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#5 of 360 in Vienna
1,067 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 360 in Vienna
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 360 in Vienna
844 reviews
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#9 of 360 in Vienna
2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension

Property: Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension
Address: Hainburger Strasse 19 | 1030 Vienna, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family owned boutique hotel / B&B in the hearth of Vienna. Spacious, bright, and elegantly furnished rooms of timeless beauty with heated stoneware flooring and large bath tubs in all rooms are what makes us special. Very comfortable beds, Air-conditioning, and included breakfast are standard. In one of the best residential areas of Vienna, located in a quiet back street in a (in 2002) remodeled old (originally built just before 1900) house of classical style, yet directly at an underground stop just a few minutes away from all important places in Vienna, we are the perfect place for your stay in Vienna - no matter if for business or pleasure (or both). Allergy friendly hotel according to ECARF-Standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spiess And Spiess Appartement
Spiess & Spiess Appartement Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing