We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming Place -- and Just Outside Vienna's Center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rooms Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 117 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I was in one of the downtown hotels for a business meeting in early July and wanted someplace different for a second night, after the conference was over. Found The Rooms right here in Trip Advisor and was intrigued by the reviews. This is a unique, lovely place and one can tell that Eva put a lot of thought into the rooms, themselves, and the common areas. The designs are whimsical -- I don't have photos of my own but the photos others have posted (and the owners', too) are representative of this place. Each room is one-of-a kind.

I was traveling solo and stayed in in a smaller room ("Contemplation") that is very comfortable for one and would do for two -- the room has a small balcony and the inside is furnished imaginatively with some unique furnishings. And it's modern and comfortable -- I especially appreciated the sizable bathroom.

I really enjoyed the breakfast set-up -- others have posted some lovely pictures of the front room. It's a veranda really, open to the garden in nice weather. Breakfast is served there, and the homemade muesli is just delicious, with add-on ingredients on the table, too, and fresh bread, nice jams, fresh fruit, and good coffee. .

I'm glad Eva has a helper for breakfast service, because I needed to leave early for the airport and The Rooms totally accommodated my request for an early breakfast (7 am -- that's great for a B&B).

The Rooms are a part of the family house -- yet the B&B part of the house has its own entrance. Information and help are close by, yet one doesn't feel like he/ she is intruding on family life.

My companions at breakfast that day were a nice couple who had driven in from elsewhere in Austria for a school interview that morning (if you are driving, there is street parking). After breakfast, I sat outside for a few peaceful moments in the small, pretty garden -- in which Joshua (co-innkeeper) and I had had a chat the previous evening as he watered the plants after his day job!

Several reviewers have mentioned how accessible the hotel is to downtown, and I echo that. The Rooms' own Web site will give you a flavor for that, and good directions for the short walk from Kagran Metro stop to the B&B, which is on a residential street. Not far from the metro is a bus to the airport -- it is an efficient and inexpensive way to get to the airport. Obtain good directions from Eva on just where to catch the bus -- it runs on a precise schedule and is not exactly co-located with the Metro Station.

The first week in July 2012 experienced quite a heat wave in central Europe -- I got the impression that all of Vienna is not prepared for that kind of heat. Anyway, my room (and I suppose all the rooms) do not have a/c. It does have a fan. Something to take into account if a/c is a requirement for you in hot weather.

A very pleasant stay -- I would gladly stay again, as a solo or as a couple.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ground-pounder08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 206 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

We arrived significantly later than originally planned owing to train delays.

Eva greeted us with a welcoming smile saying that she was worried about us, we were soon shown into our room delightful airy and wonderfully quirky. We love to stay at B & B establishments as we like to feel that we are staying with people who love to make guests feel totally at home and we were not disappointed in the slightest.

Eva and her team do a wonderful job and cannot fault them in anyway.

If you like small independent establishments you cannot go far wrong with The Rooms

Bob and Della

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Blobs52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

The Rooms is a nice B&B, conveniently located (only 5 min. walk from Kagran metro stop) in a quiet neighborhood close to the old Danube. The building and the rooms are well-designed and you can tell that a lot of thought and effort went into choosing cool furniture to give the whole place a very contemporary touch.

Unfortunately, soundproofing is lacking, so you can hear other guests have a conversation in the next room which I find quite exacerbating at night. It's also a little on the pricey side, if you consider the fact that it's not in the city center.

The reason why I chose a B&B instead of an anonymous chain hotel was to have some sort of personal interaction with the hosts (i.e. ask questions about good restaurants, sights, etc.) Unfortunately, this was not the case at all here and became especially apparent during breakfast. People here just seemed very indifferent and not very hospitable.

Breakfast was served on the table in the morning in a sort of buffet style...some fresh fruit and nice bread...but you were asked what you wanted to drink, got your ONE cup of coffee and then the host disappeared for good and shut the door. Makes you feel kind of weird when you have to ask for a second cup of coffee, especially considering the price of the B&B.

On my next trip to Vienna, I'll give a chain hotel another chance.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank optimusprime74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Thats the best hotel we ever seen in my life and thats why:

1. The owner of the hotel - Eva, is very kind and helpful person. I didn't felt like i was in hotel, i felt like i was at home :D Thank you so much Eva!
2. Location is great for me. Its VERY quiet place, away from all the noise. But still, you can get to the center in 10 minutes with public transport. You can always have a great meal nearby the hotel, on the river restaraunt. But take care, Austrian dishes are served for dinosaurs - very big.
3. The rooms are adorable, each one is unique and build with love.
4. Breakfast gives you chance to try different tasty cheeses along with a chance to have a nice chat with your neighboors.

So, the conclusion.The rooms B&B is the best what happened with us in Vienna. Ok monkeys at haus des meers was great too :D

Room Tip: Each room is unique, look at website!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliashviliGia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

A friend and I stayed three nights with Eva towards the end of this month. The location is a bit outside of town but a quick U-Bahn ride to pretty much anywhere you need to go. The room was nice and the breakfast was a welcome change to the other B&Bs we stayed at during out trip. Eva gave us some great recommendations for restaurants and must do sites. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blyth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

The B&B is located in a quiet suburb of Vienna, but is only a 5 minute walk to the metro which gets you downtown in 15 minutes. The breakfast was good and included eggs cooked to order, small fruit bowl, bread with home made jam, fruit and cheese, coffee and tea. The owner was helpful and pleasant and tried to make our stay enjoyable. She has taken great care in decorating the rooms. The basement room is bigger and cooler, but dark and the upstairs room was smaller but brighter.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Globetrotters321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Close to metro station and VIC. No problems with parking a car. Nice rooms with Wi-Fi and very comfortable mattress. Delicious breakfast with variety of bread, jams, cheese, fantastic onion marmolade, fruits, eggs and perfect espresso. I will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jusia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Neubau
Hotel am Brillantengrund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Fabrik
#10 of 117 in Vienna
187 reviews
Inner City
Opera Suites
Opera Suites
#6 of 117 in Vienna
299 reviews
Mariahilf
K&T Boardinghouse
K&T Boardinghouse
#2 of 117 in Vienna
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rooms Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rooms Bed and Breakfast

Address: Schlenthergasse 17, Vienna 1220, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Kaisermühlen
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range: $100 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rooms Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms, a family run 4 room bed & breakfast, is located in a newly built house in a green and quiet neighbourhood next to the old danube river. Yet it is still very close to the city center. All rooms are different and individually designed and offer a very special atmosphere. A big porch and a garden are available for the guests. A spacious bathroom, satellite TV and WLAN are standard in all the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Rooms Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rooms b&b
The Rooms Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing