We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, bright and convvenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Westend City Hostel
Ranked #34 of 196 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, bright and convvenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Good and friendly personnel, nice clean kitchen, quiet rooms.
The only bad thing - lavatory and shower are in one room. Not very comfortable, especially in a room for 8 people.
Location: the hostel is near the train station, which is troublesome in a way because of people arriving and departing. But the hostel is in a corner-street which is small and quiet and is very close to subway station.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaitnaShaitanovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    80
    42
    11
    9
See reviews for
5
15
56
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Room:
We stayed in a 10-bed room which was clean and didn't feel too cramped even with people's luggage lying around. There were 12 good-sized, individual lockers which you need your own padlock for.

Bedding was on a par with what I'd expect from a hostel, just very basic and one flat pillow but it did the job.

The one drawback with the room was that there were only 4 plug sockets between 10 people which were situated right next to the door so I didn't feel comfortable leaving my phone unattended where it could potentially be pinched.
------------------------
Facilities:
We had a dedicated bathroom for our 10-bed room which was clean but the shower head wasn't attached very well so kept sliding down. A minor niggle. With only one shower/toilet between 10 people there was some inevitable queuing in the mornings.

The common room was good with two PCs for internet access and a reasonable amount of seating and vending machines with snacks/beer. There is Wi-Fi but it is technically only in the common room but we got good coverage in our room on the 1st floor, I imagine it wouldn't stretch very well to the higher up floors. Plenty of plug sockets downstairs which is where I ended up charging my devices so I could keep an eye on them while chilling out.

There is a locked luggage room if you need somewhere to leave your things before/after check in/out.
--------------------------
Kitchen:
We bought some ingredients to make some dinner only to discover that there isn't a hob, just a microwave and dishwasher and basic utensils which was disappointing although the area itself was clean and had a bar on either side so it was quite sociable.
---------------------------
Reception/Staff:
Staff were all very friendly and helpful although there was a little bit of needless bureaucracy where we had to go to reception to get a 'breakfast card' which we then handed directly to someone else downstairs in exchange for breakfast.

Breakfast was decent if basic with tea/coffee, cereal/bread and condiments.
---------------------------
Location:
Very good location just round the corner from Westbahnhof and the U-Bahn. On a quiet side street so no noise.

Room Tip: If you don't like queuing for the toilet go for a smaller room. And ask for a room closer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paddy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hostel is in a very centrally located area near the train station. Staff is very helpful and nice. The free breakfast is excellent, it is cleaned daily and very nice. The kitchen area is fully stocked with dishes, cutlery and microwave. I felt comfortable and safe as a young, small woman travelling with my other young, small woman companion! The only downside is having to pay for a padlock as your locker doesn't come with one. We stayed in the dorm-style room with multiple lockers so it may vary if you have a different room choice.

Room Tip: We had the dorm room (4 bunkbed style) that was on the first floor right next to the front door and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpratt406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Loved this hostel because of the location, close to the train station and very close to a metro stop which in 7 minutes would have you walking next to st. Stephan's cathedral. They do give you free breakfast, there is free wifi, and your own bathroom that you share with the others in your room.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sopafiatraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is located in a safe neighbourhood just a few min. away from the main train station and the underground station. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Simple breakfast is provided every morning from 7:30-10:00am. The room and washroom are extremely clean. The only thing is that the doors and walls between rooms are very thin so you can hear everything going on in the corridor and in your neighbour's room. So be considerate and speak softer if you stay here! Also, request a room that does not have a window facing the back of the elevator because it's very noisy all day long whenever someone uses it.

Overall, it's quite highly recommended to stay here if you make a visit to Vienna.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytourist098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cergy, France
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

I'm from Paris and I was there for X'mas and it was a nice time..nice location you have several food shops. Service is very good and people are very nice !! But there are small problems too . Such as 4 sockets for 8 mix room and safety of valuables!! Because you have lockers and you have to bring the padlocks by yourself !! Anyway it's worth and you can't have 100% of safety anywhere on this world.. The staff is trying to give there maximum effort on this matter and that's nice them !! Cheers guys

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MudithaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Pros:

Breakfast included every morning
Good security, lockers big enough for cabin baggage available in rooms
Only a 5min walk from W. station (handy when you're needing to catch the international train)
Only a street back from the main shopping strip and approx 20min walk from the main attractions
I found the staff friendly enough and helpful when you ask the right questions - they don't necessary offer you anymore info unless you specify what you're after

Cons:

I'm not a fan of smoking, so to smell cigarette smoke drifting up to the room I was in (on the first level) then that was my tough luck
It is Europe, afterall.
I thought the cost for a load of laundry was quite steep for a hostel (7 euro) but then again, maybe that's average?

Overall, I would recommend!

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper...the fewer the beds, the better. Though it's just pot luck who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ailecSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hostel Ruthensteiner
#1 of 196 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Neubau
Kaiser 23 Ho(s)tel & Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Do Step Inn
#13 of 196 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Wieden
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westend City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westend City Hostel

Property: Westend City Hostel
Address: Fuegergasse 3, Vienna 1060, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 196 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO WESTEND CITY HOSTEL!Our Hostel is the most centrally located youth hostel right in the heart of Vienna. Enjoy your visit in a quiet location with a stylish and charming atmosphere in a beautiful newly renovated historical building (built in 1876). We are located next to the railway and metro station “Wien Westbahnhof” and the most popularshopping street of Vienna Mariahilfer Strasse.The City Center is within 15 minutes walking distance. All major sights, museums, restaurants, cafés and discos can be reached quickly by foot or by public transportation.What we offer:breakfast buffet + free bedlinen + shower & toilet in every room + free lockers in the room and free luggagestorage+ free wifi + free map& travelguides and information + 24h reception + laundry room + Internet access + comfortable common area with satellite TV & table football + simple guest kitchen+ vending machine and coffee machine + courtyard with seats.How to find us:From “Westbahnhof“ (about 3 min):Leave the main hall of the Westbahnhof and cross the main road "Gürtel" towards"Innere Mariahilferstraße" (towards city center). On the „Christian Broda Platz“ take the first right onto "Millergasse", then the first left onto "Fügergasse".From “Wien Meidling“ (about 15 min): Take U6 to „Westbahnhof”.From the “international airport”: Take the CAT or S7 to "Wien Mitte" and then theMetro U3 direction "Ottakring", exit Westbahnhof; or take the bus from theairport to "Wien Westbahnhof".From “Südbahnhof- main train station” (about 20 min): Take the tramway 18 to “Westbahnhof“. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Westend City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing