We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent small hotel”
Review of Hotel Cortina

Hotel Cortina
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cortina
Ranked #209 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent small hotel”
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Small hotel close to public transport in a residential area, in the green belt of Vienna.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emilio100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    35
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
30
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
299 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

It's about 600 meters from Ober St. Veit U-bahn on the U4 line, 10 stops from Karlsplatz, 4 from Schoenbrunn. The neighborhood is residential, but clean and safe. I stayed in a comfort double room (302) for 78 euro a night. The room was very big, complete with sitting area and plenty room for two cots for my toddlers. There's a small elevator for those that need it. Parking is on the street, and I parked for 2 nights with no worries. There's a SPAR grocery store only 200 meters away, and my room had a minibar with a small fridge. The lady who worked nights spoke excellent English and recommended a great restaurant across from the SPAR named Bunt (it's not on tripadvisor but the restaurant is outstanding). Breakfast was a bit minimal, but for the price paid compared to Vienna, I won't complain. The only negative is that you're allowed to smoke indoors in Austria, so the lobby wreaks of cigarettes. Free strong WI-FI too.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DaytonJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

Smart rooms and the whole hotel decorated with Klimpt prints - a nice hotel to stay at.
In an outer suburb but with a terrific transport system it's quite easy to get to. If you've got a car then it's free to park on the street with no time limits.
We were moved for our third night to a back room for some reason better known to management where the movement sensor refused to work and you had to grope to get the door open - fixed now I hope. We returned late on the fourth day to stay due to a problem we had to take care of in Vienna but the worman on the front desk informed us that the hotel was full as were all hotels in the area - it's October we were told. No attempt to find another hotel for us - she seemed to have a bad case of Schadenfreude given her bright smile on delivering this information to us.
I did find another hotel no thanks to the good lady. If staying in this area then go just a little further up the road to the Schneider-Gossl hotel (q.v.). Cheaper and in a real village atmosphere with everything at your fingertips.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lockie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2010

A great little hotel in an out of the way neighborhood. Its not near the center, but this is my favorite hotel in Vienna. We've stayed there twice now. Loved it both times. Its exceptionally clean, very quiet, the staff is great and meets all requests. The breakfast is fine and free. Coffee is very good also. There is a great little restaurant 300 M down the street with the best German style (maybe its Austrian style) potato salad I've ever had.
One caution, if you're looking for nightlife, this is not the neighborhood for it. Its a quiet residential neighborhood. If you're looking for a quiet's night sleep in a 4 star hotel for 85 EUR/hight this is the place!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank warsawjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2008

I should start by saying that I have stayed in at least 6 Viennese hotels, including well-regarded 4 star properties. In an effort to save money given the dollar's declining valley, I "shopped around" for a good deal in an interesting neighborhood. The Cortina is definitely not in a typical tourist area, but Hietzing is easily reached by underground (Ober St. Veit stop) and one can be in city center in 15 or minutes or so. Hietzing itself is a delight, replete with great local restaurants, interesting architecture, a village-like shopping area, the wonderful Cafe Dommayer, a lovely restaurant (Alte Weinhuette), the zoo, and more. The hotel is immaculately clean. Rooms have blond wood and clean lines and feature a comfortable bed, good lighting, a small table, and a mini bar. The front desk manager was an absolute delight---personable, well-informed, and attentive. He supplied us with a wonderful map featuring Viennese architecture, which we used to find many of Hietzing's significant buildings including those by Loos and Hoffman. [The area is terrific for anyone with an interest in Vienna's modernist period!] Breakfast at the hotel was civilized and copious, and the breakfast room is non-smoking. The atmosphere is very soothing, with a sophisticated color scheme and posters of Vienna's architectural gems. There was a more-than-adequate buffet with great breads, cheeses, yogurt, fresh fruit, muesli, unlimited hot beverages, boiled eggs etc.

If someone needs to be right in the middle of the first district and can spend several hundred dollars a night, there are undoubtedly many fine options. But at 106 Euros including breakfast for two, the choice of the Cortina Hotel seems to be an unbeatable option.

Oddly, the property has only 2 Trip Advisor reviews. It merits a much closer look!

  • Liked — charm, service, amd immaculate room
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Xocoafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2007

Hotel Cortina is a little way outside the city centre and about 10 minutes walk from the Ober St Viet metro station. It is very quiet, the rooms are clean and spacious, the staff are friendly and helpful.
I will stay there again when visiting Vienna. In the village, by the church is a little restaurant called "Mikel's" or something similar. He is the "waiter" and his wife is the cook. The food is good homestyle stuff, the wine is tremendous and the grappa is free! Not formal dining by any stretch of the imagination but a great night out as well as a good meal

  • Liked — Friendliness and value for money
  • Disliked — Distance from metro
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank PeterC48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hietzing
Hotel Viktoria
Hotel Viktoria
#266 of 360 in Vienna
112 reviews
Hietzing
Schneider-Gossl Hotel
Schneider-Gossl Hotel
#234 of 360 in Vienna
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hietzing
Hotel Ekazent
Hotel Ekazent
#199 of 360 in Vienna
171 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Furstenhof
Hotel Furstenhof
#193 of 360 in Vienna
216 reviews
Dobling
Derag Livinghotel Kaiser Franz Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cortina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cortina

Property: Hotel Cortina
Address: Hietzinger Hauptstrasse 134, Vienna 1130, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Hietzing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#145 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cortina 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run 4-star hotel with 47 rooms in the calm and elegant Hietzing district (13th) of Vienna. The 4-star hotel offers comfortable rooms and well-equipped apartments, coupled with the tranquillity and charm of one of Vienna's most chic areas. Before arriving at one of our traditional-style rooms or newly-furbished apartments, you will find the best of our customer service at our reception area. Club Hotel Cortina is within walking distance from historic landmarks, such as the iconic Schonbrunn Palace, as well as from the headquarters of some of Vienna's major firms, including Austria's public service broadcaster ORF. Whether you are visiting Vienna for its sights, for its culture, or purely for business, enjoy a nice cup of coffee and glance over today's news at our comfortable lobby before taking on the city. Conveniently located next to our reception, our hotel bar welcomes guests until late in the evening. With free wireless internet connection and a selection of beers, spirits and snacks, you will find our bar to be a nice place to stop on the way back to your 4-star Cortina room or apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Cortina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cortina Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing