We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension
Ranked #1 of 116 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2013

During our recent visit to Vienna we stayed for five days at Spiess & Spiess and thoroughly enjoyed our time.
The location is terrific, just a short walk from the Rochusgasse U3 staion. All the tourist sites in the old city are within an easy walk. Arriving from the airport via the KAT express was very easy.
The front counter staff were friendly, check in was smooth and they offered maps and information about the city. The room was spacious, comfortable and quiet with views into the street below. The Wifi was free and fast enough for our two laptops.

Breakfast was a wonderful buffet complemented with freshly scrambled eggs and freshly brewed coffee. The setting was very pleasant with pristine white table clothes and views over a quite little garden. On the last day it snowed so we enjoyed hot coffee and croissants while watching the dusting of fresh snow over the enclosed garden. In warmer weather this area would be opened up for outdoor dining, which would be equally pleasant.

There are plenty of good restaurants and bars within an easy walk offering the whole range of dining.

If Spiess & Spiess is in your price range I highly recommend it for your time in Vienna.

Room Tip: The Hotel is on a very quiet street so there was no noise from outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

260 - 266 of 613 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in March 2013 with our adult sons and mother ( total of 5 adults) for 3 days then traveled Austria for 4 days then came back for 3 more days. The hotel staff was totally accommodating to these specials needs as they held our excess bags we didn't need for traveling around for 4 days - this certainly made the car ride less cramped. The rooms are just like the pictures show and are well appointed and spacious according to US hotel standards. My wife and I shared a 3 person suite with her mother, while our 2 adult sons stayed in their own room. More than enough room in each one for luggage and walking about or relaxing. All the usual amenities were there and we can't forget the delicious breakfast each morning. The eggs are very good, but there is so much more and fresh fruits and pastries were a real treat. All the staff we as friendly as one could ask for and always helpful for whatever we needed. We had absolutely no complaints and will definitely stay here for all our stays in Vienna. The close subway stop was very convenient, as we had 2 large bags each, and that in itself can be a breaking point in some cities. Thank you to the whole staff and owners, you truly have a great place and know how to please a guest.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank facegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in March and overall felt this was a very nice fit for our larger than average group size. It was quite difficult to locate a room that could accomodate 5 people. I scoured the web hotel sites, VRBO and other European equavalent sites. Normally,we stay at 5 star hotels, but all suites were gone, and buying three seperate rooms at such hotel was cost prohibitive and if we secured only two rooms,then we would need a roll away. Teenage boys vehemently disliike roll aways and so I began the search for an alternative. The vibe here more like a hotel apartment rather than a traditional B & B. The exterior is pretty, the neighborhood has mixed architecture, but the Underground is literally less than one minute away. If you live in the States, think walking to end of your driveway and that's how close it is. The orange 3 line was the best one as it hit the Church and the Museum district. Gabriella can secure the U pass for you at the desk and thats it; super safe, EASY, efficient.

The entry way is cramped and the carpet a bit worn. We stayed in the suites located in the back part of the property. It was NEW, extremely quite and by this, I mean I couldn't hear the three teen age boys next to me, I couldn't hear someone knocking on my door if I was in the far bedroom, and bathroom noises were non existent. The decor appears to be IKEA, but it's new, and currently in good shape, and feels relativley spacious. Their is a bathtub/shower sink room, and then a toilet/sink other room. We had two bedrooms per suite, pulled the twin beds apart in one room,and it worked out well. There were no rugs in the bedrooms and so you must take off yor shoes in the entry way to your apartment. We had two closests per suite.
It was cold here in Vienna and even snowed one

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drddunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Beautiful, clean, cozy, excellent staff and breakfast, warm and gentle owners. Had such a good time there! Excellent location, so close to the subway and the main attractions of the city. Had everything I could possible want.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luciana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We got off the train from the airport into the main city station and asked a cab driver for a ride to Spiess and Spiess. It's not worth the fare, we were told, so off into Vienna we wandered, baby in tow, and walked for ages down long streets lined with rowhouses that reminded me of London. At last we reached the street of the hotel--at last, at last, what a hike!--to find a tube station at the end of the street (although, sans bags and baby, the walk was doable). Lovely, two stops from the Ringstrasse! The hotel was at first dismaying: steps and steps, the welcome desk still showed signs of having rather recently been the hotel bar, a lift so small it took one of us at a time (although it did fit me with the baby). Out I plunged into a narrow hallway and found more steps, open the door into a dark hallway with yet more steps. Ye Gods, spare me! And then I opened the door at the top of all of these steps and I burst out laughing. I set down the baby who bolted, squealing joyfully, through the massive white room, the gorgeous crisp white couches and the breakfast table and huge bed piled high with comforters, to the huge floor-to-ceiling windows sheered with pale gauze so that they glowed like the Alps when the sun hits the snow just right... "It's the best one yet," l called to my poor husband, just emerging blinking from the miniature elevator. And it was: a water closet, a huge 3-person tub, hot shower. A wonderful breakfast in a lovely conservatory with delightful eggs cooked by Herr Spiess. A short subway ride into the city, but now that we had set down our bags we found an open-air market and a park right there, and we fell in love with Vienna before we saw anything else, and now all we want to do is go back and go back and go back, and always stay at Spiess and Spiess.

Room Tip: We overlooked the street--loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KatyMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPIESS-Team, Geschäftsführer at Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Guest! Thank so much for your excellent review! We appreciate it a lot!
Too bad your first contact with a viennese cab driver left you walking all the way to our place...! However we recognize the need to better instruct our guests on how to get to our place. Therefore from now on every guests receives a link to detailed arrival instructions sheet together with the reservation confirmation. Of course our reception will always explain directions or advice on individual arrival plans on request!
The house we are located in was originally built just before 1900, and we tried our very best to carefully retrofit it to all the needs of a hotel of our times, yet maintaining the style and charm of the original (residential) building. Unfortunately we couldn't abandon some steps at the entrance... We will of course gladly assist our guest! Heavy luggage can be transported through the garage on request. From the entrance on, every floor is accessible by the modern fast moving 4to6-person-elevator.

Again thank you very much for your review and feedback! I hope we can welcome you and you family any time in the future!

Best regards, Jean-Philipp Spiess.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed three days at this quiet apartment dwelling in early October. The room was clean and comfortable and the building was equipped with an elevator, so there was no heavy-lifting required. A good breakfast, one to please any appetite, was served every morning in the downstairs dining room. S&S is located on a very quiet street with a number of excellent restaurants within just a few blocks.

We just loved the fact that we were located only a short block away from a subway station that put the entire city at your feet in just a very short time. We purchased 3-day passes that gave us open access to the subway that connected to the busses that connected to the trolleys and all of that was for one price...maybe @ $15 (not sure - can't remember). So we enjoyed the entire city and returned in the evenings to enjoy to quiet comfort of Hainburger Straus.

Can't say enough good things about our hosts! They were helpful in every way, answered our questions and were always present to take care of our needs.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kent-Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPIESS-Team, Inhaber at Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear guests!
I would like to take the chance to say THANK YOU to all our guests for all the great reviews and ratings! As you can see in our listing entry, we have won the TripAdvisor Traveller's Choice Award 2013 for Bed and Breakfasts (#1 in Austria)! This of course excites us very much, especially since we didn't expect this great honor!
We appreciate your feedback a lot! In the past years not only have we tried to do our best to make our place the place of choice for you, but we have also met so many great people and made friends with some! You, our guests, are what makes our efforts worth it! Let's keep going!
Kind Regards to all our guests,
Ulla, Roland, and Jean-Philipp Spiess.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at here for 5 nights over the Christmas holidays. Our stay was perfect and we'd definitely stay again. The subway station is a 2 minute walk down the street and 3 stops later you're in the center of Vienna. We found the subway easy and convenient to use and we enjoyed escaping to the peace and quiet of the Spiess & Spiess neighborhood at the end of the day.

The front desk staff is very helpful and made dinner reservations for us and recommended several activities. One cold afternoon, the hotel staff brought me a tea kettle, tea bags and milk. This was a perfect way to relax before heading out to dinner. While downtown Vienna is beautiful at night, we also enjoyed staying in the little neighborhood near Spiess & Spiess.

There is a wonderful local Viennese restaurant which we enjoyed and when we needed a change of pace we ate at a very good Italian restaurant. Both were less than a 5 minutes walk of Spiess & Spiess. Of course, breakfast is the highlight of the day. You must try the eggs - - not sure what Mr. Spiess does but they are the perfect way to start the day. Meats, cheese, pastries, cereal, coffee and juices are also available on the buffet table.

The rooms (including the bathroom) are large and clean with lots of storage space. You can spread out and relax after a busy day of sightseeing. You need to walk up a few stairs at the hotel entrance but an elevator takes you from there ! They were in the process of opening more rooms in a building that adjoins the back courtyard. I am sure these will be lovely as well.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OgoCinco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#3 of 358 in Vienna
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 358 in Vienna
1,537 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Das Tyrol
Hotel Das Tyrol
#4 of 358 in Vienna
1,515 reviews
Mariahilf
K&T Boardinghouse
K&T Boardinghouse
#2 of 116 in Vienna
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension

Address: Hainburger Strasse 19 | 1030 Vienna, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range: $131 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family owned boutique hotel / B&B in the hearth of Vienna. Spacious, bright, and elegantly furnished rooms of timeless beauty with heated stoneware flooring and large bath tubs in all rooms are what makes us special. Very comfortable beds, Air-conditioning, and included breakfast are standard. In one of the best residential areas of Vienna, located in a quiet back street in a (in 2002) remodeled old (originally built just before 1900) house of classical style, yet directly at an underground stop just a few minutes away from all important places in Vienna, we are the perfect place for your stay in Vienna - no matter if for business or pleasure (or both). Enjoy the organic breakfast buffet each morning for a healthy start into your day! Allergy friendly hotel according to ECARF-Standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Fastbooking and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spiess And Spiess Appartement
Spiess & Spiess Appartement Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing