We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld
Ranked #117 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
DCR
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We spent 5 nights in a junior suite which gave us more room. It was the quietest hotel we have stayed in on a 6 week trip.
Being in a wheelchair this place was perfect. It had a shower you could wheel into and transfer ( I always carry a collapsible shower chair). Although there are no grab rails the floor wasn't slippery.
The room had a small seating area which was great.
The doors from reception to the rooms are automatic..
The staff were friendly and allowed us to check out at7pm for an extra 50€
The breakfast was included and delicious
The cost was about120€ a night from a late check in site.
It's in district 7 and between bus stops which was convenient

Room Tip: If disabled ask for room 030
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MYRNIONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sascha S, General Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear MYRNIONG, I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld. We hope to welcome you again the next time when you are in Vienna. Best regards Sascha Stöckl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    246
    72
    17
    10
See reviews for
75
255
31
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maitland, Ontario
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We went to this hotel as part of a package Avalon Waterways river cruise. It was supposed to be another hotel but Avalon changed hotels at the last minute (no kudos to Avalon). We stayed three nights. Over a hundred people finished their cruise package in this hotel; I did not hear anyone praise the hotel -- every comment I heard was negative.

The location of the hotel is inconvenient, too far from the centre of Vienna; it's a long walk or a short bus ride (which costs money).

The front door of this hotel is so impressive that several people managed to walk past the hotel door when they were returning to the hotel. Our room overlooked an internal quadrangle, so it was fairly quiet.

The rooms are small and minimalist. My wife said that it reminded her of a university residence room. There is only one chair to accompany the small desk; no soft chair or love seat, so you have to sit on the bed. The pillows on the bed are 5 cm (2 in) thick. We asked at the front desk for extra pillows; they sent up these god-awful buckwheat pillows. As I was going to bed on our third night in the room I found a cardboard sign advertising their "Pillow Menu". Why didn't they tell us about this menu at the front desk when we asked for extra pillows? Why wasn't the Pillow Menu placed -- ON -- the pillow before we checked in? The wall safe is at a very low height in the "wardrobe" requiring one to get down on hands and knees to read the instructions and set up the appropriate code and then to open and close it. The twin beds were quite comfortable(other than the pillows).

You want to read something in the room? Then you better head for the bathroom where there is sufficient light to read. You can barely read at the desk where there is a small desk lamp; you cannot read in bed; it's just too dark!

The bathrooms are quite good. A basin sink on a counter which I would have liked to be 15 cm (6 in) higher. There is a combination bath/shower with all the appropriate plumbing. There are heated marble floors -- if you are smart enough to see the heater switch down low, not-quite-hidden, under the counter -- we enjoyed the heated floor on our third night there. A small point, but if you are left-handed, take care to squeeze the soap dispenser beside the sink with the RIGHT hand -- use your left hand and you will burn your hand on the light fixture beside the soap dispenser.

The buffet breakfast is excellent for a one-star hotel, not so for a four-star hotel. I recall a notice beside the over-cooked scrambled eggs saying that one could order custom cooked eggs at the service counter (or some such phrase), but there is no such service counter. Do you like your morning fruit juice cold? Well, this hotel serves their juices at room temperature (at least, all of the ones I tried). It would be a lot friendlier if the staff dispensed the tea and coffee, refilled cups, etc.

The front desk staff were friendly and helpful when we asked for assistance (could have been better with the pillows).

Can't comment on any fitness facilities.

Certainly not worth the money we paid!!!!

Room Tip: Pick another hotel ! I will avoid any Falkensteiner Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Old_Piper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sascha S, General Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Old Piper, thank you very much for your feedback. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your time in our hotel in Vienna. The Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld is a 4 star property which can not be compared with the Intercontintal regarding style and atmosphere of the hotel. I can assure you that we tried our best to fullfill the expectations of the whole Avalon group. Most of the group members appreciated our services and gave their compliments at departure. I hope that the last impression of your journey did not ruin your holiday. Best regards from Vienna, Sascha Stöckl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

There’s a lot of competition in Vienna, but Hotel Am Shottenfeld Vienna seems to have found a successful niche. This distinctly modern hotel is not small, but a clever designer created a timeless yet intimate feel throughout. On a quiet and safe bloc, It’s perfectly situated for sightseeing; a ten-minute walk from the Museum Quarter and 500 meters from the nearest subway station.

Ours were the new loft rooms, and we enjoyed them immensely. There was plenty of space in which to scatter your possessions at will, and a bed of extreme squishy comfort. Between the crisp, cool sheets we slept the sleep of the content after a full day of museum gazing, general exploration and of course shopping. God I love Vienna. I also loved the coffee machine in the room for that über-peaceful early-morning cup of coffee before my family gets up. The closet was decently sized, with two drawers, plus a full-length mirror. I bet the designer was a woman.
What also matters is that the hotel is fully air conditioned, which is not at all unimportant at the clearly unexpected 36 degrees Celsius in the city. Another bonus is that the cost of WiFi was included in the room rate AND the connection was very good, both in the lobby and in the rooms.

There’s a welness area in the basement, combining a gym, sauna and steam bath into a proper relaxation area. I can’t say it is not small, but it’s really enjoyable after a long day in Vienna.

The bathroom was large, spotless and comfortable, the glass shower spacious enough for two. The Aqua Pura Spa liquid soap and shampoo are dispensed from wall-mounted canisters in the room and elsewhere in the hotel (plus a full-sized bottle of hand lotion in the spa area) . As institutional as this arrangement may sound, I do prefer it to those silly mini bottles with micro-caps you fiddle with, trying to squeeze out a blob of the product. They still have a few mini bottles by the sink if you really want them.

Breakfast was fantastic, however picky the eater. Hot or cold, boiled or fried, fresh or pickled – you name it. The staff couldn’t be friendlier, starting from the reception desk, where they had all the answers and nothing was too much trouble, to the restaurant, where the waiter would be by your table before you even try to catch his eye.
Honestly, I can’t recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: Loft rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sascha S, General Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Dragana, thank you very much for your detailed response regarding your stay in the Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld. You were right Dragana- the Loft part of the hotel, where your room was situated, was planned by a wife ..... I will pass your positive feedback to all my collegues. Furthermore I hope to welcome you again. Best regards from Vienna Sascha Stöckl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Excellent hotel close to the Museum Quarters and located in a quiet and safe neighborough. The breakfast its a "King Breakfast", it's worth it to take the room with breakfast included. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Don't forget to tip them, because they deserve it.:) In the area you can found original Austrian Bistros where you can eat excellent schnitzel and other delicious Austrian meals.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cupid72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sascha S, General Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Cupid, thank you very much for your positive feedback, regarding staff and breakfast, I will relay it to my collegues. Best regards from Vienna. Sascha Stöckl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the end of a Danube cycling holiday. The hotel is a brisk 15 minute walk from the inner city area, and in the immediate area there seem to be quite a few good restaurants.

Our room on the 2nd floor was a good size for a modern business hotel, with a well equipped bathroom. We found the room location to be quite tranquil.

The breakfast buffet is particularly good, with a good mix of fresh fruits, hot cooked food, breads, cheese etc. Even a good range of pastries for those who need an early Vienna cake fix.

The only grumble on an otherwise enjoyable display is the lamentably poor wifi. It's free but anywhere other than lobby and neither of us could find and maintain a good connection. A hotel owned by a large group should be aiming to address this problem.

One other complaint. The sauna and steam room were out of operation for the two days of our visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sascha S, General Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we are very happy, that you enjoyed your stay in Vienna at the hotel. The Wifi will be improved immediately. I hope that I can welcome you again at the Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld. Best regards Sascha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hotel was a good place to stay for out business/pleasure trip. It's a little out of the centre, but not too far, and the gym/sauna nice to have access to. The staff were helpful and the room light and airy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sascha S, General Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Google Translation
Vielen Dank für Ihre positive Rückmeldung ob Ihres Aufenthalts im Falkensteiner Am Schottenfeld. Es freut mich, dass Sie sich wohl gefühlt haben und ich gebe Ihr Lob gerne an die KollegInnen weiter. Sascha Stöckl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We were staying at Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld between April 16 and 22. For two ladies, 'young at heart' and interested in Vienna's art and architecture, it was important to stay at a location convenient as a starting point for different destinations in the city. Though we'd rather say that walking from Falkensteiner to the historic heart of the city is a bit too long as an unnecessary everyday 15-20-minute exercise but there is Bus 48A right around the corner which will take you to 'almost everywhere'. A metro station is max 10-minute walk away. The area is nice and clean, with some shops, bars, cafes, etc.
The room, standard double, was perfect, large enough for the two of us, with a spacious bathroom, sparkling clean and a delight to use. The room was quiet, always immaculately clean, mattresses and bed linen good. We didn't use the breakfast option, a bit pricey for us at 17€, but the coffee machine (supplied with free tabs and tea bags as they were used) together with a small fridge/bar helped whip up a quick breakfast to start the day. Wi-fi in the room was an important feature for us and the speed was good. Unfortunately, there was a network breakdown for more than 24 hours once during our stay, and a specialist team was working continuously until they fixed it.
One little comment in the negative: the SPA was a surprise, as nobody gave any warning that the sauna was 'unisex'. There happened to be a man in his Adam suit as my friend (a lady) entered to use it.
And the last but not the least, the superb staff! We cannot thank them enough for being so friendly, helpful and patient! Each of them went far and above his/her job description to make us feel at home and a welcome guest. Enough is to say that when we happened to be locked in a church nearby on our first morning in Vienna, with not a soul in the city to call for help and not a single number we knew, we called the hotel and they immediately sent a member of staff to save us. And he never showed any sign of annoyance but showed a broad smile instead!
We recommend this hotel as a place where you will be welcome. Have a nice stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zinann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sascha S, General Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Zinann, thank you very much for your detailed summary of your stay in Vienna. I am pretty happy that you enjoyed it and that we could help you in your tricky situation close to us. Best regards from Austria to Russia, Sascha Stöckl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Margareten
Falkensteiner Hotel Wien Margareten
Neubau
NH Collection Wien Zentrum
Josefstadt
Fleming's Deluxe Hotel Wien-City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
#149 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Neubau
IntercityHotel Vienna
IntercityHotel Vienna
#156 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Hotel Schani Wien
#35 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld

Property: Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld
Address: Schottenfeldgasse 74, Vienna 1070, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Vienna
#71 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#85 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#100 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City centre, 7th district, close to the Mariahilfer Str., Vienna City Hall, innovative design, 144 trendy rooms with coffee machine, Wlan & Sky TV for free, restaurant, bar, wellness, fitness & conference area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falkensteiner Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing