We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in the old district, huge beautiful rooms, great location but unprofessional reception staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ambassador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Ambassador
Ranked #151 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Beirut
Level Contributor
79 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the old district, huge beautiful rooms, great location but unprofessional reception staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I was there with my husband for a conference. I recommend strongly this hotel mostly for its location, very practical and in the middle of the old district. The rooms are very nice and spacious not as much as the bathrooms. The only lack in the rooms is that there is no drink making facilities in the rooms.
Regarding the staff of the hotel, we had a bad experience with the personnel of the reception. The personnel at the reception is not really fluent is English, they are not very helpful probably because most of the time there is only one person to help all the guests at the reception.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NOUR F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    217
    62
    16
    15
See reviews for
111
234
42
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Located in Kartner Strasse, the main street for shopping, between two metro station, the hotel is the perfect spot to visit the inner stadt, with lots of shops and traditional cafe.
We were in a classic double bedroom. The room was luxury decorated in classical viennese style, bathroom up to date but simple and quite minimal, with double basin and bidet.
I would appreciate one piece of bed but the bed was made of two single bed, maybe this is how they create a double bed. The hotel was clean, quiet and reception and restaurant metre are trained to high standard. I really enjoyed the stay!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vivian191199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed last night for a business trip, booked through the airline. The hotel is OK but doesn't have much atmosphere. There are no drink making facilities in the room and the breakfasts are ridiculously expensive at 25 euros.

There are plenty of places around the hotel for a nice breakfast at half the price (or cheaper if you like MacDonalds).

I wouldn't stay again, I don't think it is very good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RonBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
257 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is not normally the kind of place I stay...it's really quite expensive to me (over $300 US dollars) but I was here for a conference and stayed an extra night. The rooms are very large and spacious, as are the bathrooms. On our visit, the food in the restaurant was excellent and the service, particuarly the bar and restaurant is unparalleled. The location is nice and close to St. Stephen's church and the great thing about the location is that if you use one door, you are on a street and can get a taxi, etc. If you use the other door, you are on Karntner Strasse, which is a pedestrian street which is very lively with plenty to do. So many things are walkable from here but metro is also very close. If you are a person who stays in this level of hotels, I can't imagine you would be disappointed by a stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alliswell252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west vancouver
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Ambassador Hotel is a lovely hotel in the old district. We were given a suite on the second floor overlooking the street but very quiet. French doors , very spacious and updated. The location was amazing for all the walking and sight seeing we did, and it was fun to overlook the square. A great experience for the price.

Room Tip: we were in room 218
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simpsonWestVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Ambassador still has the ambiance of a grand, nineteenth century hotel, but it is a bit faded. The room we stayed in was spacious, with a high ceiling and a chandelier, but lacked a desk or easy chairs. The bathroom needed an update, and had ceramic tiles rather than the marble one would expect in a luxury hotel. On the other hand, the staff was helpful and professional, but we never saw a concierge or doorman in our four night stay. The location is perfect for sightseeing, shopping, public transportation and excellent restaurants. We skipped the 25 Euro breakfast at the hotel and found plenty of casual places nearby at much less cost.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Neuer Markt side are probably quieter; our room faced Kartner Strasse, which is a pedes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel is very centrally located. We had two rooms and when we checked in found out that they were adjoining. But the door between the two rooms would not open. This was efficiently fixed by a hotel employee. The rooms were beautiful. One room had a little sitting area with a tv and doors that closed off the bedroom. The other room was one big room. Both had beautiful chandeliers in them. This is the place I would stay in again if I ever go back to Vienna. We left Vienna for Prague and stayed at a different hotel chain in Prague. If I had known how nice the Ambassador was, I would have stayed at the Ambassador in Prague.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennaW703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
#34 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#33 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Inner City
Pension Aviano
Pension Aviano
#186 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador

Property: Hotel Ambassador
Address: Kaerntner Strasse 5, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Vienna
#49 Family Hotel in Vienna
#78 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#111 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ambassador 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambassador Hotel is a luxurious business hotel, located in the heart of Vienna, directly on the Kärntner Strasse shopping street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Wien Hotel
Ambassador Wien Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing