We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Speiss and Spiess is fabulous!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension
Ranked #1 of 118 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

It is impossible to do justice to Speiss and Speiss Appartement in a short review. Suffice it to say that it was "fabulous". The thing that made it so special was the kind hospitality of the owner, Ulla and her staff. I was traveling solo in Vienna and developed a medical issue which needed immediate attention. Ulla and her staff arranged a consultation with a doctor which turned out to be a lifesaver. Regarding the room, it was perfect in every way and the abundant breakfast was truly amazing. There is no hotel in Vienna that is more perfectly located with easy access to the metro. I am a seasoned traveler but rarely find accommodations this wonderful. It is without reservation that I recommend this gem of a B&B to anyone visiting Vienna. I have already made plans to return to Vienna now that I have found such an incredible place to stay!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgeafournier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

291 - 297 of 624 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

I was just putting my photos of my recent holidays into my photo album and was reminded of my wonderful stay in Vienna at the Spiess and Spiess. It was extremely well located - near several restaurants and a commercial street, yet the pension itself was on a quiet, residential street. It was also about half a block to the metro and very close to the heart of Vienna. My room was a two-level room, with a balcony, and a soaker tub. But what I remember the most is the kindness of the couple running the place - I had the feeling that they couldn't have done more to help me. Their spot for serving their wonderful breakfast overlooks the back garden. They are going to be expanding in the near future and I wish them well. Thanks so much for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LynneDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We booked a room for six nights here based on other TA reviews. At first, we thought the hotel to be a bit overrated and not quite what we'd expected from the glowing reviews. A couple of other guests we met at breakfast had the same impression. But overall, we truly thought this a nice property in a good location blessed with an excellent and caring family to oversee day to day operations. The hotel is easy to get to since the local underground station (train 3) is just a hundred meters from the front door. We took the CAT from the airport and transferred to the 'U' for the ride to the hotel. This cost 27 Euros, which seemed a bit much considering that a taxi would have been only 34 Euros. But I wanted to experience the CAT and the public transport system in Vienna, having just come from Switzerland where such things run like clock work. Our room (room 6) was roomy with a nice seating area, and roomy bathroom. It also had a small balcony sitting area where one could smoke cigarettes outside the room. There was a separate toilet room, which was nice. The room had a fireplace, which we didn't use. It also had fridge and stainless steel counter space for a small kitchenette. The breakfast room, as noted in other reviews, is quite pleasant and the breakfast service is all anyone could want. The family grand-dad serves hot coffee and eggs on request. He's quite a nice gentleman. Gabriela, from Hungary, operates the front desk during the day. She is a gem. And the family grandmother takes over on the evening shift. She also quite a charming lady. So, very high marks for the hotel staff. The only glitch we experienced in this regard was for the room cleaning. For our first three days, the glasses in our room went unwashed. We were washing them ourselves when we finally reported this to Gabriela. We also said the bath towels had not been changed for three days. We were told we had to put the towels on the floor to indicate that a change was requested. Fair enough. After that, we had fresh glassware and fresh towels everyday in our room, which made things a lot nicer. One more criticism to make regards the mattresses in our room: they seemed rather worn out and sagging in our sleeping experience, no doubt in need of replacement. The neighborhood has some good places for dinner nearby. We can recommend the Greek restaurant across the street from the hotel. I can say without hesitation, based on our six-night experience, that we'll be back to Vienna for another visit, and we'll definitely be back to Spiess & Spiess.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bangkokcassidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPIESS-Team, Manager at Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear Guest!
Thank you very much for your feedback! We appreciate it a lot!
I'm very sorry to hear about the cleaning problems, and we are determined to make sure that such a mishap won’t happen again! Our policy is to always replace towels when wet/dirty or when left on the floor. Furthermore additional or replacement towels are always available around the clock, on request.
We intentionally have rather soft mattresses, and most guests love them. However, on special request we can insert a slat frame into the bed (which is a box-spring bed), to make it more stiff. Regular replacement of the mattresses is to be done on schedule.
I hope to welcome you again in Vienna in our place, maybe the next time in our completely new rooms in the garden building, that we are currently making ready for our guests (to be in operation in January 2013 at the latest)!
Best Regards,
Jean-Philipp.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Large room with fireplace, comfortable chairs, spacious bath, and a very helpful staff. Though not in the city center, it is a great, quiet location that is less than 1 block from the subway stop. Gabriella was very helpful in explaining the metro system and how to get around. Breakfast is served in a lovely atrium with linen tablecloths and napkins, and is staffed by a very nice older gentleman who is always willing to make scrambled eggs for you. Plenty of variety for breakfast that includes various pastries, cereals, meats, cheeses, fresh fruit,yogurt, coffee and freshly squeezed juice. Several good restaurants very close by for dinner. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wjn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Excellent accom and breakfast - great location - highly recommended Room was large and comfy with lovely bathroom and separate toilet - great to come back to after a full day of sightseeing. Breakfast served in the conservatory. Quiet location

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

If there were more than 5 stars on Tripadivsor, I would give S&S more. Perfect, luxurious, spotless and heavenly! A massive room with fireplace, couch and chairs and bed all in white. Open the windows for a fresh breeze and you will feel like you have stepped into a movie. Location is better than city center. We went into Vienna for the day, came back for a rest, 5-10 minute 2 stop ride on U-bahn, and then headed out again for dinner. Very helpful staff when asked for dinner spots suggested Cafe Diglas near St. Stephan's Church. Loved it! Vienna is an easy city to get around and very walkable. Public transportation is so simple/clean there is no need for taxi's. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masulliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I hate to say this but this is the best hotel I have stayed at. This review will now probably mean that when I want to book it will be full up! Staff are kind, helpful and always at hand. The rooms are extremely clean and comfortable and everything works. Roger and Cynthia Baker

Room Tip: All therooms are quiet. Last time I had a room next to the lift and could not hear it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
#3 of 359 in Vienna
1,928 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#12 of 359 in Vienna
1,422 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage Design & Boutique Hotel
Mariahilf
Hotel Das Tyrol
Hotel Das Tyrol
#4 of 359 in Vienna
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension

Address: Hainburger Strasse 19 | 1030 Vienna, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range: $125 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family owned boutique hotel / B&B in the hearth of Vienna. Spacious, bright, and elegantly furnished rooms of timeless beauty with heated stoneware flooring and large bath tubs in all rooms are what makes us special. Very comfortable beds, Air-conditioning, and included breakfast are standard. In one of the best residential areas of Vienna, located in a quiet back street in a (in 2002) remodeled old (originally built just before 1900) house of classical style, yet directly at an underground stop just a few minutes away from all important places in Vienna, we are the perfect place for your stay in Vienna - no matter if for business or pleasure (or both). Enjoy the organic breakfast buffet each morning for a healthy start into your day! Allergy friendly hotel according to ECARF-Standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Fastbooking and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spiess And Spiess Appartement
Spiess & Spiess Appartement Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing