We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension
Ranked #1 of 118 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Spent 1 night there, very quiet but perfect location. 1min to metro which makes it 10 min from door to door to city center ( cathedral). Room was huge, perfectly clean, free wifi, all you could expect. Brkfst buffet excellent and service equal. Simply perfect! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank theoneandonlyArnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

238 - 244 of 624 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in a superior room. Room was spacious with view over looking the garden. Fit out is a bit dated and room could do with a freshen up. While the location is outside of the old town (main tourist area) it is easy get around using the U-Bahn or an easy 15 minute walk to the town centre. Breakfast was included and is of a good quality. Scrambled eggs are a speciality. Staff are very friendly and keen to assist. Free wi-if is included and there is a PC and printer in the foyer.

Room Tip: Chose a garden view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Well_rested_from_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPIESS-Team, Inhaber at Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Guest!
Thank you very much for your positive and sincere review! We appreciate it a lot that you took the time to write the review.

Our primary goal is to make your stay at our place and in Vienna as a whole most enjoyable and relaxing - your precious holiday time must not be wasted.

I would like to point out that while all our rooms are maintained well of course, we are constantly working on keeping up the standard you expect from our place. Now 10 out of our 21 rooms are less than one year old. Our Garden Building was just opened in January 2013!

Although all rooms are beautiful and very enjoyable, we are indeed right now working on freshening up the interior design of some rooms to further improve the experience for you.

Last but not least, I would like to mention that we just recently added water kettles and a complimentary premium selection of teas to all our Superior Rooms, Garden Suites and Junior Suites.

We are always keen to receive feedback, so please keep on telling us what you think or what you would like to have improved or added to the guest experience!

Thank you, and I hope you enjoyed your stay in Vienna and at our place! It would be great to welcome you again in the future!
Best regards,
Jean-Philipp Spiess.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

For our family weekend we decided to book two rooms at the Spiess & Spiess Appartment in Vienna. The location is just outside the old city but with the subway just a few steps away it's very easy to get to the centre within a matter of moments. The building is situated in a calm street.
The service and kindness from the employees is one of a kind. We booked two rooms (one standard 2p. room and a junior suite for 3p. Because these rooms weren't located in the same building we got an upgrade from the standard 2p room to a suite so the family would be all together in the building. Immediately we were informed that because we would have a late flight sunday evening that it would be no problem to have a late check out for one of the rooms so we would have time to shower and rest a little before our trip home. What an outstanding service!
The rooms are clean and modern with very good beds and a beautiful bathroom. The rainshower is amazing. The rooms are well air-conditioned which was highly appreciated as outside the temperature rose to 38 C. Breakfast was great. A lot of choice and amazing scrambled eggs. So look no further, this is where you need to go if you want to have a relaxing stay in Vienna.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoAnTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just left Vienna after four wonderful dys in Vienna, at Spiess and Spiess. Highly recommend! We had a junior suite, and while I had expected the smaller junior room to be cramped, it was good size, with its own TV, desk, nightstand and even large French windows for a breeze. Very quiet. And of course the full breakfast was great, and convenience of UBahn 30 seconds away. Service outstanding! Always looked things up, helped us plan trips, pick restaurants. Mrs. Spiess, Gabriela, and all were very pleasant and helpful. We ate at the Greek place twice...good food, convenient. Good prices. The Viennese restaurant was just ok. Not a fan if the Asian restaurant they feature on their handout...bad food. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Balcony overlooking courtyard was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Spiess & Spiess was an excellent choice for our vacation in Vienna. Any concern that you have about the place not being in the center of the city is unfounded. The U-Bahn station is just down the street and it's only 2 stops away from Stephansplatz station. This is really the best arrangement, you're on a quiet residential street with great, inexpensive restaurants that cater to locals, but you're just 10 minutes away from all of the tourist areas that you want to see. The hotel itself is wonderful and the rooms are huge, our room by far was the largest room we've ever had in Europe, but at a reasonable price. Breakfast was great as well, and believe what you read about Mr Spiess' eggs, they are quite tasty! We would stay here again when we return to Vienna.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkjava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The apartment is very close to an underground station and only three stops from the city. The place is lovely, the first night we didn't have any shower gel, just an oversight and there was a mix up with our washing, breakfast was fine but wasn't the best we had throughout our stay elsewhere on our trip would consider staying there again because of the location. Another tip the italian restaurant La Trattoria 5 minutes from the apartment is excellent we ate there twice - superb.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ourfreddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We arrived at Spiess & Spiess at 6.30am (after two nine hour plus flights from Sydney, via bangkok) We were shown directly to our room, which was large with a comfy bed, well appointed bathroom with separate loo. We had a great breakfast (at no charge) before setting out to explore Vienna. The neighbourhood is very nice and very close to the underground train - perfect "location" to explore the city. The hosts are lovely (old school hospitality professionals), nothing a bother, great advice on how to get around and restaurants to visit and the breakfast was great.This place lives up to its reputation, would highly recommend to all.

Room Tip: book well in advance as this place is very populary and worth every cent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mj_gypsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
#3 of 359 in Vienna
1,924 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,586 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#12 of 359 in Vienna
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#2 of 359 in Vienna
1,141 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Das Tyrol
Hotel Das Tyrol
#4 of 359 in Vienna
1,552 reviews
Neubau
Hotel am Brillantengrund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension

Address: Hainburger Strasse 19 | 1030 Vienna, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range: $122 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family owned boutique hotel / B&B in the hearth of Vienna. Spacious, bright, and elegantly furnished rooms of timeless beauty with heated stoneware flooring and large bath tubs in all rooms are what makes us special. Very comfortable beds, Air-conditioning, and included breakfast are standard. In one of the best residential areas of Vienna, located in a quiet back street in a (in 2002) remodeled old (originally built just before 1900) house of classical style, yet directly at an underground stop just a few minutes away from all important places in Vienna, we are the perfect place for your stay in Vienna - no matter if for business or pleasure (or both). Enjoy the organic breakfast buffet each morning for a healthy start into your day! Allergy friendly hotel according to ECARF-Standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Fastbooking so you can book your Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spiess And Spiess Appartement
Spiess & Spiess Appartement Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing