We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent choice for those who will explore the inner city of Vienna.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ambassador

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ambassador
Ranked #128 of 368 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for those who will explore the inner city of Vienna.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We booked for three days and I have to say that I realised the high value of its location when I tried to make a plan for the top ten attractions that we had to see before we leave. So, Ambassador it is only 3-4 minutes walking distance from Stefansdom and Mozart house. It is also very close to the metro station U1 line.
10 minites walking from Hofburg, 7 minutes from Spanish Riding school, 20 minutes from Museum of Natural History and Kunsthistorishes.
You can reach the known coffee shops such as Hawelka, Demel, Central, Europe, in maximum 10 minutes walking distance. It is located on Karntner street which is one of the greatest commercial roads of Vienna and in 3-4 minutes you can also reach Graben street. Moreover nearby are qualitative Viennese restaurants such as Drei Husaren, Ferdinand, Frauenhuber (coffee shop-light meals) etc.
The room was a classical double (see attached photos). It was spacious and comfortable with classical decoration and romantic atmosphere. The bathroom was just good but not so luxurious for a 5-star Hotel. The personnel willing to assist any time we asked for it. One disadvantage of the room was the luck of many international and English hearing TV channels. Most of the TV programs are in German, thus if you still need to watch a movie in English you should rent it with an extra charge (5-12 Euros).
The hotel doesn't offer a spa or swimming pool, so if you are lovers of relaxation, the hotel will not meet your expectations.
Finally I can say that our accommodation was a positive experience and the highlight of the hotel is its convenient location. But I believe that real category of it, is a 4-star hotel and definitely not 5-star.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katerina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    207
    58
    14
    13
See reviews for
101
220
38
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I booked this hotel for the location as we were only for one night in Vienna attending the Operaball. Location could not be better. 200 meters walk from the Wiener Staatoper, in Kartner Strasse. Kind and welcoming staff at the reception. The room was very big, but old fashioned, I did not like the decoration at all and would expect more from a 6! star hotel. There was no tea/coffee maker in the room. Bathroom looked old but clean. We got back to the hotel around 2 in the morning and thought they would have rooms service for some late night snack. Unfortunately they had not,but the guy at the reception suggested a great local place at Albertina, where a lot of Operaball guests had their famous bratwurst. All in all we had a good but not outstanding stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NoellyM361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed there in May 2012 with my mum for 2 weeks. We found the hotel to be very nice. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were oversize. We were in Rooms 405 and 406, which faced the busy side and didn't find it too noisy. The windows are double glazed which stops the noise. We are planning to go back this year and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pharmaboy1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

If you have a day or two in Vienna and want to stroll and enjoy its spirit this could be good solution! With a modest lobby and the reception desk, hotel is getting more and more interesting with every meter you are in! Nice hallways, with room tags with names of famous persons that stayed in, spacious rooms in old Viennese style. Downside is expensive 25 euro ,,sub-modest" breakfast and 35 euro parking from 23pm-11am!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is situated half way along one of the main pedestrianised shopping streets. 5 min walk to the cathedral + subway and 5 mins in other direction to State Opera House. Stayed in a themed room which was huge and beautiful. Reception staff were friendly + helpful. Only complaint was bar prices were too high (probably why it was empty!) + breakfast was 25 euro each, but we strolled down to the opera house cafe + paid 8 euro each instead! Overall a great hotel + will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janice_xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel with everything that you would expect from an old style Viennese hotel in terms of room size and furniture. It is located in the most central position which meant that we were able to visit all the main sights on foot.

I would have given it five stars but for the fact that the price of the breakfast was ridiculous at 25 euros and nothing special. The breakfast should have been included in the cost of the room. There are plenty of nice coffee shops around where we had excellent breakfast for half that price.

Having said that I would recommend this as a great base for visiting Vienna. There is free WiFi in the hotel as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnfromPinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayedfor four nights at the ambassador hotel situated on the Ringstrasse. The situation of this hotel is excellent for sight seeing eating out shopping. Our room was very nice on the second floor, the only downside was that immediately we left our room the smell of cigarette smoke from the bar area was overpowering. The bar area was open and of course in Scotland we are now so accustomed to a no smoking policy in all public areas so perhaps that is why it seemed so u comfortable to us. Apart from this I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to you for your travel to Vienna,
We we to cafe central for breakfast this was a good time to visit this wonderful cafe as later in the day there are many large queues.
We did the three city bus tours which was helpful and allowed us to get a better idea of this lovely city.
We at eat the Italian restaurant Firenze and theaustrian restaurant Fhurich both very close to the hotel. On our last night we ate in Le Ciecle at the grand hotel Vienna - wow it was fab expensive but worth it!
We went to a concert at the Imperial hall which was excellent and our evening at the Gold Hall
With a wonderful ensemble was the highlight of our trip, we also managed a tour of the Gold Hall prior to the concert.
The shops are fabulous and the Christmas decorations quite beautiful
We had wanted to visit Vienna for some time and this was our 60th birthday present to each other the trip was even better than our expectations,

Room Tip: Our room was quite and overlooked the main shopping area with all the lovely Christmas lights,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uniqueholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
#28 of 368 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 stars 607 reviews
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#35 of 368 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 stars 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien
Inner City
Pension Aviano
Pension Aviano
#174 of 368 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador

Property: Hotel Ambassador
Address: Kaerntner Strasse 5, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Vienna
#49 Family Hotel in Vienna
#78 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#94 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ambassador 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambassador Hotel is a luxurious business hotel, located in the heart of Vienna, directly on the Kärntner Strasse shopping street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Wien Hotel
Ambassador Wien Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing