We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely & Quiet, Yet Super-Convienent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension
Ranked #1 of 114 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely & Quiet, Yet Super-Convienent”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed three days at this quiet apartment dwelling in early October. The room was clean and comfortable and the building was equipped with an elevator, so there was no heavy-lifting required. A good breakfast, one to please any appetite, was served every morning in the downstairs dining room. S&S is located on a very quiet street with a number of excellent restaurants within just a few blocks.

We just loved the fact that we were located only a short block away from a subway station that put the entire city at your feet in just a very short time. We purchased 3-day passes that gave us open access to the subway that connected to the busses that connected to the trolleys and all of that was for one price...maybe @ $15 (not sure - can't remember). So we enjoyed the entire city and returned in the evenings to enjoy to quiet comfort of Hainburger Straus.

Can't say enough good things about our hosts! They were helpful in every way, answered our questions and were always present to take care of our needs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kent-Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPIESS-Team, Inhaber at Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear guests!
I would like to take the chance to say THANK YOU to all our guests for all the great reviews and ratings! As you can see in our listing entry, we have won the TripAdvisor Traveller's Choice Award 2013 for Bed and Breakfasts (#1 in Austria)! This of course excites us very much, especially since we didn't expect this great honor!
We appreciate your feedback a lot! In the past years not only have we tried to do our best to make our place the place of choice for you, but we have also met so many great people and made friends with some! You, our guests, are what makes our efforts worth it! Let's keep going!
Kind Regards to all our guests,
Ulla, Roland, and Jean-Philipp Spiess.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    70
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
147
290
31
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at here for 5 nights over the Christmas holidays. Our stay was perfect and we'd definitely stay again. The subway station is a 2 minute walk down the street and 3 stops later you're in the center of Vienna. We found the subway easy and convenient to use and we enjoyed escaping to the peace and quiet of the Spiess & Spiess neighborhood at the end of the day.

The front desk staff is very helpful and made dinner reservations for us and recommended several activities. One cold afternoon, the hotel staff brought me a tea kettle, tea bags and milk. This was a perfect way to relax before heading out to dinner. While downtown Vienna is beautiful at night, we also enjoyed staying in the little neighborhood near Spiess & Spiess.

There is a wonderful local Viennese restaurant which we enjoyed and when we needed a change of pace we ate at a very good Italian restaurant. Both were less than a 5 minutes walk of Spiess & Spiess. Of course, breakfast is the highlight of the day. You must try the eggs - - not sure what Mr. Spiess does but they are the perfect way to start the day. Meats, cheese, pastries, cereal, coffee and juices are also available on the buffet table.

The rooms (including the bathroom) are large and clean with lots of storage space. You can spread out and relax after a busy day of sightseeing. You need to walk up a few stairs at the hotel entrance but an elevator takes you from there ! They were in the process of opening more rooms in a building that adjoins the back courtyard. I am sure these will be lovely as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OgoCinco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

It really did live up to all the reviews. The location is even better than we expected, one minute walk from the metro and then ten minutes to the Stephansdom. Our bedroom was massive and very comfortable with lots of storage space. Would have preferred a couch to the two armchairs though. Cute balcony. Nice and cosy in the room despite the extremely cold weather we had in early December. People very nice and helpful, and yes the eggs were gorgeous! The Greek restaurant across the road (Irodion) comes highly recommended from us, food great and staff friendly. All in all, would have no hesitation in returning to Spiess & Spiess on my next visit to Vienna!

Room Tip: We had a 'garden side' room (more expensive) but I don't think there is much of a differ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamsterfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Absolutely perfect. Again, great location, ver cosy, the fireplaces are a nice touch. The high points though are always the proprietors, and this is what stands out. Ulla and her front desk team are very helpful and accommodating. Roland's eggs were the best we have ever had, I don't know how he does it. The rest is all a repeat of what others have said, great location, very clean. This is our new home in Vienna, we suggest you make it yours.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is a wonderful apartment in a great location. From the clean cosy room to the wonderful breakfast you couldn't ask for more (except for maybe coffee making facilities in your room). The location is great with a supermarket close by, a good Italian and Greek restaurant just down the street and best of all a 50 metre walks brings you to the subway with Stephensplatz just 3 stops away. The Viennese have a wonderful easy to use subway system so make the most of it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanley111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parainen, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed 4 nights when visiting my daughter last weak. We could not have chosen a better accommodation. I cannot but agree with all the positive reviews below.

Thank you for a wonderful time. I am sure we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I can't say enough about this charming place, and Ulla and Roland, the owners. Our room had a comfy sofa and love seat, chairs, little refrigerator, spacious closet and large dresser. The bathroom was outstanding, with the toilet and shower, with it's own tiny sink and mirror, off the rest of the bathroom which had a wonderfully large tub and sink. The room even had a fireplace although we didn't use it. We were on the 4th floor in an attic apartment so it was very quiet. I had ordered tickets to the Vienna Boys Choir Mass and Ulla had them there for us when we checked in, along with a map.

The breakfast room was relaxing, elegant and cozy. Roland made wonderful scrambled eggs for us, so delicious. It was a treat to have my own pitcher of steamed milk and coffee.

The neighborhood was perfect, a very short subway ride from Old Town, just a one minute walk from the building. It is a quiet residential area with a couple of restaurants just steps away. The Greek restaurant was one of the best in the world, reasonably priced with nice staff.

I can't imagine a better place to stay in all of Vienna, which is a lovely city with a wonderful transportation system and many things to see and experience. I'm afraid we were very spoiled.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a slightly larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixietrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#5 of 361 in Vienna
1,075 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#9 of 361 in Vienna
2,296 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#6 of 361 in Vienna
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension

Property: Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension
Address: Hainburger Strasse 19 | 1030 Vienna, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family owned boutique hotel / B&B in the hearth of Vienna. Spacious, bright, and elegantly furnished rooms of timeless beauty with heated stoneware flooring and large bath tubs in all rooms are what makes us special. Very comfortable beds, Air-conditioning, and included breakfast are standard. In one of the best residential areas of Vienna, located in a quiet back street in a (in 2002) remodeled old (originally built just before 1900) house of classical style, yet directly at an underground stop just a few minutes away from all important places in Vienna, we are the perfect place for your stay in Vienna - no matter if for business or pleasure (or both). Enjoy the organic breakfast buffet each morning for a healthy start into your day! Allergy friendly hotel according to ECARF-Standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spiess And Spiess Appartement
Spiess & Spiess Appartement Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing