We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ambassador
Nearby Hotels
$225
$156
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Austria Classic Hotel Wien(Vienna)(Great Value!)
$203
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$177
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pension Neuer Markt(Vienna)(Great Value!)
$184
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Novotel Suites Wien City Donau(Vienna)(Great Value!)
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Domizi(Vienna)
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Novum Hotel Prinz Eugen Wien(Vienna)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Kugel(Vienna)(Great Value!)
$144
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$255
$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer(Vienna)(Great Value!)
$94
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (642)
Filter reviews
642 results
Traveler rating
283
240
76
19
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
283
240
76
19
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsneuer marktgreat locationthe main pedestrian streetopera housetwo sinksfirst flooreuropean standardsrooms are hugehigh ceilingsthe heart of the cityclassic hotelhotel restaurantold world charmjunior suitemajor attractionscomfortable roomsthe air conditioning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
213 - 218 of 642 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I was wary of my booking after checking the ratings of this hotel. We had taken two rooms and we were extremely happy. The rooms that we were allocated after an upgrade were large, had a high ceiling and a chandelier, with a deep blue carpet with little flowers. All very old world and palatial. The location is spectacular being a moment away from the opera, metro, tram, museum quartier, Albertina, St.Stephens. Breakfast options around the hotel range from lovely coffee shops, the Sacher Cafe to the international takeaway Henrys. The hotel is tightly staffed and at any point of time there are one/two persons at front office and one handyman. The restaurant was lovely with very reasonably priced food but we stepped out for dinner everyday. We had some problem with the plumbing in our room on day two but we were transferred to another room as soon as possible. In the interim they let us use the bathroom of a ready rom at another floor. They handled the problem very amicably and pleasantly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank indianlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Indianlady,

Thank you very much for your great feedback. We are more than happy that we were able to fulfill your expectations and you enjoyed your stay at the Ambassador Hotel Vienna.

We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences with your bathroom. However, we are glad that those troubles got handled efficiently by our staff.

We look forward to having you as our guest again.

Kind regards,

Ambassador Hotel Vienna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Good hotel, nice, clean, cosy and having big rooms, in the middle of everything, you just step out and you are already on Kartner strasse.
Don`t take the valet parking system because they day when you have to get back your car you`ll wait 40-60 minutes to get back your car.
Receptionists are not friendly but they do what they have to.
Breakfast is very good but everyday we had to ask different things what just finished to fill up and it was weird that in the middle of strawberry season at half time of breakfast the strawberry was finished. Waiters: some of them very professional, very friendly and nice, few of them most probably choose the wrong job in his life.
As we have small kid with us and pushchair we would love to have a room with easy access but we have got a room where we had to walk from the elevator actually the farest room on the floor and there is a stair as well where we had to go up and down every time with all our things: child, pushchair etc.... they should consider next time when someone goes with kid to give a room with easier access!
Good price-value ratio.
We recommend it all together!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappiestMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear HappiestMother,

thank you very much for sharing your impressions on tripadvisor.

We are sorry that some of our services did not meet your expectations.

We try our best to consider room requests or other special requests. If you travel with a small kid and need easy access to your room, we recommend to contact us prior to your stay. In high season it might be difficult to change the assigned room during the check-in process.

Our reception will gladly assist you with any future bookings. Please do not hesitate to contact us at office@ambassador.at

Kind regards

Ambassador Hotel Vienna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Although the location is good, everything else was not worth more than 3 stars. The following items should be improved:
1) The reception is more suited for a 3-star hotel (maybe 4-star).
2) Erratic and unsatisfied employees.
3) Very difficult to open room doors.
4) No light in bathroom.
5) The shower tub is too small.
6) The toilet is too small.
7) Breakfast rates vary from day to day from €16 to €25 and there was no hot breakfast buffet.
8) No parking garage, thus required to wait up to 15 minutes for valet parking.
9) The rooms are too small.
10) The door handles keep falling off.
11) The soap & shampoo & towel amenities are the equivalent that one would have in a 3-star hotel.
12) No wellness nor indoor pool facilities, which is standard for most 5-star hotels in Croatia.
I own 4- and 5-star hotels in Dubrovnik, Croatia and am writing this to help Hotel Ambassador improve and to warn potential guests to check with the hotel prior to booking to see if these improvements have been made.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank DubrovnikDalmatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Hotel is centrally located on the main shopping street and close to all sights. We were upgraded to a suite which very spacious with a beautiful bathroom and nice view. Breakfast is a bit overpriced but worth a try for the nice view.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welovetotravel1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Welovetotravel1000,

thank you very much for sharing your impressions about your stay at the Ambassador Hotel Vienna.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the spacious design of our rooms and the central location on Kärntner Straße.

We look forward to welcoming you again when your travel plans bring you back to Vienna.

Kind regards

Ambassador Hotel Vienna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I spent a 4 day weekend in Vieinna. We inquired in advance about the best possible way to arrive and received a quick repsonse and easy directions from the airport via the train. Upon arrival the staff at the front desk were extremely helpful and courteous with information of the city. Even though the hotel is quite beautiful and in a suburb location it was unfortunately lacking. The entire hotel smelled of stale smoke...as well as our "non smoking" room. The bed was so close to the door, we had to enter one at a time.. Each day we were only given one bath towel, and found that a small towel I had used to remove my makeup was recirculated and used as a bath mat. None of our toiletries were ever replaced and strangely enough some small change we left on the desk was mistaken for a tip. All in all it was fine, but certainly not for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Christy B,

thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Ambassador Hotel Vienna.

Your opinion is highly valued and we would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences. Please be assured that we will discuss your comments with our housekeeping team to prevent future occurrences.

We truly hope to get the chance to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Ambassador Hotel Vienna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews